Toast Congrats.

Re: Congratulations!

Can I just say cheers to the Hawks that have said congrats, you certainly seemed a tad more gracious than the ones at the pub I was watching it at today, there was much gloating at three quarter let me tell you.

That beat the Saints game perhaps, it's up for grabs now.

Hats off and respect to all the gracious Hawks supporters posting in here!
I hope we have the same good grace when the tables are inevitably turned...
Now, back to my bourbon!!!

Don't really feel like reading much about this game yet, so apologies if my comments are repetitive.

Well done. I thought you were gone at 3QT, but you did well to come back. Your defence was brilliant considering how undermanned it was, and Selwood was BOG by a long way in my book - wish we'd taken him - as much as I ... ummmm.... dislike... Geelong, Selwood is close to my favourite non Hawthorn player.

I hope we can sneak into September to meet you again, in which case, I look forward to another great clash.

Enjoy the spoils of today!

Did not expect to win when we went 28 points down.
And did not expect to read such sincere comments and gracious congratulations from so many Hawks fans. A pleasant change from the more common vitriol on BF. Franklin starting to fire was a scary proposition and losing Scarlett then Taylor could have been the end but Corey seemed to shift up a gear, Varcoe awoke and Selwood added more lustre to his star status and somehow the Cats got home. Jimmy was huge in the last as well. Best point he's ever kicked.

Well done Cats. It was an incredible win, and one that showed massive, massive character. Your guys midfield, as undermanned and depleted as you were, really stood up and showed their worth in that last quarter.

I also thought your supporters showed alot of class after the game today. I said to my mate as we walked out that against any other club there may be some niggle on the way out, particularly given the history between the two clubs, and the fact that you guys just ended our season, but like always, the Cats supporters showed true class.

Good luck in September. part of me would like to see the Aints finally get up, but another part wouldn't mind seeing Geelong recognized for the powerhouse they are.

And on a slightly more negative note (for us), to think we could've taken Selwood at pick 6...:thumbsd::thumbsd:

W...WE..WE,WE,WELL DONE...that hurt's :mad: Nar, well played Cat's ...boy ,dont these two team's know how to put on a game....just hope we get another crack at you this year........don't think we will now though...:( Good luck for the rest of the year........GO GET WHAT IS RIGHTFULLY YOUR'S....:thumbsu:

I have to say what a great bunch of supporters all the hawks fans are coming on our board and telling us what a great win it was and I dont want Selwood to ever leave he is an absolute gun, he is awesome:thumbsu::)

Thanks for your thought guys, you can tell there's some massive mutual respect between the two clubs, I feel a bit the same with the good Hawks supporters around :thumbsu:

Respect sums up the two clubs. Highlighted by the fact that you're the only fans who don't jealously boo Franklin just for being good.

Great game. Filthy to lose of course but things just haven't worked for us this year. With such a young list, our time will come again. I actually hope Geelong win the flag from here as I respect you as a footy club unlike that pathetic club St Kilda and reckon you deserve another flag.

This will be short.

I think you were lucky - but to fight back when men down is the sort of thing that builds a club.

Your best win I've ever seen you have.

A fraction lucky. Seldom does team win without a bit of luck involved it's just the degree that differs and yesterday we overall had less "luck" from the maggots than Hawthorn did for the first 3 quarters.

They kind of made up for it in the last, probably felt guilty for giving such an easy ride to Hawthorn for almost the entire match and decided to even it up a bit.

I must say, I've been impressed with the way Hawks fans have handled themselves since the loss.

Apart from the "lucky" jibe and some predictable sooking about umpiring, 90% of them have been gracious and have given due praise.

Good work Hawks. :thumbsu:

Epic game Catters, I said to the handbrake at 3/4 time, knowing that your backline was decimated and rotations non existant that Geelong would have to be a great, and I mean GREAT side to get up from there.

To my dismay you really proved me right and then some.

Disappointed to lose but it was just such a fantastic contest that I could hardly get pissed off about it, just felt lucky to have seen it.

Good luck for the rest of the season, all the BF and Bay 13 banter aside, you are the best side in the comp and deserve everything which comes your way.

Epic game Catters, I said to the handbrake at 3/4 time, knowing that your backline was decimated and rotations non existant that Geelong would have to be a great, and I mean GREAT side to get up from there.

To my dismay you really proved me right and then some.

Disappointed to lose but it was just such a fantastic contest that I could hardly get pissed off about it, just felt lucky to have seen it.

Good luck for the rest of the season, all the BF and Bay 13 banter aside, you are the best side in the comp and deserve everything which comes your way.
This will definitely be THE arguement in the coming weeks.

As much as people say saints are the form blah blah.. i really think that after last years heart ache Geelong won't let it happen again and will be much better then previous years in finals.. i just really wish that the will play 4 quarters and more consistant.. they look pretty bad at times and its scary

Congratulation Cats, great game on all accounts! Us Hawks had our chances and we didnt take it.

For my mind the Cats are the form side to be warry of, the saints have had a fairy tale year, but very much the virgin Mary when it comes to Grand Finals.

The Hawks will be the smokey if they make the eight this year!

Thankyou for the most amazing game ive been too. almost walked out at the start of the last quarter.

I love you geelong football club.

and sorry to the mcg for snapping my seat in half.

tears of absolute joy.

You have given me so much faith in our culture. i was seriously heartwarmed by the sincerity shown by the gfc regarding the young girl who took her life. if only she could have seen what she inspired today.

Awe.

I haven't read too much on Big footy during the game, but I dare say there was probably some of your typical cocky Hawthorn supporter gloating when we got 28 points up.

At no point was I ever confident, because I am willing to acknowledge the class of Geelong.

Good game, well played. Excellent come back.

Good luck in September.

Funnily you say that, i was thinking the same but in reverse...too really kick our arses after 1/2 time, or we were going to get up in a close one. I thought 07 pre-lim was one of the best cat's games "live" i've seen...yesterday was up there !!!

Well done Cats! I was pretty dissapointed, but also really proud that our side was really able to take it up to one of the best teams of all time, and get within a kick. It took alot of heart to come back, but once your side get's a sniff, it really seems like it knows how to win (we've seen it time and time again, perhaps Saints game aside??).

Anyway, good luck for the rest of the season, although I don't think you'll need it. It's pretty much only the Saints in your way and you clearly have more finals/GF experience then them.:thumbsu:

Bit late as well but congrats :(

Was a great game to watch but such a devastating blow to our season which no doubt makes the victory all the more sweeter :(

A big :thumbsu: from me as well. It's a wonder I could be heard all 2000ks away screaming at my TV, willing that ball through at the end.

p.s. only thing i hated about that game was that dumb female commentator. grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr:mad:

A big :thumbsu: from me as well. It's a wonder I could be heard all 2000ks away screaming at my TV, willing that ball through at the end.

p.s. only thing i hated about that game was that dumb female commentator. grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr:mad:

Shes easily worse than Tim lane , The Ox and Steven Quarterman combined.

i dont care how sexist I am. She just sounded wrong... and when she got excited her voice went all croaky and it sounded like she needed a drink.