Non Collingwood NAB Cup Games - Round 1 Discussion

Re: Non Collingwood NAB Cup Games - Round 1 (Week 1) Discussion

first game doesnt look as sloppy as pre season normally does.
It's the perfect matchup really, two teams that have to go hard to increase their membership bases.

Hawks may be in for a shock, guarantee they come out a bit more "sloppy".

I'm not sure I'm going to make it through the while season watching Buddy watching himself on the big screen.

Surely one of his mates can tell him what a tool he looks

I'm not sure I'm going to make it through the while season watching Buddy watching himself on the big screen.

Surely one of his mates can tell him what a tool he looks

Doubt - He Walks around like he thinks he is Shit Hot

I don't really mind it if players are show ponies but can back it up with their actions. They just bring it on themselves when they don't however. It's kind of like Anthony Mundine. He talks himself up and usually does well, but when he gets knocked out you can't help but have a chuckle.

If any player does walk the walk after talking the talk it is definately Franklin and Mundine is a good boxer just not the best and not as good as his dad was .

I don't know exactly what it is about Franklin (if he was a Pie player I'd love him) he is just one of those opposiiton players that I don't like.

Perhaps it's the turning to the crowd after a goal rather then his teammates who did all the work upfield. (see: 2007 EF v Crows) It's a regular occurrence. Hodge ribbed him about it one day, that he just brushed his teammates when he turned to the crowd.

The way he struts around, he appears to me that he would rather kick 5 goals and lose, then kick none and have his team win. If he's 55/60 metres out he'll have a shot at goal, even if there are players in a better position inside 50 to have the ball kicked too.

No doubting his talent. He's in the top 3 players in the game but once his talents start to dimish (as happens with all players. see: Aker) the media will be all over him, talking about his demise.

Lets all admit it though, if he was at the Pies we'd be talking about how cool the bloke is haha

Agree 100% mate,but speaking personally I will always prefer a Presti over a show pony anyday.I have always thought it is better for players to have a streak of humility and give the opposition no ammunition to fire at you it can come back and bite you on the arse.

Well i'd love him more if he was at the Pies, but it'd still shit me the screen watching every few seconds.

Blair is our worst guy doing that and that shits me too, even though I love the way he plays his footy.

Hard to put much of a line through last night ... Richmond might be better this year and I think with North's natural improvement due in their youngsters and a very good draw they'll be thereabouts to make 8th.

But Freo and Melbourne will both likely be better aswell, Bombers too ( injuries killed them last year imo) maybe Adelaide aswell, so there's heaps of competition there for 6th to 12th

Bombers have started well, Anthony Long looks like a real find.:p:eek:

West Coast left 6-7 of their best players out of their team so they can go full strength versus Freo later, and still kicked 5 goals to one in that first half.

Essendon lose by 57 points in total.:D

They got nothing out of those games, Eagles and Freo look very good though, upcoming 3rd game is where it's at tonight.

I only watched the last game. Freo looked like they were trying to play defensive footy (go go Ross Lyon) and they looked pathetic. West Coast looked switched on, and the way they played looked like entertaining football. Reminded me a lot of the way the Pies play. I think they can easy back up 2011 playing like that.

Is there an actual Nab Cup Ladder this year or is the whole thing just a hitout?

I was really surprised to see the StKilda v Geelong result. Did anyone watch it? What was the go there?
It was basically a case of St Kilda looking fresher. Geelong played a lot of rookies, it was similar to how Collingwood fielded the side in that there were only a handful of senior players and there was an obvious gap between them and the 1st/2nd year players.

Is there an actual Nab Cup Ladder this year or is the whole thing just a hitout?
There is a ladder. The top two teams on wins then percentage play in the grand final.

Non Collingwood NAB Cup Games - Round 1 Discussion