Round 4 Trades

Thinking about Martin/Chapman (more likely Martin) to Waite... He has a B/E of 26 and has 100+ scores in his last two weeks... Could be this years Cloke, especially with the blues playing great footy... Thoughts?

Having had Waite before, he scores well enough (100ish more often than not) but his average suffers because he won't score massive but will score stinkers. He also has a fantastic ability to both get injured and get suspended, so will probably miss up to four games in a given year. Bearing that in mind, there are worse options but I wouldn't own him again.

Absolutely exactly. If you buy up Waite this year and he somehow plays 20-22 games, you'll make out like a bandit.

But make the decision with your eyes open:

2009: 9 games
2010: 16 games
2011: 12 games

If you pick him up and he gets rubbed out for elbowing someone or misses a month injured, it's not "bad luck".

If Fyfe is OUT ... then ill probably go

Out: Fyfe
In: Barlow

Considering Barlow was sub in the first 2 rounds and played less than half a game in both his scores were still impressive for a half of footy !!

If Fyfe is playing, will keep him. His shoulder was popin out every week last year and still played with 100+ average.

I don't think Barlow will be top 10 mid by year's end, so it is a bit questionable to get him now. Yes he's cheap relatively (just like Hayes) but takes up a mid spot that could be elite - Ablett/Judd/Murphy/Pendles/Swan/Boyd/Dal Santo and perhaps Watson/Mitchell/Priddis/Mundy/Thompson/Swallow/Rockliff/Crotchin etc..

I just listed these from the top of my head and IMO they are all ahead of Barlow. In fact just about every team has a midfielder that's better than Barlow. And you only have 6 mid spots....

Unless your rookie selection is just abysmal and you need that extra $100k...

If Fyfe is playing, will keep him. His shoulder was popin out every week last year and still played with 100+ average.

I don't think Barlow will be top 10 mid by year's end, so it is a bit questionable to get him now. Yes he's cheap relatively (just like Hayes) but takes up a mid spot that could be elite - Ablett/Judd/Murphy/Pendles/Swan/Boyd/Dal Santo and perhaps Watson/Mitchell/Priddis/Mundy/Thompson/Swallow/Rockliff/Crotchin etc..

I just listed these from the top of my head and IMO they are all ahead of Barlow. In fact just about every team has a midfielder that's better than Barlow. And you only have 6 mid spots....

Agree. He's not worth it.

Absolutely exactly. If you buy up Waite this year and he somehow plays 20-22 games, you'll make out like a bandit.

But make the decision with your eyes open:

2009: 9 games
2010: 16 games
2011: 12 games

If you pick him up and he gets rubbed out for elbowing someone or misses a month injured, it's not "bad luck".

Appreciate the feedback guys... Admittedly, I didn't check his previous years and just went on his 2012 stats (slack!)... Will probably reconsider but be sure that you will hear from me if he crunches out consistent 100+ point games for the next 6 weeks! ;)

Disagree with all that entirely. :thumbsdown:

Barlows a gun mate. Give the guy a break (bad pun not intended) :p

He's just got over that shocking broken leg yet scored like 76 in a quarter and a half in his first game back. Imagine what he would have scored if he had of played the whole game? :eek:

Third game back he scores over 100. He will only get better from here IMO. Jump on now before its too late as he won't stay at $440,000 for long. At worst he's a bargain basement M6. :thumbsu:

I can easily see Barlow averaging 110 for the season. He's a ball magnet! :D:thumbsu:

Judd Magic, I have enjoyed reading your posts over the past few years. But, between two Carlton supporters, you have to know when to tell the world and when to hold it close to your chest. How else will you climb back up the rankings? Let the sheep be sheep

Ha! Ha! Good point mate. :thumbsu:

I don't really care if people copy me, its quite flattering really. LOL!

I reckon he can easily be in the top 10 mids. My issue is he already has had to be rested due to leg soreness. Last year he had a slow start before smashing out 4 hundreds in a row, then soreness hit again and his scores dipped back down to 70s and 80s.

Thinking Fyfe out for Stanley and Dempsey out for Carazzo, which leaves me with a healthy $344k still in the bank for upgrading other rooks.

From The Age on Nat Fyfe.

But although Fremantle insist they won't take a risk with Fyfe, they seem equally optimistic the specialist will give him the all-clear to play.

''The 20-year-old and the club are optimistic about his chances of playing against St Kilda on Friday night,'' the club said in a statement.

He's just got over that shocking broken leg yet scored like 76 in a quarter and a half in his first game back. Imagine what he would have scored if he had of played the whole game? :eek:

Third game back he scores over 100. He will only get better from here IMO. Jump on now before its too late as he won't stay at $440,000 for long. At worst he's a bargain basement M6. :thumbsu:

I can easily see Barlow averaging 110 for the season. He's a ball magnet! :D:thumbsu:

Pop quiz Jm, would you rather Barlow @ $440k or Mundy @ $500-$520??

Im in a bit of a pickle (ONLY IF FYFE HAS BEEN RULED OUT)
my forward line: FRANKLIN CHAPMAN (FYFE) WAITE PORPZ KENNEDY SMITH [pfeiffer] [hall]
would love to swap fyfe to the midfield but dont have mpp in the mid (traded martin last week for penders :eek:)
Now i look in the forward line for what i can get for fyfe and i can get any player i want, but theres no one that actually makes me feel confident week in week out like fyfe does when fit!
so my question is... do i use two trades and get a mpp (fwd) in my mid n swap him for fyfe and get a player like s.selwood (which i wouldnt be confident in him scoring like he is all year) and weaken my forward line by having kennedy smith and another rookie on the playing or do i trade fyfe for a tippett or rooey (stkilda)
thoughts...

Want to do Grimes > Carrazzo but can't because of the last bye round.
Holding too many CAR/RIC/STK defenders.

Going to have to be Hurn instead b/c of the Eagles draw.

Got no faith in Grimes or Melb so time to jump off.

Fyfe > Roughead or Lewis?

Or are there better options that will average 100+ for certain?

Thanks in advance.

I'll start off by apologising for my lack of expertise shown in my questions!

I have Fyfe, Dempsey and Lake.

My first question is am I better off keeping Dempsey (putting Bugg on to cover) and offloading Lake? Or vice versa? Dempsey could reinjur and could possibly miss up to 3 or maybe even 4 games?? Whereas Lake will only miss one.

If I trade out Lake and Fyfe, I'd like to bring in Goddard. Would this be an okay time to bring him in?

I have 233,000 spare, so if I am to upgrade Lake to Goddard, I need to downgrade Fyfe to somebody 477,000 or less (477,000 would leave me with 0).

My options:
- Zaharakis ($0 left)
- Petrie (10,000 left)
- Ballantyne (87,000)
- Darling (90,000)

I'm liking the look of Ballantyne in. Good? Bad?

My team:
B - Deledio, Carrazzo, Shaw, Lake, Dempsey, Clarke, Ellis (Bugg, Bouman)
M - Ablett, Murphy, Watson, Gibbs, Parker, Magner (McDonald, D.Smith)

R - Natanui, Giles (Redden, T.Campbell)

F - Franklin, Martin, Fyfe, Hale, Dangerfield, Porplyzia, A.Kennedy (Pheiffer, Dickson)
My suggestion:

IN: Goddard, Ballantyne

OUT: Fyfe, Lake

Want to do Grimes > Carrazzo but can't because of the last bye round.
Holding too many CAR/RIC/STK defenders.

Going to have to be Hurn instead b/c of the Eagles draw.

Got no faith in Grimes or Melb so time to jump off.

Been mapping out my trading strategy leading into the byes tonight - I designed my initial team with that in mind - but tonight have been isolating what players from which clubs to target leading up to the bye round to make sure I don't donut and waste minimal trades.

For most of us, having Lids and Goddard limits who you can trade in leading up to that round 13 - it also means by that round you'll have to have got rid of any cows from those round 13 bye teams such as Richmond's Ellis or Morris.

The more I look at it the overall winner of this thing will have a very good bye strategy - looking at the leading teams I don't see many of them that are structurally set up to deal with the byes - those that are will be right there at the pointy end of the season.