The Melbourne Crowd

• Thread starter Thread starter eliasd82

I reckon the acoustics at the G helps us out a bit. We should move our game against the Eagles to the Junction and see how loud we sound there. At least we'll fill out a ground.

Not sure if anyone else heard Gary Lyon's remarks on the footy show about Melbourne's display last week but i am really starting to get annoyed with this guy.
he made a point about saying how disgraceful we were against Adelaide & only kicking 1 goal to 3qtr time.......i actually thought we battled well considering the conditions etc. Even James Hird on Foxtel complimented the way we kept on trying.
obvisously gary didn't watch the game & just relied on other journo's reports.
it about time he started to pump the club up a bit or even better, get more involved.:mad:
Totally agree. I was pissed off at that too.. it was evident he didn't watch the game..
We actually played alright, we just simply couldn't kick goals...

Definately the time when I went absolutely off my nut was Neale Daniher's last game against Essendon.. where Scott Lucas won the game for them with 7 seconds left...

I went into the Level 3 Telstra Dome bathroom and went beserk.. throwing bins and screaming profanities at the top of my lungs!!!

On my way out I kicked the sink basin and was later told that I broke my toe...

Definately the time when I went absolutely off my nut was Neale Daniher's last game against Essendon.. where Scott Lucas won the game for them with 7 seconds left...

I went into the Level 3 Telstra Dome bathroom and went beserk.. throwing bins and screaming profanities at the top of my lungs!!!

On my way out I kicked the sink basin and was later told that I broke my toe...

That was the first game of football my girlfriend had ever been to and apparently I scared the hell out of her.
I didn't speak for the whole 50 minutes it took to get home.

Had a massive bust-up with an Essendon fan on the way home from that game. On the train and the old crunt is doing a big speech about how soft Melb fans are and how we're all rubbish. Cracker of an argument across a carriage but absolutely no pop from the crowd because I was clearly the only MFC supporter in there.

Worst angle ever where he tries to shake my hand before I get off. Not for that.

I'm sure there's more than a handful of people here that anyone that believes the stereotype should sit next to during a close finish.

Here's dovetail for the thread, what's the most you've ever gone off (good or bad) at a game.
would probably be the 2000 prelim against the roos after we where down by about 3 goals in the 1st quarter closely followed by the i think 04 final against adelaide when we where down by 50 points only to hit the lead by 20 in the 3rd quater, howz that goal by the ooze on the boundary line and then the goal by whopper to put us in front, unfortunately we lost !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ill keep going on with the going off thread. we go absolutely ballistic when the team runs out on the field before the first bounce.:rolleyes: once my phone was on silent when they ran out and i heard it

lol, howz all the young kids on here talkin about 2005 and beyond. try 87 rd 22 against footscray @ western oval. that was the real shit. admittedly just a kid with my old man. 88 elim final at vfl park against the weagles. oooohhhhh yeah they were ther days. and we pulled serious finals crowds back then too i might add

Definitely Melbourne V Doggies 2005 round 21 i think it was, basically decided who was going to make the finals, it actually is a funny story. Sit down boys and girls.

I went with a couple of doggies supporters, they were singing there song i was singing mine 'REPRESENT' :p. We were watching the game and they were starting to give me crap, the doggies supporters, were pretty full on that match if i remember prob 60 - 40 it was a pretty full G.

So in that fourth quarter where doggies got those goals before Melbourne made the comeback, they were like, do you want to go home now, they were also cheering the song. I'm like nahhh, I saw no melbourne fan had moved, I aint gonna be the starter, we didnt have a high chance to win we were starting to be ran over. Then Melbourne got a goal, then another then the rest.

The first goal for Melbourne on there comeback, the crowd was WOW. Incredible, i have never heard anything like it recently. Every goal the crowd got louder, the doggy fans got more silent and silent, till it sounded like a 100 percent melbourne crowd. Then when Jeff got the free the crowd WOW x2. Then finally the final siren.

Now remember when they asked if i wanted to go home, and started singing the song, lets just say i ate them eat their words :).

would probably be the 2000 prelim against the roos after we where down by about 3 goals in the 1st quarter closely followed by the i think 04 final against adelaide when we where down by 50 points only to hit the lead by 20 in the 3rd quater, howz that goal by the ooze on the boundary line and then the goal by whopper to put us in front, unfortunately we lost !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yeah i know what a freaking yoyo of a match, iirc there was a pretty decent breeze, adelaide kept getting the strength of it, then melbourne got a decent change to get us back in the match, then it went back to normal when adelaide changed in the last quarter and basically turned into a hurricane proportions.

ill keep going on with the going off thread. we go absolutely ballistic when the team runs out on the field before the first bounce.:rolleyes: once my phone was on silent when they ran out and i heard it

The run-out is overrated. How is anyone supposed to get excited by people running through a pissy banner with an equally pissy message on it? I'm all for theme songs, but banners are an idea that died as a useful concept 15 years ago.

Fitzroy's "Seduced by Brisbane, r*ped by North, f***ked by the AFL" should have been the moment when people thought "we cannot beat that" and walked off.

The run-out is overrated. How is anyone supposed to get excited by people running through a pissy banner with an equally pissy message on it? I'm all for theme songs, but banners are an idea that died as a useful concept 15 years ago.

Fitzroy's "Seduced by Brisbane, r*ped by North, f***ked by the AFL" should have been the moment when people thought "we cannot beat that" and walked off.

Forgive my ignorance, but is that what the last fitzroy banner said??

Was allegedly a banner at some point. Not the last one though. Probably an urban myth so I'd love photographic evidence.

Err, I should point out I was mistaken writing the original post at 5am - it was seduced by North, r*ped by Brisbane etc... not the other way round.

Strange bump here, but yes she was a thing of beauty. It was round 16 vs Collingwood. 2 weeks after the merger was announced, our 1st game back in Melbourne.

PaWO8.jpg

Strange bump here, but yes she was a thing of beauty. It was round 16 vs Collingwood. 2 weeks after the merger was announced, our 1st game back in Melbourne.

PaWO8.jpg

****ing amazing.

Thanks for that, couldn't imagine having my club take away, especially the way it was handled.

PaWO8.jpg

Love it. No club has ever or will ever give the middle finger to the AFL in such a spectacular way like Fitzroy did in their final hour. Lotta respect for the old lions, even if I was only around for the very end of their days.

On topic: Not sure about you guys but I've heard a lot of positive things about our crowds from media personalities this year. Mainly how small but loyal we are and so forth. Last night on The Game Plan, Scott Cummings talked about how impressed he was with the passion he saw from Melbourne fans when he worked as a boundary rider. So I'm not really sure where the 'passionless' opinion came from in the media. Personally last weekend at the Dogs game the sound coming from our supporters was phenomenal, a lot of the players were tweeting about how great the crowd was.

EDIT: I really need to read timestamps.

PaWO8.jpg

Amazing stuff. Imagine footy classified if a club did that today. Lots of my family were Fitzroy fans, i'll have to show them this.

Good bump, but also related bump, the third quarter on Sunday (as I said on the MB) was the most bananas I've seen a Dees crowd in a long long time. Takes me back to QBD '04.

And that banner is sensational.

Good bump, but also related bump, the third quarter on Sunday (as I said on the MB) was the most bananas I've seen a Dees crowd in a long long time. Takes me back to QBD '04.

And that banner is sensational.

Essendon, Round 11, last year :thumbsu:

I was there, but was distracted by the six blokes two rows in front of me whose every second word was f*** and who thought we were getting the rub of it all night.

That final against Adelaide in 04 was a corker! I remembering was crook all week that week and almost wasn't going to go. But that night I thought stuff it and headed on in. Was shattered at quarter time after we got smashed without a yelp but the next two quarters were just about the best two quarters I have ever seen us play. Travis johnstone was magic! Unfortunately we ran out of legs in the last quarter and got done but I'll never forget how exciting it was as we rolled them during the middle of the game.

Just out of curiosity, was that the last game Scott Thompson played for us?

Ahh that was a great night. Sat on the flanks for the first time in a long time, surrounded by hero Scum supporters who were giving it to my brother and I all night. Funnily enough, we had the last laugh at who was the shit team.

That final against Adelaide in 04 was a corker! I remembering was crook all week that week and almost wasn't going to go. But that night I thought stuff it and headed on in. Was shattered at quarter time after we got smashed without a yelp but the next two quarters were just about the best two quarters I have ever seen us play. Travis johnstone was magic! Unfortunately we ran out of legs in the last quarter and got done but I'll never forget how exciting it was as we rolled them during the middle of the game.

Just out of curiosity, was that the last game Scott Thompson played for us?

That final was 02. Never forget Biz's multiple efforts down the ground to set Yze? Up.

I believe Thompsons last game for us was against Sydney in 03 (or 04) at homebush when he did his foot.