Traded Pearce Hanley (2007-2016)

Great angle, or best angle?

57805_15_1.jpg

Image from afl.com.au

He's got a bit of mongrel about him too these days, very exciting :thumbsu:

I first noticed this in the international rules where he appears to have decided to cast himself as the enforcers to back up his amatuer team mates, who of course had less experience of the tackling and more physical side of the game. I think he has decided he likes the hard stuff, and will be even better for it.

It,may be an unpopular comparison but i see him growing into a really physical wingers like dipper or pants millane.

If there was a stat for breaking tackles I would guess Hanley is well out in front at the Lions. Two of his goals came about from taking on a tackler. It just opens up so many more options when a player can do this. Last year he was playing a very adventurous style of game. But with the experience of testing his limits he was able to fine tune what he can and can't get away with, and in the last month or so he seems to be getting the balance just right.

Hanley's improvement since he arrived at the club has been remarkable. I love the fact that when he plays higher up the ground he adds that extra bit of class and carry going inside 50.

We are developing a fair arsenal of blokes who can fire from beyond the arc.

A Quality Player, To Be Sure
11:53 AM Tue 03 Jul, 2012

When Irishman Pearce Hanley moved to Australia at the end of 2007 to embark on an AFL career with the Brisbane Lions, it polarised opinions across his homeland.

Hanley was considered one of the most promising Gaelic football talents in the country at the time, but an opportunity to play professionally in Australia proved too great an incentive for the then Ballaghadereen-based teenager.

Hanley has since silenced many of his critics by becoming arguably Ireland’s best AFL export since Sydney Swans premiership player Tadhg Kennelly.

He finished a career-best fourth in the Lions’ 2011 Club Champion Award, and his current form would suggest he would be among the leading candidates for the honour this season.

Hanley isn't very good above his head, so one of the benefits of him playing on the wing is it minimises his aerial contests.

Over the last three weeks Hanley has been our best player. His current form is of All Australian quality, and if he keeps it up he will win our B&F. Even with the suffocating pressure Sydney put on us, Hanley still had the skill and composure to find good options.

:hearts:

note: I have never used the heart symbol before, but I just thought he was brilliant.

Probably before the end of the season opposition sides will start to put more planning into him. Either tag him or put someone on him who will hurt them the other way. He doesn't pay a lot of respect to his opponent when playing on the wing and he doesn't win a lot of contested footy so it will be a challenge for him.

Ooh Aah Ash McGrath
18 Jul, 2012

Question: Hi Ash, what’s your thoughts on Pearce Hanley? He is looking like a real promising young fella.

He is coming along real well. He’ll be going well in the Best and Fairest I reckon. To see an Irishman come and take on our game so well - I think he’ll be up there with Jim Stynes and Tadgh Keneally.

According to my stats (could be wrong), he will be (along with Banfield if he plays) the 50th player to play 50 games for the Brisbane Lions

Hanley harbours dream of Emerald Isle honour
July 28, 2012
Steve Butler

THE sweet call of Pearce Hanley's Irish homeland is still singing in his ears despite his successful launch into the Brisbane Lions midfield.
Hanley admitted this week that the pull of an All-Ireland Gaelic football championship was still strong, particularly after watching former Sydney premiership player Tadhg Kennelly's successful return home in 2009 to live out that dream.
The affable 21-year-old (sic) said he was a happy Lion, for now, as he prepared for tomorrow's clash with West Coast at Patersons Stadium. But it was clear his Irish eyes were still smiling. "I'm not ruling it out. I'd still love to go back and play Gaelic football," said the County Mayo product, who played his 50th AFL game last Saturday.
7067235437_f26a799225.jpg
Image courtesy of Mr Ripper​

Good article but it's hard to understand how they let simple mistakes like calling him a 21 year old get through. Maybe Fairfax had to cut internet access for their writers.

As a defender he plays some dumb footy at times. I much prefer him up on the wing.

I'd agree with what you're saying about leaving him on the wring. He struggled a little tonight with one-on-one defensive efforts where he was outbodied or outpositioned.

Hanley is very good when he has the ball in hand, but he can be very bad when he doesn't. I don't think it's a matter of application, just that he lacks defensive nous. I would even go so far as to say this is a significant factor in why we swing from being God awful to world beaters. When we are playing well he gets plenty of opportunities to run, which enhances our momentum. But when we are under the pump he spends a lot more time chasing his opponent and his bad mistakes add significantly to our crapness.

Yeah have noticed this myself. Just ends up in the wrong spots or makes a fumble at the worst possible time. Still think it will come with time but perhaps the coaching staff need to spend some time teaching him a few little things that are unique to our game.

Hanley isn't very good above his head, so one of the benefits of him playing on the wing is it minimises his aerial contests.

Have taken your advice Grim and cropped the top of my pic - boom-tish ;)
01hanley.jpg

[hey it was either this or misquote your :hearts: post]

Hanley looks really sore to me, or carrying some injury. I noticed that he seems to only be able to run in straight lines, he takes an age to stop, and can't side step like he could earlier in the year.

He just doesn't look comfortable. He also seems to be avoiding getting into positions that may require heavy physical contact, which is something he normally relishes. It's as if he's got bruised ribs or something. I suspect he has been playing under duress for four or five weeks now.