2012 draft

Yeah, but I think it's what actually sets him apart; what makes him a genuine absolute gun, rather than 'just' a very good inside player.
He is better on "the spread" TM than virtually all of them (maybe not Cotchin or Dangerfield). Often breaks out the front of the pack to kick inside 50. Which you rarely see Watson or Sewell etc do.
Efa :thumbsu:

I know, it's easy to forget which board you're posting on at times ;)

Just read the Spencer White article and my impression of watching him was that he was a lazy one-way footballer. Haven't seen him second half of the year. Turns out he had asthma and couldn't breathe. No wonder the bloke wouldn't bloody chase. :p

Anyway, sounds like his doctor has helped fix the issue and he has become a lot more consistent. I'd say on talent he'd be worth pick 50 but I did give up on watching him because of what I thought was laziness.

Would love to hear what others think?

Just read the Spencer White article and my impression of watching him was that he was a lazy one-way footballer. Haven't seen him second half of the year. Turns out he had asthma and couldn't breathe. No wonder the bloke wouldn't bloody chase. :p

Anyway, sounds like his doctor has helped fix the issue and he has become a lot more consistent. I'd say on talent he'd be worth pick 50 but I did give up on watching him because of what I thought was laziness.

like the look of him, worth one of our second rounders given the position he would play

I still want O'Rourke at pick 9 but sounds likely Dogs will wrap that one up quickly. So my pick is Macrae who I think could add to our flexibility with our mids being able to rotate forward. Expect him to play off a HFF and eventually push up into the midfield. I know some people question his ball drop and kicking action but who gives a shit? He nails lace out passes over and over. He is silk. Vlastuin is probably my last resort if the other 2 are gone. Would give us that big bodied midfielder we need to replace Tuck and win a lot of ball for us.

Pick 29 & 31 I'm still hoping Simpson falls to here to provide the outside class/speed we need. Broomhead is another quality player in this range who I could see playing a similar position to MacRae starting HF and pushing into the midfield eventually. Atkins is the other who I love in this range. Needs to build his tank to become a more consistent mid rather than a forward who pinch hits in the middle. Really skilled left-footer who I think has tremendous upside. Measured in taller than expected at 186cm which is always good. Jesse Lonergan is another I hope we look at. Impressive athlete for a hard as nails inside midfielder. If we take Vlastuin I probably wouldn't take Lonergan as neither are all that flexible.

Pick 50 As my previous post outlines I didn't rate Spencer White due to his work rate and really stopped watching Western Jets because it's really him and Hunter (who was always going to be a Doggie) Turns out his apparent lack of work rate was due to his asthma problem which seems to be fixed. Amazing athlete who just needs to keep being more consistent. Hoping this pick gets traded with Gus for 40 and we free up a list spot for a 5th pick.

Pick 68 Probably need another ruck with Maric/Vickery/Derickx on main list. Cam Symonds who is a 19yo and huge 205cm/105kg who was overlooked last year. Can rest forward and kick goals as well so is flexible and already big enough to compete. Otherwise another intriguing x-factor forward type is Brad Hartman who is probably more a rookie prospect. 188cm Forward who had a 34 possie 8 goal game and at state combine ran well in the agility test and ran a 2.95sec 20m sprint.

Ideally: Macrae, Lonergan, Atkins, White, Symonds with Hartman as first rookie before taking some mature agers.

Fix up midfield first and foremost with first 3 picks. Add another KPF in Spencer White who has a lot of natural talent and x-factor and would come down to how we harness it. Then Symonds who adds depth to our ruck department as I don't believe we can convince someone to come over as 2nd banana.

Hartman in the rookie draft would give us someone who would need some development to potentially help him push up the ground but could be a handy 4th tall in the forward line with good speed to chase and harass.

I still want O'Rourke at pick 9 but sounds likely Dogs will wrap that one up quickly. So my pick is Macrae who I think could add to our flexibility with our mids being able to rotate forward. Expect him to play off a HFF and eventually push up into the midfield. I know some people question his ball drop and kicking action but who gives a shit? He nails lace out passes over and over. He is silk. Vlastuin is probably my last resort if the other 2 are gone. Would give us that big bodied midfielder we need to replace Tuck and win a lot of ball for us.

Pick 29 & 31 I'm still hoping Simpson falls to here to provide the outside class/speed we need. Broomhead is another quality player in this range who I could see playing a similar position to MacRae starting HF and pushing into the midfield eventually. Atkins is the other who I love in this range. Needs to build his tank to become a more consistent mid rather than a forward who pinch hits in the middle. Really skilled left-footer who I think has tremendous upside. Measured in taller than expected at 186cm which is always good. Jesse Lonergan is another I hope we look at. Impressive athlete for a hard as nails inside midfielder. If we take Vlastuin I probably wouldn't take Lonergan as neither are all that flexible.

Pick 50 As my previous post outlines I didn't rate Spencer White due to his work rate and really stopped watching Western Jets because it's really him and Hunter (who was always going to be a Doggie) Turns out his apparent lack of work rate was due to his asthma problem which seems to be fixed. Amazing athlete who just needs to keep being more consistent. Hoping this pick gets traded with Gus for 40 and we free up a list spot for a 5th pick.

Pick 68 Probably need another ruck with Maric/Vickery/Derickx on main list. Cam Symonds who is a 19yo and huge 205cm/105kg who was overlooked last year. Can rest forward and kick goals as well so is flexible and already big enough to compete. Otherwise another intriguing x-factor forward type is Brad Hartman who is probably more a rookie prospect. 188cm Forward who had a 34 possie 8 goal game and at state combine ran well in the agility test and ran a 2.95sec 20m sprint.

Ideally: Macrae, Lonergan, Atkins, White, Symonds with Hartman as first rookie before taking some mature agers.

Fix up midfield first and foremost with first 3 picks. Add another KPF in Spencer White who has a lot of natural talent and x-factor and would come down to how we harness it. Then Symonds who adds depth to our ruck department as I don't believe we can convince someone to come over as 2nd banana.

Hartman in the rookie draft would give us someone who would need some development to potentially help him push up the ground but could be a handy 4th tall in the forward line with good speed to chase and harass.
Good logic above. For mine, if medicals and interview ok I am Stringer with our first, just see the capability as a forward come midfielder or midfielder come forward in the Pavlich style is tough to go past and with one of 29/31 I would love Hrovat.

WOW, VERY IMPRESSIVE, you seem to have done your homework, very well; I personally dont have the time to watch any "possible" drafteee, or associated gasmes (well done, though);
Once they are drasfted, well that's different, that's when i make time to analysize our picks..

Love your work tigs :thumbsu:

Macrae has recently become my favourite for 9 as well. I think he adds something a little different to the mixture and seems to be a human highlight reel. He is just so composed under pressure. We also have mutual friends on facebook :cool::D

Having said that I wouldn't be against looking at Stringer here. He has just about the most upside of all prospects and I'm concerned GWS may take him with 3.

Second round prospects are really intriguing me. Hrovat is one I want for sure. A combo of Hrovat, Simpson and Stringer with our first three would be a huge win IMO, great diversity and heaps of upside with those 3.

EDIT: Just saw on the draft watch board someone saying Stringer was told at the combine that he won't slip past 9... Hmmmmmm

Just checked out the highlights package of Spencer White.......has Buddy written all over him WOW!

TBH I haven't really seen much of him as I said I gave up on him because he seemed like a lazy waste of talent. But as the article says he was severely hampered with asthma at that point. I think he has better aerial ability than Buddy but not the ground skills and certainly not the tank of Buddy who is a freak. I just think he'd compliment our forward line well with what he brings to the table and if we can take 3 mids first then I think we should add one more KPP.

After thinking about my analysis I'd probably go Hartman in the main draft and rookie Symonds. Hartman is a rare type as a speedy medium forward who can kick bags. I think Wacky Tiger compared him to Micky O'Loughlin which would be fair. Where as their are a few development rucks if we missed out on Symonds we could take someone else and not lose much.

WOW, VERY IMPRESSIVE, you seem to have done your homework, very well; I personally dont have the time to watch any "possible" drafteee, or associated gasmes (well done, though);
Once they are drasfted, well that's different, that's when i make time to analysize our picks..
Cheers mate. Do my best.

Good logic above. For mine, if medicals and interview ok I am Stringer with our first, just see the capability as a forward come midfielder or midfielder come forward in the Pavlich style is tough to go past and with one of 29/31 I would love Hrovat.
Not sure on Stringer. I don't rate him as high as others. I'm pretty sure TFLUA is in the same boat here. I think he's the BF love child of this year ala Kavanagh last year where they are talked up to the point of being better than what they are. I've given up on getting Hrovat unless it's pick 9. If he's there I'd snap him up at 29.

Love your work tigs :thumbsu:

Macrae has recently become my favourite for 9 as well. I think he adds something a little different to the mixture and seems to be a human highlight reel. He is just so composed under pressure. We also have mutual friends on facebook :cool::D

Having said that I wouldn't be against looking at Stringer here. He has just about the most upside of all prospects and I'm concerned GWS may take him with 3.

Second round prospects are really intriguing me. Hrovat is one I want for sure. A combo of Hrovat, Simpson and Stringer with our first three would be a huge win IMO, great diversity and heaps of upside with those 3.

EDIT: Just saw on the draft watch board someone saying Stringer was told at the combine that he won't slip past 9... Hmmmmmm

Would be a good way to go about drafting :p Yer I like Macrae because of his flexibility which our side is looking very damaging in this regard with our midfielders being able to play anywhere. Also he could get drafted as a forward alone so he could genuinely play there for a year or so and pump games into him and he can pinch hit in the middle until he bulks up. As I said before not a huge Stringer fan. Think there are better options at 9. Won't go smashing things up if it does happen though. I'm pretty confident he won't be our pick at 9.

A combo of Hrovat and Simpson in the 2nd round would be amazing but I'd be happy with one let alone both. It's amazing how much more enticing Hrovat is at 175cm now instead of the 173cm he was at the start of the year. :p

TBH I haven't really seen much of him as I said I gave up on him because he seemed like a lazy waste of talent. But as the article says he was severely hampered with asthma at that point. I think he has better aerial ability than Buddy but not the ground skills and certainly not the tank of Buddy who is a freak. I just think he'd compliment our forward line well with what he brings to the table and if we can take 3 mids first then I think we should add one more KPP.

After thinking about my analysis I'd probably go Hartman in the main draft and rookie Symonds. Hartman is a rare type as a speedy medium forward who can kick bags. I think Wacky Tiger compared him to Micky O'Loughlin which would be fair. Where as their are a few development rucks if we missed out on Symonds we could take someone else and not lose much.

Damn highlights packages make anyone look like a gun:(

Haha he's certainly talented but I think he's a different style to Buddy. He looks a bit like him with his kicking style minus the "Buddy arc." He's a far more accurate kick than Buddy. Could be a real bargain if teams can build his tank and get the best out of him. He's more talented than a lot of guys in that range.

I was much the same really, really wanted him to stamp himself on the contest, but didn't seem to have the attitude and work rate to grab a game by the balls.

Saw him late in the season when he kicked a bag against a hapless Bendigo (mind you he was on a U/16 kid for the most part) and it was his contested marking, rather than his athleticism , that impressed me. Just grabbed everything in sight. However, when he turned on the jets and went for it he was really quite quick. Thought he could have grabbed a few more on the lead, and at the moment you'd say he's a contested mark forward with a really good kick, who needs to add a few strings to his bow.

Not sure on Stringer. I don't rate him as high as others. I'm pretty sure TFLUA is in the same boat here. I think he's the BF love child of this year ala Kavanagh last year where they are talked up to the point of being better than what they are.
I thought he was the best player in the draft, fully fit, and dem dastardly Essingtons were making him lie, cheat and steal to get him through? That's all I read, anyway.

Certainly didn't have much exposed form last year, so I guess all the talk was focussed on what he'd shown the year before... but Kav will be a pretty good player for where he was picked at IMHO.
Out of interest, exactly how did he slip from being (in your words) a top 5 type pick and taking him if he 'slipped' to your pick 15, to being a dud/nothing special?
Based on playing a couple of VFL games, rather than being out injured? Intrigued here.
He was pretty bloody good all year at VFL level btw.

Funny how things change immediately someone straps on a certain guernsey.

I thought he was the best player in the draft, fully fit, and dem dastardly Essingtons were making him lie, cheat and steal to get him through? That's all I read, anyway.

Certainly didn't have much exposed form last year, so I guess all the talk was focussed on what he'd shown the year before... but Kav will be a pretty good player for where he was picked at IMHO.
Out of interest, exactly how did he slip from being (in your words) a top 5 type pick and taking him if he 'slipped' to your pick 15, to being a dud/nothing special?
Based on playing a couple of VFL games, rather than being out injured? Intrigued here.
He was pretty bloody good all year at VFL level btw.

Funny how things change immediately someone straps on a certain guernsey.

I don't think I ever said that you guys lied, cheated etc to get him. And I don't think I called him a dud? I said BF hyped him up to be better than what he was. Hardly calling him a dud. Happy to admit I got caught up in it too. I know the reasons we didn't take him and they weren't because he was injured or because of all those bullshit rumours about Essendon tanking him down by getting him to interview poorly. Just like we didn't avoid Heppell because he had dodgy groins.

He may have been pretty good at VFL level but Ellis was pretty good at AFL level so pretty happy we chose him instead.

I don't think I ever said that you guys lied, cheated etc to get him.
No, but plenty did. Truth is, any kid who's missed best part of a year is something of a risk.

I know the reasons we didn't take him and they weren't because he was injured or because of all those bullshit rumours about Essendon tanking him down by getting him to interview poorly.
I'd be interested to hear?

He may have been pretty good at VFL level but Ellis was pretty good at AFL level so pretty happy we chose him instead.
He was never expected to make any sort of impact in year 1, not after the amount of footy he missed.

I did that before the draft on David Gourdis - WOW was he fantastic in the highlights reel playing as a FF

Was really excited when we drafted him - Then we tried to make him a defender, I watched a few games at coburg but never was he tried at FF.

Richmond- Always trying to re-invent the wheel

No, but plenty did. Truth is, any kid who's missed best part of a year is something of a risk.

I'd be interested to hear?

He was never expected to make any sort of impact in year 1, not after the amount of footy he missed.

1. No doubt there is plenty of risk and would be a reason some clubs passed on him.

2. His kicking skills weren't rated. Which was the number 1 reason we skipped over him in preference for Ellis. Our recruiter just this week has said we base our recruiting over 3 years so Kavanagh missing majority of a year didn't have an impact on us possibly selecting him. Just look at Elton, he was average last year consistency wise because of the spider bite he received but the club took him based on his other seasons.

3. No doubt, just saying pretty happy with our choice to take Ellis over him. Already having an impact at AFL level as a first year kid. Great skills whose already trusted to take kick-ins. Needs to build his confidence up to unleash a few because he can land them close to the wings.

I did that before the draft on David Gourdis - WOW was he fantastic in the highlights reel playing as a FF

Was really excited when we drafted him - Then we tried to make him a defender, I watched a few games at coburg but never was he tried at FF.

Richmond- Always trying to re-invent the wheel
Gourdis was a putrid kick. Never would have got drafted by us these days.

2. His kicking skills weren't rated. Which was the number 1 reason we skipped over him in preference for Ellis.
Interesting. He'd be far from your worst kick.
Our recruiter just this week has said we base our recruiting over 3 years so Kavanagh missing majority of a year didn't have an impact on us possibly selecting him.
Of course it has an impact. You've just said as much in point 1.

3. No doubt, just saying pretty happy with our choice to take Ellis over him.
And no issue there, he'll be at least a competent player. Just don't quite know how/why you had him so high up in the first place, then dropped him that far - after a year where he did far better than expected.

Interesting. He'd be far from your worst kick.

Of course it has an impact. You've just said as much in point 1.

And no issue there, he'll be at least a competent player. Just don't quite know how/why you had him so high up in the first place, then dropped him that far - after a year where he did far better than expected.

No doubt he'd be better than some but we are trying to weed a lot of them out not add to them.

I said it MAY have had an impact for SOME clubs. Wouldn't have a clue. I'm saying it didn't affect OUR decision. I already admitted I got caught up in the BF hype of him. I never said he was no good. My main point was I don't rate Stringer that highly and that he's overhyped. Wasn't having a crack at Kavanagh at all.

Just seems a reeeaally odd player to pick, that's all. He dropped maybe 5 or 8 spots from where the most optimistic predictions had him, really not that much of a surprise. Compared to say "top 30" Waylon Manson or Myles Bolger/Caleb Mourish/Ben Brown etc (there's one most years)

Yes but I don't think Stringer will go undrafted. In fact he will likely go 15-25. Whereas people are saying without the broken leg he'd be top 3 certainty which I disagree with.