Kurt Tippett to the Swans? **UPDATE: Tippett requests trade to Sydney***

• Thread starter Thread starter jokiKan

I'm not into conspiracy theories but from an outsiders viewpoint, the AFL seem to be making up rules on the spot to stop Tippett getting to you guys. He should have been a free agent via delisting but the AFL has stopped that too.

I think the AFL want Tippett to go to Brisbane or GWS who could both do with him but I reckon GWS have thrown a spanner in the AFL desires.

The AFL would now be regretting giving GWS so many concessions. I know a lot of people will scoff but the list they have built by deviously exploiting every loophole in the start up concessions is starting to take on frightening proportions. After this years draft they will have something like 25 first round picks of their list. That's more than a fielded side of 22!

Tippett will just add more weight to the building juggernaught that is GWS. Sydney's run as top dog in the Sydney Derby might be very short lived.

No way you can get Tippett now, the AFL will ensure it doesn't happen and you guys will have wasted a whole trade period and turned your list management into a shambles. Sorry, but it's true.

I'm not into conspiracy theories but from an outsiders viewpoint, the AFL seem to be making up rules on the spot to stop Tippett getting to you guys. He should have been a free agent via delisting but the AFL has stopped that too.

I think the AFL want Tippett to go to Brisbane or GWS who could both do with him but I reckon GWS have thrown a spanner in the AFL desires.

The AFL would now be regretting giving GWS so many concessions. I know a lot of people will scoff but the list they have built by deviously exploiting every loophole in the start up concessions is starting to take on frightening proportions. After this years draft they will have something like 25 first round picks of their list. That's more than a fielded side of 22!

Tippett will just add more weight to the building juggernaught that is GWS. Sydney's run as top dog in the Sydney Derby might be very short lived.

No way you can get Tippett now, the AFL will ensure it doesn't happen and you guys will have wasted a whole trade period and turned your list management into a shambles. Sorry, but it's true.
Yeah, list management, at least we do it without side deals and promises of third party deals. Our top 25 remains untoched. We'll pick up a few in the draft, and we jave some promising rookis . Why don't you worry about your own team who couldn't beat us when it mattered and GTFO our board with your shit thowing. Go play in the bay or something

Well it is ridiculous what GWS have Hoarded but thats not their fault its the AFL any club smart enough would of done the same thing, If they get Tippett on a 4year deal there is no way they will be able to keep everyone we will just as likely poach a Patton or Cameron in a few years :)

Explain how our list management is terrible mate? sure we didnt bring anyone in but we might make a play for someone in the delisted Free Agency all we have done so far is make plenty of cap space :)

Yeah, list management, at least we do it without side deals and promises of third party deals. Our top 25 remains untoched. We'll pick up a few in the draft, and we jave some promising rookis . Why don't you worry about your own team who couldn't beat us when it mattered and GTFO our board with your shit thowing. Go play in the bay or something

Wow relax constructive opinions are welcome

Its about GWS

I'm not into conspiracy theories but from an outsiders viewpoint, the AFL seem to be making up rules on the spot to stop Tippett getting to you guys. He should have been a free agent via delisting but the AFL has stopped that

That is not correct, the Crows offered him a new contract which he declined so under the rules for free agency he was not able to be delisted by the club to become a free agent.

The Crows did ask if they could do this as he was not ale to be traded and were rightly told no by the AFL.

We are still in the box set to take him in the PSD and $800,000 a year will probably ensure we get him as the GWS just can't go that far with their TPP, maybe net an issue next year but it will be after that.

DST

After this years draft they will have something like 25 first round picks of their list. That's more than a fielded side of 22!
We won the premiership with a side containing 3 first round picks. Surprisingly the teams with many more first round picks in their 22 including Melbourne, Carlton and Adelaide were nowhere to be seen.

you guys will have wasted a whole trade period and turned your list management into a shambles. Sorry, but it's true.

Thanks for your considered opinion. I will now cry myself to sleep over the shambles that is our list management.

The truth, of course, is that we still have in tact the 22 who just a month ago won the premiership, plus McGlynn, Rohan, Mitchell, Lamb and a handful of other youngsters more than capable of playing senior football in the future. We also have a back-up ruckman, the reiging NEAFL Eastern Conference ruckman of the year, who I'd take every day of the week (and again on Saturdays and Sundays) over Angus Graham. We also have salary cap space by the bucketload, either for Tippett or for someone else next year.

Have we missed an opportunity to strengthen our list over trade period? Possibly, but there were only a small handful of players who moved clubs who might have really added to our squad. The most attractive of those, by far, in Goddard, probably had his agreement with Essendon wrapped up months ago and would never have been an option for the Swans.

I'd much prefer our list management "shambles" to the Crows' current list management "shambles".

No way you can get Tippett now, thhttp://m.adelaidenow.com.au/sport/afl/darkest-secrets-come-back-to-haunt-crows/story-fnahrqwo-1226504267884e AFL will ensure it doesn't happen and you guys will have wasted a whole trade period and turned your list management into a shambles. Sorry, but it's true.
Not into conspiracy theories - then you throw a few up.

Let's check them off.

1. He can't be a free agent. You offered him a deal. Not a new rule an old one.

2. The afl wont regret GWS's list of picks. They will be hoping they can be competitive ASAP.

3. Our time as top dog in Sydney is not under threat. In case you didn't notice we came first they came last. A large gap to bridge.

4. We can't get Tippett now. Well last time I looked he was going to go to the draft with a high price on his head. I'll back if the bookmakers were involved we would be favorites.

5. Afl will ensure he dosnt get to Sydney. What a load of croc. There is no way that AD or anyone at the afl will do anything to compromise the draft. They are about to smash you guys for tampering with it. The last thing they will want to be seen doing is meddling with it themselves. Just wishful thinking on crows supporters part.

6. Our list is now a shambles. What planet are you on. That list without Tippett smashed you on your home ground when you had him playing for you. We get Rohan and McGlynn back and young Mitchell comes in as we'll. on top of that we keep the whole premiership 22 (providing Bolton dosn't retire).

We have also cleared out space to add another 4 or 5 kids. No guarantees that we win the flag next year, but we have got a list capable, now can you say the same thing about your lot. Preliminary finals chokers.

Not into conspiracy theories - then you throw a few up.

Let's check them off.

1. He can't be a free agent. You offered him a deal. Not a new rule an old one.

2. The afl wont regret GWS's list of picks. They will be hoping they can be competitive ASAP.

3. Our time as top dog in Sydney is not under threat. In case you didn't notice we came first they came last. A large gap to bridge.

4. We can't get Tippett now. Well last time I looked he was going to go to the draft with a high price on his head. I'll back if the bookmakers were involved we would be favorites.

5. Afl will ensure he dosnt get to Sydney. What a load of croc. There is no way that AD or anyone at the afl will do anything to compromise the draft. They are about to smash you guys for tampering with it. The last thing they will want to be seen doing is meddling with it themselves. Just wishful thinking on crows supporters part.

6. Our list is now a shambles. What planet are you on. That list without Tippett smashed you on your home ground when you had him playing for you. We get Rohan and McGlynn back and young Mitchell comes in as we'll. on top of that we keep the whole premiership 22 (providing Bolton dosn't retire).

We have also cleared out space to add another 4 or 5 kids. No guarantees that we win the flag next year, but we have got a list capable, now can you say the same thing about your lot. Preliminary finals chokers.
Why respond? There are some topics/convos/opinions that deserve no oxygen, this was one of them.
Next.... Move on

Apologies, I shouldn't have used shambles but it is the greatest delisting and trading out of players by a Premiership or GF team that I can recall. I just wondered if this excessive moves out are part of the preparing for the Tippett tilt.

I must say in your defence that almost all of those you've moved on probably weren't of GF standard but your list now seems very short on depth and a few of thoise you are pinning hopes on seem to be chronic injury prone.

You were desrving Premiers this year but will need a good run with injuries in 2013, I am a Crows supporter but love all my AFL, I sincerely wish you the best.

Have you consulted with Faith before you post shit

People seem to be getting a bit touchy. Some Adelaide posters have been flogs. Some have come here and been pretty constructive. I'd like them to keep coming, because we sure can't engage them on their board without being carded. The lunatics have well and truly taken over that asylum.

Our list management has maybe taken a hit. But the players we've moved on were never going to make our best 22. There are a lot of players who've been delisted we could pick up for depth if the club is worried. Most aren't best 22, but might be fine depth players and will be cheap. We can wait until after the draft for that, and see if we can get Tippett. If not, there is still a lot of time to fix our depth, and we'll have the cash to get who we want. And we still have a bunch of live picks to try and get some good kids in the draft.

We didn't trade anyone in. But really, apart from pick 23, what did we have to offer? We wanted to keep our team intact, so we were going to be limited what we could get. Missing the trade period might work out for us. A lot of delistings have been announced since, and some of those are decent players. We have the cap room and list space to get them if we want.

anyone else think the swans have resigned to the fact that they probably wont get tippet with the resigning on pyke?
not saying they wouldnt of kept him but im sure he was demanding more than was offered to him and now with tippet out of the question he gets the money hes looking for

No, Pyke signed on as specialist ruck back up to Mumford.. With Seabys departure a must....

Point 2..... You been gone 2 years man..... Did you forget us or were you in prison... :D

Apologies, I shouldn't have used shambles but it is the greatest delisting and trading out of players by a Premiership or GF team that I can recall. I just wondered if this excessive moves out are part of the preparing for the Tippett tilt.

Congratulations. You have taken uninformed stupidity and guesswork to a level even your main boards Tippett thread has struggled to reach.

That is some achievement son.

This board doesn't host the entire swan fan community. i.e. just because people don't post here every day doesn't mean they're on the bandwagon when they do.

:rolleyes:

edit @ bedford's bandwagon post

People seem to be getting a bit touchy. Some Adelaide posters have been flogs. Some have come here and been pretty constructive. I'd like them to keep coming, because we sure can't engage them on their board without being carded. The lunatics have well and truly taken over that asylum.

Our list management has maybe taken a hit. But the players we've moved on were never going to make our best 22. There are a lot of players who've been delisted we could pick up for depth if the club is worried. Most aren't best 22, but might be fine depth players and will be cheap. We can wait until after the draft for that, and see if we can get Tippett. If not, there is still a lot of time to fix our depth, and we'll have the cash to get who we want. And we still have a bunch of live picks to try and get some good kids in the draft.

We didn't trade anyone in. But really, apart from pick 23, what did we have to offer? We wanted to keep our team intact, so we were going to be limited what we could get. Missing the trade period might work out for us. A lot of delistings have been announced since, and some of those are decent players. We have the cap room and list space to get them if we want.

Happy to engage objectively and will cop being howled down.

Now as I have said previously none of us have the actual facts and I preface anything I write be saying my understanding of events can only be based upon media reporting. That said its all we have to piece this together.

Looking at Caro's most recent story which has been quoted on this page, as well as a few others, it seems that we actually would have tried to run with 23 even though this may not have got past the AFL as reports indicate they were not going to approve the deal.

The critical information from Caro is that it was Sydney who were refusing to trade 23 unless we took Jesse and his accompanying salary. Its been reported that his salary is over the odds which was to keep him from the Suns. There was an article during the trade period which surveyed some recruitment staff who suggested Kurt was worth 2 low first rounders or 1 high first rounder.

Therefore Sydney were not just trading unders ie 23, but it was only prepared to trade 23 on the condition we picked up a player who was on a bloated contract to make room for Kurt. My guess is that we went there hopeful but as you have always said you held the whip on this one so all and sundry expected it would be unders.

My guess though is that your insistence on us taking that contract not only caused us to baulk but it also alerted the AFL that the trade was not just unders, it was unders...with a fine.

We know at some point the AFL called our Chairman and asked what the hell was going on which is when we gave up the game. We can pay a fine out of general revenue, but Jesse's salary was too much of an impost on our salary cap, as well as the assistance it would have given you in paying Kurt.

Its very hard to piece together the sequence of events. I do however believe that if we were all honest and analysing what we do know objectively, then no one comes out of this smelling of roses. As I have posted here before, what upsets me the most is the treatment of the players, of which we were culpable in getting Jesse over to Adelaide and possibly leading him to believe he would join our club. The media and social media frenzy which followed, all directed at an innocent player was nothing short of disgraceful.

I look forward to the AFL's completed investigation and its findings. If they find we have breached rules then we take that on the chin and move on. What Im really looking forward to is some facts relating to the sequence of events that ocurred during those 2 weeks. Not that it will change the world, but just to satisfy curiosity.