Cockburn firming up

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

Geez who cares where we are based. Surely the best facilities is the most important to take us forward.

I dare say the whole project may not even get off the ground with the scarcity of funding. No signs of pork from Juliar last week.

If you wanted pork, you should have relocated to Western Sydney. The Giants have a lovely new stadium that needs filling!

So no one else here has a feeling that the intention was to get us out of Freo no matter what to assist with the de-branding of Fremantle and the emphasis branding on Dockers to make the team less location specific. And so they say things about how Cockburn is the only option just to drive home a pre-determined outcome?

Take the jumper... even if you prefer the new jumper (and it's a good jumper) you have to admit it was a pretty crook way of going about it. They totally ignored that the old Purple Haze home and away were very popular jumpers, and that there was not insignificant acceptance that those jumpers could become the "new" permenant jumper. Such a switch would have got all on board I think.

Ok for sure Levis would not let it happen... but they club coulc have just come out and say it instead of hide behind some rubbish survey.

So no one else here has a feeling that the intention was to get us out of Freo no matter what to assist with the de-branding of Fremantle and the emphasis branding on Dockers to make the team less location specific. And so they say things about how Cockburn is the only option just to drive home a pre-determined outcome?

Take the jumper... even if you prefer the new jumper (and it's a good jumper) you have to admit it was a pretty crook way of going about it. They totally ignored that the old Purple Haze home and away were very popular jumpers, and that there was not insignificant acceptance that those jumpers could become the "new" permenant jumper. Such a switch would have got all on board I think.

Ok for sure Levis would not let it happen... but they club coulc have just come out and say it instead of hide behind some rubbish survey.

That old chestnut ;) The funny thing about labouring a point over and over is that once you start sounding like a broken record, people tune out and stop caring about what you have to say. Even if it's a valid point of discussion.

What if I was to tell you that I don't mind either way.

If the intention IS to widen our appeal then for me that's a good thing - as above all else a stable club with a stable financial base will always be a successful club. I would rather us be the West Australian Dockers - with an epic state of the art training facility in Joondalup and the Swiss Alps and a budget large enough to stay ahead of the competition and be successful both on and off field - than be too caught up in location. That's just me though - a brand is a brand - and AFL is at its root both a sport and entertainment. You can attach all the emotional hubris you want to it - an AFL club when you break it down is a corporation designed to achieve success against other clubs doing the same thing - regardless of any contrived history that you managed to attach yourself to emotionally when they started. I appreciate that you're a romantic at heart - go support your local WAFL team, they need it.

you mean all this time you didnt get the hint that majority of posters here dun share that view ?!? o_O

I can't speak for everyone, but no, I personally do not share that view at all.

Perhaps. Just that some of us don't see it as a bad thing.

Personally I like the proposed Cockburn facilities.

I certainly have fond memories of Freo oval from when I was knee high to a grasshopper to now, watching Souths, playing a few times there, heading to functions there and of course the boys in Purple using it as a base.
It's a fantastic suburban oval but unfortunately that's all it's ever going to be, a suburban oval. There is not much room to manoeuvre there in regards to development and if we are to be competing at a consistent level in a national competition then appropriate facilities are in order... even if it only gives us that extra 5% in regards to development, training and enticing the best players the nation has to offer.

I think people are getting a little precious about where our main facilities are based. I mean for f***'s sake Cockburn is like 15 minutes down the road from Freo itself. It has the infrastructure there already with the freeway and trains and there is plenty of room if the base needs to be developed further.

I am not sure I am grasping why people are so against our team looking at and potentially moving to facilities that will help cement our club as a powerhouse.

That old chestnut ;) The funny thing about labouring a point over and over is that once you start sounding like a broken record, people tune out and stop caring about what you have to say. Even if it's a valid point of discussion.

you're going to have to be more specific, I've dragged 3 old chestnuts up in that one post alone;)

I am not sure I am grasping why people are so against our team looking at and potentially moving to facilities that will help cement our club as a powerhouse.

Nobody is against us having great facilities. I don't like this growing meme of its either with us or against us and walking lock step with some corporate line. THat's what happend with WCE/drugs/cousins, it is what is happening right now with Essendon. Lack of scruitiny is not a good thing.

you're going to have to be more specific, I've dragged 3 old chestnuts up in that one post alone;)

The overriding theme was criticism of the direction of the club and through inference the people responsible for that direction ;) Two in particular - it's been done hard in the DL thread, and in this thread as well

Nobody is against us having great facilities. I don't like this growing meme of its either with us or against us and walking lock step with some corporate line. THat's what happend with WCE/drugs/cousins, it is what is happening right now with Essendon. Lack of scruitiny is not a good thing.

It's a long straw to suggest a link between drugs and corporate governance. Especially when you're choosing two very specific cases amongst a competition of 18 clubs, who on the whole *are* held accountable by and are accountable to the governing body.

Fair enough
I'm certainly not spruiking the with us or against us mentality, a bit of healthy debate on what is a fairly important issue for the club we all love is a good thing I think.

While I am sure there are many positive points for the club staying in Freo (and I admit I have a soft spot for the idea) a lot of the debate seems to be a bit of hysterical hair pulling without too much rational thought being put forward... emotions instead of logical arguments if that makes sense.

To me it seems like a smart move to move to a state of art facility in Cockburn as this sort of development doesn't seem feasible in the heart of Freo... but hey, I'm happy to be proven wrong.

I don't really understand the link between moving to state of the art training facilities and our players going on drugs/peptides... In fact, one could argue that we won't need peptides since our facilities will be ahead of the comp ;)

On a serious note, the big selling point for me with Cockburn is the extra ovals which can be custom designed to proportions of Burswood, MCG/Etihad etc. and with RTB's game plan being incredibly specific, I think it's going to benefit us in a big way.

You could throw all the money into redeveloping Freo but that wouldn't be possible.

I haven't bothered to go back and look at the plans but would there have bee room for what we wanted if we had shunted Souths off to EFO and demolished their rooms at Freo Oval?

I'm not even going to bother with the other stuff I mentioned previously, but what you state here is quite important.

At Freo Oval we would have had to deal with various stakeholders with different self interests.

The notoriously loopy Fremantle Council.
The inflexible and pedantic Heritage Council.
The Catholic Church, (as in the Notre Dame University medical facilities that were tied in with the redevelopment).
South Fremantle Football Club.

And all of the various stakeholders, vendors, business people, investment sharks etc in the immediate and general vicinity.

Cockburn is a greenfields site that holds no such barriers and possible issues going forward.

. I really like the new strip and the steves are still pricks who don't give a crap about footy, let alone freo. It's just some ego trip for them.

Just out of interest how much exposure have you had to either Steve Rosich or Steve Harris to form this conclusion?

Personally I don't know Rosich, but from the brief meeting I had with him I found him to be somewhat aloof but a clearly very intelligent and driven business mind. As for Steve Harris, I’ve met him several times and have always been pretty impressed with him TBH. He thinks the job of a President is to lead, rather than be a media personality; He’s extraordinarily generous with his time for the club, absolutely loves the game and his passion for driving this club forward (on and off the field) is both obvious and imho genuine. Assuming you are a member, I suggest you ring the club and ask for an appointment to meet/speak with him and take your concerns to him. He is an approachable and stand-up guy and I’m pretty sure he’d be happy to discuss your concerns with you.

You may not agree with the direction that the club is taking (which is absolutely your right) but labelling our president an ego driven prick who doesn’t care about either footy or the club is unfair, unreasonable, and completely incorrect.

Not even for a good $$$ offer and the lure of better facilities? They are obviously not professional enough.

Strong history in Fremantle, grassroots - don't blame them.

Different prospect for a team in a national competition ;)

You may not agree with the direction that the club is taking (which is absolutely your right) but labelling our president an ego driven prick who doesn’t care about either footy or the club is unfair, unreasonable, and completely incorrect.

Maybe he just needs to find a new PR agency.

On a serious note, the big selling point for me with Cockburn is the extra ovals which can be custom designed to proportions of Burswood, MCG/Etihad etc. and with RTB's game plan being incredibly specific, I think it's going to benefit us in a big way.

It would be a tad odd to plan the cockburn site around Lyon's coaching.