Toast Pick 39 : Welcome to Carlton Cameron Giles

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

If he becomes as good as I think he could be, I'm going to hold him to this:
“Obviously with the great history that Carlton has I’m really excited to be a part of it. I can’t wait to get stuck into it, hopefully forge a career and stay at Carlton for all of it.”

Welcome, Cameron :thumbsu:

Looks a very solid prospect and very much fits the Mick Malthouse mould. Tall player who has the versatility to play a number of positions at either end of the ground. Made his name as a defender this season but prior to that had predominantly featured forward of centre.

Very good build for an 18 year old and has some nice pace to compliment that size. Looks like he's a strong mark and generally uses the ball well.

Appears to share some similarities with Brian Lake. Pin him down to a chair over the preseason and make him study every aspect of Lake's game, because if he ends up half the player we're on a ripper.

Also wouldn't be a bad idea to partner him with Henderson in his first months at the club. Learn how to become a genuinely damaging swing-man at AFL level by learning first hand from one of the best in the business.

Footy Tragics phantom write-up on him is pretty exciting...

I liked his approach, though for context Cripps was 32 and the undrafted Eli Templeton 15.

#16 – CAMERON GILES
Height: 195cm, Weight: 95kg, DOB: 5/5/1995
Recruited from: Woodville West Torrens

Cameron Giles is the best key defender in this draft in my opinion. Giles is your prototypical modern day centre half-back that not only defends but also creates attack.

At the moment Darcy Gardiner probably edges slightly ahead of Giles in the one-on-one stakes, but let’s not forget that this is Giles’ first real season in defence. Before this year, Giles played a lot in the ruck and up forward and also a lot of midfield in his younger days. He has the tools to be effective at both ends of the ground but I think his best spot is in defence and I thought it was a great move.

We saw Giles play two different roles this season. In the U/18’s he played as a roaming centre-half back, but in the National Champs he played deep at full back in the presence of Matt Scharenberg who basically took over his role. I liked the moved and I think Giles would’ve learnt a lot from it and all-in-all he did a tidy job despite not really playing on much competition.

Giles still has a bit to work on in terms of his one-on-one play but he has the size and reach to overcome this. He’s not exactly a natural at playing from behind and I think this is a positive. He’s more comfortable getting the front position and going for his marks and being the aggressor. He defends by attacking and I think the role Harry Taylor plays for Geelong will be the type of role that will give Giles the best chance of succeeding. Not that it matters all that much, as recruiters would’ve seen his U/18’s form back home, but I think if he was given the Scharenberg role at the Champs we would’ve heard a lot more noise about Giles. He does his best work zoning off, and I don’t think that discredits him as a key defender at all.

Athletically, Giles is in a good position. He has a very good endurance base and he has got good acceleration with very good top pace. If you combine that with his frame and long arms, you’re off to a very good start in the physical stakes.

Giles’ greatest asset is his attack. He is a very good kick of the football and boasts excellent efficiency stats despite providing so much aggressive rebound. His kicks are long and penetrating and he can easily cover 50 metres. He often took the kick-ins for South Australia at the Champs in what is an underrated skill and he did quite well. The one issue I have with his kicking sometimes is his weighting. Kicking to someone on a long lead is sometimes something that he can struggle with because he tends to over-kick them instead of kicking it to grass (Danny Frawley special). Generally it’s pretty good though and I’m just a picky person. At the Champs he still recorded three rebound-50’s a game even though he was playing in a much more defensive role. His rebound is daring and mostly comes off, and probably the best comparison would be Alex Rance but with more precise disposal. Giles also loves to fly for his marks, and generally he is a very good contested mark. Sometimes he overdoes it, and the spoil would probably be a better option, but I don’t think that would be something that would be too hard to teach. He just needs to learn when to go and when not to.

There is so much to work with in Giles. He would slot right into a team that just needs that third tall to play a bit loose and set up attacks. In a team where he’d be required to be the first defender initially, I think he’d struggle a bit, but that’s only because I think he’s ready to step in straight away into a lowly team and that really isn’t his go. That part of his game needs development, but as a third tall I reckon he’s one of the more ready-made taller guys in this draft.

From the highlights he provides something that Malthouse will love and that is follow up his own work and provide overlap run. This is the type of run we really lacked last season and why Walker was such a stand out. Really think this guys will make it in some form.

This kid should have gone late first round early second, great pick up.
If he builds a more aggressive one on one mentality everything else is there.
Great mark, kick and can move forward.
I think Rodgers was smiling when this kid was still around, especially considering he was the best defender in the draft.
I would not mind his SA buddy Pitt in the rookie draft.

Yep thanks for that one
He's a ripper

This kid should have gone late first round early second, great pick up.
If he builds a more aggressive one on one mentality everything else is there.
Great mark, kick and can move forward.
I think Rodgers was smiling when this kid was still around, especially considering he was the best defender in the draft.
I would not mind his SA buddy Pitt in the rookie draft.
Found it interesting that Wells paused and took his time before drafting a tall defender. Grabbed JK just two picks after we took Giles. Wondering if they were interested in Giles. Having Luke Williams for a few months may have paid off.

We may have very well taken Geelongs first couple of selections. Believe they were pretty interested in Cripps as well.

Have watched Giles' highlights a couple of times and he looks like a pretty exciting prospect. Hope the club send him straight to Henderson to be his mentor.

Geelong would have known that Cripps wouldn't have been there but they probably didn't bank on Sydney taking Jones just in front of them.
That's just the way it came across.

Who cares what Geelong would have done anyway. Reckon that Wells' bubble is about to burst. :)

feel sorry for Snowtown. No one was killed there, just stored.

Poor Snowtown

If you feel that much for it you could always go and live there...unless you already do in which case I take that back! :)

Welcome young man. to me he will be nicknamed Farmer....for the old ones on this board it should make sense as Farmer Giles was always a painful condition that made you sit on one of those weird blow up cushion things!

Good luck Cameron, I hope you have a 200 game career with the Blues! :thumbsu:

Welcome to this kid.
Good speed and kick for a KPD.
Swingman potential is there too.

by the way the nicknames so far are shocking, pull your finger out people :rolleyes::p

Love this pick, the versatility he brings gives him a much greater chance to succeed at AFL level.
If he doesn't make it as a KPD he still has a chance as a KPF or a 3rd tall, heck there is no reason that someone with his mobility and speed can't be tried as a tall running wingman.

As a KPD I also think he would be a perfect compliment to Watson who could take the bigger and stronger forwards, leaving Giles to play on the more athletic types.

In a couple years if Giles and Watson have developed into consistent and regular AFL players then the luxury of Jamison playing as a 3rd tall would assist in prolonging his career.

Footy Tragics phantom write-up on him is pretty exciting...

I liked his approach, though for context Cripps was 32 and the undrafted Eli Templeton 15.

Liked the bit where he mentioned that Giles could play third tall fairly soon in his AFL career. Mcinnes is great but doesn't have much of a offensive game and Boots is still a few years away from competing with the big boys. I suspect Everitt will be playing as a swingman with Walker. A mobile 195cm, 93 kilos third tall who is supposed to have decent endurance and uses the ball well sounds good to me.

Impressive highlights package. From what I've read, a steal at pick 39 considering he's been rated one of the best tall defenders. Looks to have great oace, good mark over head and can play at either end of the ground. Good size too!

Welcome to the best club in the land Cam :thumbsu:

Liked the bit where he mentioned that Giles could play third tall fairly soon in his AFL career. Mcinnes is great but doesn't have much of a offensive game and Boots is still a few years away from competing with the big boys. I suspect Everitt will be playing as a swingman with Walker. A mobile 195cm, 93 kilos third tall who is supposed to have decent endurance and uses the ball well sounds good to me.

Whats wrong with a lockdown player that can play short or tall?

Nothing but I also like our defenders to contribute offensively.

So does Mick ;)

But Andy Mac kicked some beauty inside 50s this year. As his confidence grows both experience wise and confidence on his knee, he will be more offensive. Because he definitely has the kicking skills.