Review 3 things learnt v cats

• Thread starter Thread starter The King!

Even more noticeable live last night mate , im surprised he didn't get dragged at one stage as one of his efforts was piss poor. His best is very good as we know but he really needs to lift his defensive game like the other 21.

Jetta is going to be like this forever, provided he does the good we can wear the bad, but he is the laziest defender in the team by a mile, but thats him i reckon.

Even the long sleeves looked kind of lazy on him

i feel guilty that COLA allowed us to poach Derricx and Laidler from other clubs

Those big name players... poor Mick was helpless to hang on to Laidler.

its Paul Chambers from Geelong again, they would of won 2008 with him there

Jetta is going to be like this forever, provided he does the good we can wear the bad, but he is the laziest defender in the team by a mile, but thats him i reckon.

Funnily enough if he were playing in a shit side that were not winning like we are he would be railroaded out of the side quicker than you could imagine. That doesn't change the fact that his bludging on his team mates and insipid efforts in putting his hand into a contest instead of his body will one day cost us a game. Makes me dislike the bloke and I don't even know him when I see the other 21 blokes busting a gut. That cocky swagger of his might be rendered useless if Rohan ever comes good and Jetta continues with the same attitude. A fully fit and confident Rohan could easily enhance the role Jetta plays with a lot more effort.

Cant disagree, for now he is a luxury we can carry to a point, but his time will come if he isnt careful

1. If Franklin, Tippett, Richards and Grundy can stay injury free, and we can kick straight early in games, then we will be there at the pointy end this year.

2. Our handballing, pressure and rebound is back to 2012 kind of quality. Was my highlight from yesterday.

3. The next two games against GCS and Port are going to be really fun to watch. If we can win both it'll give us a chance to start looking at rotation of the midfield group in preparation for a finals tilt.

Grundy seems a little shakier than usual. Doesn't seem to trust his leg as much this year and I'm not sure if he was buttering up his hands in the breaks; he dropped a couple of dangerous balls

Cant disagree, for now he is a luxury we can carry to a point, but his time will come if he isnt careful

I really like Jetts and his family, they're great people who've gone without much over the years to allow Lewis to play and excel in footy ...BUT, footy isn't a place for sentiment and I agree with previous posts that point the finger at him. Rohan is far more accountable and has speed to burn too, can't wait to see him back.

Grundy seems a little shakier than usual. Doesn't seem to trust his leg as much this year and I'm not sure if he was buttering up his hands in the breaks; he dropped a couple of dangerous balls

I feel like hes been one of the best of late personally, i will have to watch closer

Jetta is a necessity in the team IMO , yes he can appear lazy, and tackling is not his game. He is a first class user of the ball, he has strong hands, blistering pace and has amazing vision to work through a contest and find an open player anywhere on the field.

Luckily we have guys like Parker, bird, mglynn, Kennedy who are tackling beasts.

I don't expect jetta to win 15+ contested possessions a game or lay 11 tackles. What I do expect is him to push forward and use the ball when he gets it, which he has been doing

1. Swans defensive pressure is extreme
2. Swans ability to extract from congestion is unparalleled
3. Swans offensive running is awesome
4. Swans inside 50 marking is unstoppable

Sorry but three things weren't enough for that game.

If this team can improve its kicking to advantage skills by 20 - 30% they will be unbeatable.

Yes SS, you make good points about Jetta. For mine, he just seems a very lazy tackler, sure he's a fine build but pressure or perceived pressure should be part of any players game. They seem to just shrug him off or take him on knowing he won't stop them.

Jetta is a necessity in the team IMO , yes he can appear lazy, and tackling is not his game. He is a first class user of the ball, he has strong hands, blistering pace and has amazing vision to work through a contest and find an open player anywhere on the field.

Luckily we have guys like Parker, bird, mglynn, Kennedy who are tackling beasts.

I don't expect jetta to win 15+ contested possessions a game or lay 11 tackles. What I do expect is him to push forward and use the ball when he gets it, which he has been doing

I am a Jetta fan, however (maybe since Adelaide?) he hasn't had the zing...I cannot remember him using his pace to any great effect? He seems content to receive and kick, and last night his kicking to a target radar was unusually off. However, I don't think he has been consistently bad, and some of his defensive efforts this year have been good. We have had players in and out of form this year and the team largely has covered them, he does bring something to the team and can trouble a defence when he does.

1 - When we are on....We are red hot..!!
2 - We will absolutely demolish someone if we kick straight
3 - The use of the hands in tight is at another level to any other team

Agreed.
We have so many quality in and under tackling machines. Jetta uses his speed to harass, divert, distract, disrupt but lays tackles when required.

I would rather he uses his main attributes - speed, kicking skills - than risk losing him with a popped shoulder.

overated, needs to do a lot more

1. The more Swans win, the more hate comes out from opposing fans.
2. I was wrong in my previous thoughts of Grundy & Bird. Both are worthy contributors
and both deserve their place in the Swans team..
3. Cats coach got no idea..

We left 6 goals out there

People are jumping the gun, we beat a depleted Hawks, a deplorable Essendon and a Geelong that uncharachteristically resembled witches hats, we lost to GWS and weren't great against the Dees

Talk of best forward Combo ever is laughable at best

I am being a pessimistic prick, but my point about getting ahead of ourselves stands

I have been one of the biggest derickx bashers on this board, but he is keeping pyke out of the team. The mix is perfect the moment and right now I'd take derickx over pyke
Pyke comes straight back in, Derickx has been good and is improving but Pyke is still easily our best ruckman

People are jumping the gun, we beat a depleted Hawks, a deplorable Essendon and a Geelong that uncharachteristically resembled witches hats, we lost to GWS and weren't great against the Dees

I am being a pessimistic prick, but my point about getting ahead of ourselves stands

That is taking it lightly :p

Crows have injuries and was their first home game at adelaide oval
Dockers were missing fyfe
Melbourne were crap
Brisbane had injuries galore
Hawthorn was basically box hill
Essendon have chappy out and asada
Cats missed lonergan enright and had 6 day breaks

We are probably last in reality hey