Review 3 things learnt v cats

• Thread starter Thread starter The King!

Crows have injuries and was their first home game at adelaide oval
Dockers were missing fyfe
Melbourne were crap
Brisbane had injuries galore
Hawthorn was basically box hill
Essendon have chappy out and asada
Cats missed lonergan enright and had 6 day breaks

We are probably last in reality hey
???????

Melbourne were crap

Why be so needing to crush someone. It was a very very dominant performance and you can only beat what is opposite, but we are now playing with our best 22 fully fit. If you made excuses for us in the back half of 2013 then they apply just as much here.

The season is a marathon and the club who has the best September wins the flag - we are putting ourselves in a good position and playing some of the best footy I have seen from us (I still think the game v the pies at the mcg last year was the best I have ever seen us play live, but essendon recently was also very good) but there is a way to go here.

Anyway the three things I learned..

1. Playing mcveigh and jack ahead of the ball really has the potential to terrify teams.
2. McGlynn often sets the tone for our defensive pressure. If he is getting to the contest early then everyone does.
3. That you can win by more than 100 points despite your full forward being an ordinary shot for goal. Modern footy.

At last got to watch the game today. Very different take on it when you know the result, have read the plaudits on bf and go into it with the highest expectations. Things I would say ...

I thought Geelong were garbage. Their pressure was non-existent. So many turnovers. Allowed us a great deal of freedom we might not have normally had. So yeah, I'll take a 110 point win as encouraging, but I don't think it was the Geelong we've come to know this last decade.

Our hand balling was excellent.

Shaw was excellent. I've kept quiet on him on this board but have always thought he turns the ball over way too much. Not a big fan of his. However, his delivery against the cats was spot on for the most part.

Interesting to see the AFL have another female goal umpire doing the rounds. I'm all for it but I think she made a mistake with one of the Cats (Hawkins?) goals.

Rebounded very well. Must have been very exciting to be at the game and see us breaking into space like that. TV never does footy justice.

Don't know if Kieran Jack is quite there yet. Yet to discover his best form for mine.

One day D-rex will take a screamer.

I know this is more than three things but one more. We need to treat the Suns with the utmost respect. Sure, they've had a pretty easy run, but they're right with us on the ladder and that's something after 11 rounds. Our success is built on pressure. Without it, we might easily drop a game we simply can't afford to drop.

Melbourne were crap

Im going to go back to 2013 and cross off every team who beat us because we were depleted we will be on the top of the ladder!!

I swear we have the only supporters who do this for some reason completely devalue every win we have, other boards dont do this.

Not saying make a tool of yourself and create threads "lock us in for a flag" but damn if you cant enjoy the time you are on top you will hate being a AFL supporter.

At last got to watch the game today. Very different take on it when you know the result, have read the plaudits on bf and go into it with the highest expectations. Things I would say ...

I thought Geelong were garbage. Their pressure was non-existent. So many turnovers. Allowed us a great deal of freedom we might not have normally had. So yeah, I'll take a 110 point win as encouraging, but I don't think it was the Geelong we've come to know this last decade.

Our hand balling was excellent.

Shaw was excellent. I've kept quiet on him on this board but have always thought he turns the ball over way too much. Not a big fan of his. However, his delivery against the cats was spot on for the most part.

Interesting to see the AFL have another female goal umpire doing the rounds. I'm all for it but I think she made a mistake with one of the Cats (Hawkins?) goals.

Rebounded very well. Must have been very exciting to be at the game and see us breaking into space like that. TV never does footy justice.

Don't know if Kieran Jack is quite there yet. Yet to discover his best form for mine.

One day D-rex will take a screamer.

I know this is more than three things but one more. We need to treat the Suns with the utmost respect. Sure, they've had a pretty easy run, but they're right with us on the ladder and that's something after 11 rounds. Our success is built on pressure. Without it, we might easily drop a game we simply can't afford to drop.

They have been a champion side since 2007 so to be up and contending every year is well unheard of in the modern era but i noticed cracks in the Adelaide game where it took them over 3 quarters to put them away at home then the Richmond game where they gave up a 7 goal lead and almost lost and then the North game where once again for a quarter or two they completely stop.

They take way to many risks playing the corridor feels like they are trying to play like in 2007 but dont have the cattle anymore would love to know how many goals we kicked from their turnovers.

They are getting smashed in the clearances and contested ball against good sides.

Felt Thursday night was a combination of the above along with the 6 day breaks and hitting a form side.

Why be so needing to crush someone. It was a very very dominant performance and you can only beat what is opposite, but we are now playing with our best 22 fully fit. If you made excuses for us in the back half of 2013 then they apply just as much here.

The season is a marathon and the club who has the best September wins the flag - we are putting ourselves in a good position and playing some of the best footy I have seen from us (I still think the game v the pies at the mcg last year was the best I have ever seen us play live, but essendon recently was also very good) but there is a way to go here.

I was not serious

Melbourne were crap

yep no one will remember our 4th in 2013 where we finished with our half our reserves in team

Jetta is going to be like this forever, provided he does the good we can wear the bad, but he is the laziest defender in the team by a mile, but thats him i reckon.
Even the long sleeves looked kind of lazy on him
Well Lewis needs to be careful, because there's a pacey bloke called Harry Cunningham who can play in that role, who uses it well, can kick a goal and works both ways.

If he's not careful it will be

IN: Tom Mitchell OUT: Lewis Jetta.

1. We have the best hand passing game in footy currently, which makes it the fastest hand passing game I've ever seen.

2. The role of the ruckman in AFL has evolved beyond recognition

3. The pressure on the selected 22 exerted by the form of our emergencies like mitchell is driving our mids/small fwds to play 4 qtr footy like never before to hold their spots.

nb: McGlynn is just playing out of his skin right now. 11 tackles was an IMMENSE factor in our fwd 50 pressure.

1. There is only one thing that can ruin a 110 point win against a champion side like the cats, having the game called by 'BT' & 'Darce'. Absolute flogs of the highest order...Dwayne is horrible with his stupid catch phrases he repeats over and over but at least he calls the play....I DO NOT give a f about Richo's pants or how curly Tippett's hair is...call the god damn play! Coverage should be about what's going on the ground not about the flogs in the commentary box.

2. The one negative about a near complete performance was once again the horrid goal kicking in the first half, we've done this against Freo, Hawks and now Cats...we've gotten away with it so far but it's the sort of stuff that could cost us big time in a knock out final, when games are a lot hotter and generally a lot lower scoring.

3. The 4 pronged attack is working Beautifully, Reid is getting right up the ground and providing a marking target on the wings (which means he's dragging the defender most likely to zone off out of the forward line), Goodes is doing what he does best, just roaming where he pleases. While Tippett and Buddy are separately brilliantly on going deep with one pushing up to 60m out. Generating heaps of one on ones. Has to be stuck woth I think, so a big no playing both Pyke and D-rex, slows the side down to much. Also keep the above 4 (if fit obviously) over the urge to play an additional runner, it would throw the way the forward line functions completely out of whack.
Much better than last year where Jesse would allow his opponent to zone off him, or would take him to the contest...or even himself spoil his teammate by going up for the same mark. (Sorry Jesse, you improved, but you were the main offender here...there were others though)

3) To clarify Jack2Jack last sentence said our forward line last year consisted of White/Pyke/Mumford all jumping for the one footy, it got slightly better when Tippett came in but they were spoiling him as well it was just a disorganized mess.

I was not serious
Don't worry, I know facetiousness when I see it :)

If Thursday night hasn't well and truly blown the lid off, then I don't want any of what you're smoking. Yes, Geelong had a bad night, but we were exceptional. If we play like that each week, lock us in for the grand final and I would say give us the cup now. The challenge will be meeting that standard from now on, regardless of who we play.

Don't worry, I know facetiousness when I see it :)

If Thursday night hasn't well and truly blown the lid off, then I don't want any of what you're smoking. Yes, Geelong had a bad night, but we were exceptional. If we play like that each week, lock us in for the grand final and I would say give us the cup now. The challenge will be meeting that standard from now on, regardless of who we play.

Only reason we had a bad night was because you didn't give us a sniff.

When do you guys play GWS again? After watching Thursday's game and watching the first half of the Richmond game tonight, if they can kick 24 goals against GWS, you guys will most likely smash our record score. :eek:

I really like Reid's role. He is not dominant, but has been good. He's providing a high target to kick to, his skills have been good and he picks the ball up well on the deck. Like others have said, he drags another tall out of defence and thus opens room for franklin and Tippett.

We have the PERFECT mix at the moment and it's working beautifully

When do you guys play GWS again? After watching Thursday's game and watching the first half of the Richmond game tonight, if they can kick 24 goals against GWS, you guys will most likely smash our record score. :eek:

I reckon there will be a bit of a revenge aspect to it as well.

The team has seemed to ignore them up to this point which was fine. I reckon it will now be time for schooling to put them back in their box.

I am expecting some fireworks actually.

Brisbane softened up the Blues for the Cats redemption :)

28 June is the return match with little bro, if the boys can hand a 150 point thrashing that would be a pretty good birthday present. No doubt that the Swans will be raring for some payback.

I remember that little feral Toby Green and a few others mouthing off at the swans. I want the foot on the throat - win by 200+.

1. That those on this board who argued we should model ourselves on Geelong are looking very sheepish.
2. That those whose who said we had too many talls are strangely silent.
3. That suddenly everyone wants to get on the Birdwagon.
3(a). That those who thought Goodes was past it are nowhere to be seen.
3(b). That Horse's knockers are strangely silent.
3(c). That fans who thought Shaw should retire need to rethink their positions.
3(d). That Eski is the perfect ambassador for LARS.

1. We have the best hand passing game in footy currently, which makes it the fastest hand passing game I've ever seen.

There was a passage in the first quarter where it was just a blur. Too fast for the monitor on my Macbook Pro. At this rate the games will have to be shot in ultra-slo-mo.

So much for earlier criticisms of our ball handling skills. We can tick that one off.

Not little Bro. No relation at all. Agree we need to grind them so far into the dirt they'll be swallowing molten lava.