Arc1

Is there a better quarter of footy in our history than the 3rd quarter of the 2008 GF? Watched this again on the weekend, and it's good enough that we actually went nuts as if it was live. I concede alcohol may have contributed. But I've seen a fair bit of Hawthorn and just can't think of a quarter I've enjoyed more. Everything from Cyril's amazing tackle to Harry's epic dunce fumble, just has it all - not the least... STEWIE DEW!!!!

Which other ones are up there?

Yep, the 3rd quarter of '08 contains as many iconic Hawk moments as any other I can remember, in 40+ years. It's a perfect storm, and a footballing and Hawk supporting orgasm. Have watched it, and highlights from it, more times than I can count.

3rd and 4th qtr from Rd 6 1989 were pretty bloody good
Second half against the Swans Rd 7?? 2013. Down by almost 40 in the third and come back to win pretty well.
Q1 against Freo this year was sublime. I love seeing a team go 37 - zip up against the defensive genius in Ross Lyon.
Q4 Prelim last year
Q3 against the Cats late this year
Q2 in the GF this year

But you are correct, Q3 was pretty special in 2008. Stewart Dew... Come on down.

Is there a better quarter of footy in our history than the 3rd quarter of the 2008 GF? Watched this again on the weekend, and it's good enough that we actually went nuts as if it was live. I concede alcohol may have contributed. But I've seen a fair bit of Hawthorn and just can't think of a quarter I've enjoyed more. Everything from Cyril's amazing tackle to Harry's epic dunce fumble, just has it all - not the least... STEWIE DEW!!!!

Which other ones are up there?

I don't care how good a player he's since become...he'll always be "Fumbles" to me.

That quarter has parallels to the 2014 GF for me- in that, you just could not believe what was unfolding before your eyes. That we, against all the odds, were powering our way to yet another premiership.

EDIT: As a raw 9yo, the last quarter of the 1985 PF was pretty bloody good too. Lethal, in his second last game and literally on his last legs, came off the bench and just willed Hawthorn into another GF. Was unbelievable.

87 PF Q4.
Derm goes to half back and simply does not let anything past.
It was a brave (but match winning) move given Dunstall was not playing.
Bucky was seriously awesome as well.

As good as the 2008 GF was, it's still tainted by the fact that Geelong were not out of the game because of how we played, they were just being wasteful while we were very opportunistic. Stand out quarters are where we have completely drilled the opposition to the point of being absolutely helpless

Q1 & 2 of round 4 against Freo. Literally destroyed them in every aspect. The Spangher/Poppy/Cyril/Bruest end-to-end goal encapsulates how we could just toy with them.

Some of the game against St Kilda in round 7 was pretty mesmerising considering the shocking conditions. 10 goals in Q3 in driving rain was about as dominant as you could be.

However, Q2 of the 2014 GF takes the cake when you consider the opposition and what was on the line

2014 Q2 for mine. Absolutely clinical. A masterpiece of destruction. I've been to the last three grannies and that quarter was the most spine tingling of all. It beat 2008 Q3 by virtue of the fact that it was an entire team effort. Everyone was 'on' and it felt like they were reading each other's minds. In 2008 it was magnificent, but it still felt a bit fluky, if you know what I mean. 2014 felt like it was meant to be.

Round 14 2011. 2nd quarter vs essendon. Missing Franklin.

We humiliated them, going into the main break 61 points clear. It was the first time is really seen how damaging and unpredictable we could be without Franklin.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

One of my Hawk mates had just had a baby a couple of days before this game and I had popped over with some beverages and watched this. We high-fived every goal (sore hands).:)

There are better listed above, but these were pretty good too:
2011 Round 2 vs Melbourne Q3 (8.11 to 1.1 - 19 scoring shots :eek:)
1999 Round 12 vs St Kilda Q3 (10.0 to 3.1 - the comeback)
1983 GF vs Essendon Q2
I was there that day. Truly amazing. I sensed we were in with a shot at half time. Have no recollection why I thought that, but it was nice telling my daughter "I told you so" at the end.

Probably because we finally turned up, and kicked the last 3 goals of the 2nd! I thought we were too far back myself.

Round 14 2011. 2nd quarter vs essendon. Missing Franklin.

We humiliated them, going into the main break 61 points clear. It was the first time is really seen how damaging and unpredictable we could be without Franklin.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

I'll just clarify, I do not consider this the best quarter we've played. I just remembered it being pretty great and it hadn't been mentioned yet.

Quarter 2 of the 2014 GF stands out to me at the moment for obvious reasons.

One of my Hawk mates had just had a baby a couple of days before this game and I had popped over with some beverages and watched this. We high-fived every goal (sore hands).:)
Gave me sore hands as well, but for a different reason

I wasn't even a sparkle in my mum's eye back in 1971 ... But all the old timers reckon that comeback was one of the best of all time.
Apparently we were gone at 3/4 time ... yet came back to smash em in the last!
I was there, mate. Had no doubt we would win. Great fightback. Wishing so hard that Huddo would break the record, but he had his chances. He choked. Remember Keddie in a scuffle in the goal square, flicked a handpass out to Huddo running past and kicked his 151st. Only to have it declared a free to Keddie (who kicked the goal). Then he has a chance about 30 out and kicks it into Lawrence on the mark.

Great day. Kevin Heath bog in my mind. Was huge.

R16, 1982, 1st Quarter. Hawks 13.3 vs North 2.4

I remember sitting in the cheer squad and them going over my head on a regular basis. Tucky kicked a 70m torp for one if them. Lethal ended up with a lazy 7.

I was there, mate. Had no doubt we would win. Great fightback. Wishing so hard that Huddo would break the record, but he had his chances. He choked. Remember Keddie in a scuffle in the goal square, flicked a handpass out to Huddo running past and kicked his 151st. Only to have it declared a free to Keddie (who kicked the goal). Then he has a chance about 30 out and kicks it into Lawrence on the mark.

Keddie marks and handballed to Hudson in the goalsquare. Umpire Sheales called Keddie back behind his mark.
Hudson kicked into Barry Lawrence from 12 yards out.

Silly to think that Lawrence was suppose to be a Hawthorn player. Signed a form four but his wife didn't want to leave Tasmania, finally moved to Victoria and St Kilda in return for Doc Baldock to return to Tasmania. Suppose to be a great CHF but he was all hype, got dropped and came back as a defender.

It was the bloody determination of Don Scott driving the ball forward out of the middle in the last that gave the team the momentum to win. Keddie's four goal cameo was good, Heath was the most consistent on the day, undefeated all game.