Strategy Blair Hartley Project 2015 III - Linked to Treloar / Yarran / Stevie J / Kreuzer

• Thread starter Thread starter Equus

As the article states it's not so much of a risk for us as we have hardly anyone on our list that age.
The thing that interests me is Stevie J the coach. Listening to Cam Mooney
the other day he was a massive wraps for Stevie Js football brain. Reckon he will make an outstanding coach. Imagine our young forwards being able to learn the tricks of the trade from someone as classy as Stevie J.
Any man that is able to turn down a personality like his to be able to fit into an ultra professional environment like geelong can only really help. Also what would we lose? He takes lloyds spot? He comes in with 3 premierships worth of experience? For little risk he would could be worth the upside.

Also wouldnt he be cheap with veteran payments? or does he have to had been at the club for a while for this to happen?

I don't mind Stevie J coming across but if he takes the spot of Lennon, I'll be pissed :mad::mad:
Why do we need that washed up hack if we are getting Yarran, forget about the article, Jake Niall saw something on Big Footy and decided to write an article about it, pretty sad if you ask me.

I'd be in favour of getting Johnson.
We need more successful people arround our club.
Low risk high reward IMO.
Better option that Chappy or Winderlich and we wanted them.

Just bit of a random thought. Would it be best if Adelaide matches the Geelong offer for Dangerfield for the best chance for us to get Motlop? If Adelaide matches the offer, then Geelong will have to trade with Adelaide to get him across. Geelong needs to use their first pick for Hederson so they need to trade one of their other players to get the picks involved for the Dangerfield trade. That is where trading Motlop comes in.

There is no chance Patrick Dangerfield going to the Pre-season draft. I can't see a club in a position such as Carlton passing over Dangerfield even if he puts $1.5 million per year over his head.

I would choose Bennell over Motlop any day. More upside, younger better value and more talented IMO. Better in the guts to

DeseRigs said:
I don't mind Stevie J coming across but if he takes the spot of Lennon, I'll be pissed :mad::mad:

This is why I can't see it happening. Almost paying for a list clogger. Not far off Chapman before he went to the bombers. Bartel possibly a better option on the cheap but even he is risky now since he does not go in the middle much and seems to have slowed a little more

He'd be our 2nd leading goal kicker. Averaging over 20 touches too.

he's declining, and quickly

TBH he should just retire at seasons end, he'll embarrass himself if he plays on

Still worth it even if he only plays 10 games at worst could be great depth for the side. We get injuries would you rather Gordon in our side or Steve Johnson?

Gordon wont be asking for $400k+

are we Norf?

We are not a retirement home for bogans the wrong side of 30

Exactly. Stevie J is done, Paul Chapman done. I would rather take ND Pick 120 on the 1% chance that he may be good than waste a list spot on a pensioner.

PS - Not sure SJ would pass the no Richard Cranium Policy.

Gordon wont be asking for $400k+
Have u even read the article?
Clearly states $200k no where near the amount you are suggesting. $400k no way.
$200k where do we sign?

Whether in happens or not is another story.

Get Stevie J as a coach not player

There was talk we asked him about becoming an assistant coach last year. Could end up playing one year with us before moving into that role.

I think SJ would struggle against quick young backlines like the Doggies and an emerging GWS.

Wouldn't be totally against it but not sure it would work out.

Looks to have dropped off a lot this year.

Has kicked 9 goals and 7 behinds in the past three games whilst averaging 20 touches.
three games, huge sample!!

we talk about development development development, and avoiding the mistakes of the past

we would be buying what he was, not what he will be, and we will be disappointed if we go down this path

thankfully its just media speculation, so I'm more likely to be drafted by us than he is

Have u even read the article?
Clearly states $200k no where near the amount you are suggesting. $400k no way.
$200k where do we sign?

Whether in happens or not is another story.

Yes, and I'm thinking you didn't

it said we COULD get him on $200k, not that we are talking at that level, and definitely not that he is accepting that level

Chappy got a lot more to move on to the Dons, we'd be naive and stupid to think he'd come to us for charity

Its funny that Mark Robinson writes an article about stevie and mention us in the bottom of the article. Its more of a hypothetical i think but the evidence keeps stacking up.....

this HTML class. Value is http://m.heraldsun.c