Were West Coast really a 'state team' in the early 90s?

West Coast a 'state team' in the early 90s?

So true :thumbsdown: ... standard excuse for poor choices, who did your mob pick in preference to James Hird, late 70s wasn't he 1990 wasn't it, & you are whinging/sooking/wrong about Dean Kemp I guess, hidden in the WAFL in 1989, came down from the Goldfields for the 1989 season & picked up after being overlooked in the draft - fair dinkum Seeds, your scouts must have been in a pub somewhere, & turkeys like your good self make excuses for incompetence.

How do you not see that ?

Hird is not a good example, most clubs past him by because of injury concerns.

I've heard this theory before and many people believe it, don't forget the draft was completely different back then, clubs just didn't have the resources they do now, especially with recruiting and scouting. The Eagles also encouraged several players to hold back a year in nominating to be drafted, allowing them to get picked up a year later.

Mind you, I don't think the Eagles didn't do anything wrong, it was all within the rules, they managed to put together a great list that developed together. I had a close mate back then who followed them and I saw a lot of them, used to love watching them play, a great and exciting team to watch when they were at their best.

The draft concessions were extraordinary though. Pre draft selections - what are they? Where's my pre draft selections ? bastards must have died.

Playing list of 35 compared to the 53 the rest of the comp got, yeah the VFL really looked after us didn't they?

Yessssss except the draft rules were certainly handy weren't they? And the one team in the state, with all the sponsors at your beck and call? Hardly makes for an underdog story does it.

Having said that, there were some baffling stuff ups by other clubs in the draft proper, once west coast had had their first go.

Yessssss except the draft rules were certainly handy weren't they? And the one team in the state, with all the sponsors at your beck and call? Hardly makes for an underdog story does it.

Having said that, there were some baffling stuff ups by other clubs in the draft proper, once west coast had had their first go.

The pre-draft selections were limited to WAFL players only. And the first pre-draft came after each VFL club plucked the best WAFL players for themselves. And they still had the right to a WAFL player for every year of the pre-draft before WCE's selections.

So much for 'extraordinary' concessions.

The pre-draft selections were limited to WAFL players only. And the first pre-draft came after each VFL club plucked the best WAFL players for themselves. And they still had the right to a WAFL player for every year of the pre-draft before WCE's selections.

So much for 'extraordinary' concessions.

From memory, a number of WA players opted out of that draft so that they'd still be available for the WCE selections...

On topic though...No, it wasn't a state team...but it was closer to being one than any other club had.

From memory, a number of WA players opted out of that draft so that they'd still be available for the WCE selections...

On topic though...No, it wasn't a state team...but it was closer to being one than any other club had.

With the benefit of hindsight you are correct - your mob didn't get the best from Peter Wilson ....

When you start off 18 picks down, hell thats an advantage ...:rolleyes:
All those sponsors didn't stop WA footy/the Eagles ownership having $trouble big time, not unusual for Vic clubs?

So true :thumbsdown: ... standard excuse for poor choices, who did your mob pick in preference to James Hird, late 70s wasn't he 1990 wasn't it, & you are whinging/sooking/wrong about Dean Kemp I guess, hidden in the WAFL in 1989, came down from the Goldfields for the 1989 season & picked up after being overlooked in the draft - fair dinkum Seeds, your scouts must have been in a pub somewhere, & turkeys like your good self make excuses for incompetence.

How do you not see that ?

Not being a smartaarse - but what was the deal with the Eagles getting McIntosh - an absolute gun - a top notch defender

I might be wrong - because it is along time ago - but was McIntosh drafted with pick 120 or pick 130 - or something close to that

Not being a smartaarse - but what was the deal with the Eagles getting McIntosh - an absolute gun - a top notch defender

I might be wrong - because it is along time ago - but was McIntosh drafted with pick 120 or pick 130 - or something close to that

McIntosh was a F/S selection under the old 'well his dad might've played for WC had they been around' rules.

Father Son rule.

McIntosh was a F/S selection under the old 'well his dad might've played for WC had they been around' rules.

Eagles also drafted his old brother Nathan as well, but Nathan never played a senior game for us.

They remind me a little of the Man U players (Beckman, Giggs, Scholes, Butt, Neville Brothers) who came through the junior ranks together in the early 90's - all from Manchester. Ending up winning the treble 6-7 years later.

David Beckham is not from Manchester.

And last time i checked Ryan Giggs, being Welsh, is certainly not from Manchester.

Father/son ?
Brother playing for Subi ?
Born in Melbourne after St Kilda managed to get his father to play for them. John was runner up in the 71 Brownlow & selected to play for Victoria.

If he was hidden then its another example of incompetence by anyone with a basic knowledge of footy in WA OR someone making excuses.

Who was picked ahead of Ash (at 112) by your mob? Is that too confronting?

There was only a monopoly after the other clubs were allowed to pillage the WAFL first. I'd hardly call that a monopoly when you're left to pick from the dregs.
Except they were the only club in WA and benefited with recruiting from WA and also from being in a position to persuade some Vic based WA players to return home. Of course it's a monopoly. Being the only WA club is definitively a monopoly. That doesn't mean they got every WA player of course and nor was it a criticism of WCE.

Father/son ?
Brother playing for Subi ?
Born in Melbourne after St Kilda managed to get his father to play for them. John was runner up in the 71 Brownlow & selected to play for Victoria.

If he was hidden then its another example of incompetence by anyone with a basic knowledge of footy in WA OR someone making excuses.

Who was picked ahead of Ash (at 112) by your mob? Is that too confronting?

As the other Eagles supporters have posted - he was a father /son pick - the other clubs couldnt pick him - thats why the Eagles used one of their last picks (112) to select him - the Eagles are hardly going to use pick 3 on him !!!

As Jack Dyer said - when Fremantle came into the competition - quote " Whatever success Fremantle get - they will thoroughly deserve - because they have been set up a million miles behind West Coast "

As the other Eagles supporters have posted - he was a father /son pick - the other clubs couldnt pick him - thats why the Eagles used one of their last picks (112) to select him - the Eagles are hardly going to use pick 3 on him !!!

As Jack Dyer said - when Fremantle came into the competition - quote " Whatever success Fremantle get - they will thoroughly deserve - because they have been set up a million miles behind West Coast "

Bitter Richmond tears by Jack. He was just jealous of the Eagles success.

Freo didn't do themselves any favours with their recruiting/drafting when the entered the league, their early years could have been very very different if hadn't made some terrible mistakes.

Shows how much of a senile old coot he was towards the end.

Crows maybe post 91?

EDIT: I see you've got that one on bookmark ForwardPress :D
State reps from Adelaide
1992 - 7 (Bickley, Maynard, McDermott, Modra, Pittman, Saliba, Smart)
1993 - 10 (Anderson, Bickley, Hart, A.Jarman, McDermott, McGuinness, Modra, Pittman, Robran, Smart)
1994 - 10 (Anderson, Hart, Jameson, A.Jarman, McDermott, Modra, Rehn, Ricciuto, Smart, Tregenza)
1995 - 10 (Bickley, Hart, A.Jarman, McDermott, McKinnon, Pittman, Ricciuto, Smart, Tregenza, Wellman)
1996 - 7 (Bickley, Hart, Liptak, Modra, Ricciuto, Robran, Smart)

So nothing like the heights West Coast reached and it should also be noted that quite a few of the best SA reps weren't playing for the Crows like Kernahan, Carey, Platten, D.Jarman and Wanganeen. The same can't really be said about the Eagles in the early 90s.

State reps from Adelaide
1992 - 7 (Bickley, Maynard, McDermott, Modra, Pittman, Saliba, Smart)
1993 - 10 (Anderson, Bickley, Hart, A.Jarman, McDermott, McGuinness, Modra, Pittman, Robran, Smart)
1994 - 10 (Anderson, Hart, Jameson, A.Jarman, McDermott, Modra, Rehn, Ricciuto, Smart, Tregenza)
1995 - 10 (Bickley, Hart, A.Jarman, McDermott, McKinnon, Pittman, Ricciuto, Smart, Tregenza, Wellman)
1996 - 7 (Bickley, Hart, Liptak, Modra, Ricciuto, Robran, Smart)

So nothing like the heights West Coast reached and it should also be noted that quite a few of the best SA reps weren't playing for the Crows like Kernahan, Carey, Platten, D.Jarman and Wanganeen. The same can't really be said about the Eagles in the early 90s.

Western Australians are more parochial than South Australians

Were West Coast really a 'state team' in the early 90s?