2016 Forwards

I think it's because he's a forward only, if F/M like Greene there would be a lot more interest.

I don't think a team should be picked on multi-position eligibility. Pick a team based on scoring potential, and if the guys you choose are multi-position eligible than that's a bonus. For example, I'd pick Smith as a forward keeper, if he was midfield eligible it would add nothing to my team, as he'll sit in my forward line all season.

For the record, I'm also keeping an eye on Greene. Problem with him is that he generally needs close to/more than 30 touches to ton up, whereas Smith has no issues doing it with low-mid 20 touches.

http://m.afl.com.au/news/2016-01-24...giant-smith-vows-to-rebound-in-2016.mobileapp

Distinct lack of Devon Smith around here. Don't think I've seen him in a team yet, nor have I seen anyone even mention him. Averaged 90 in his 3rd AFL season. Backed it up with an 88 average last year in an inconsistent season marred by a niggling knee injury.

The article I posted suggests he'll find himself more on-ball this season (the absence of Treloar and addition of Steve Johnson into the forward line makes this a very real chance)

I can't see how he won't improve on his 88 average from last season considering he played most of it hampered by niggling injuries. I'll be keeping an eye on his NAB performances.
Shhhh
Stop trying to convince people to pick him. Just make a big call like I did and leave it at that, I want him under 3%

View attachment 219607

No Petracca because I don't think he will play early. I'm really struggling with the forwardline this year. In the past it's been easy with Gray, Parker, Rockliff, Mitchell, Swan. All quality mids to select as forwards. I just don't see the same points going around the forwardline this year. Top 6 could all be between 94-105. That's pretty bleak compared to years gone by.

Where do people see the midfield minutes coming from in this years bunch.

• Deledio
  • Montagna
  • Martin
  • Dalhause
  • Bennell
  • Zorko
  • Barlow
  • Higgins
  • Rioili
  • Mitch Robinson
  • Sam Gray
  • Toby Greene
  • Aaron Hall
  • Ben McGlynn
Those are probably the only bunch of guys I'm looking at for the opening 4 slots. Mid pricers ect could be there as well.

• Daniel Wells
  • Dean Towers
  • Jarryd Lyons
  • Jed Anderson
  • Liam Duggan
To think those are our options this year makes me ill

In terms of averages, I'd say Deledio and Martin are the two locks. Montagna is very likely. Hard to predict out of Barlow (should get midfield minutes though), Bennell etc.

I really think the only "must have" forward to start with is Dustin Martin.

His last 5 years his average has been 98.9, 88.5, 101.8, 99.5 and 105.5. He has played 107/110 H&A games in the last 5 years. I reckon you bank him in to average 100+ and also finish in the top 2-3 for total points scored (whereas Deledio, Montagna, Bennell might average 105+ but might only play 16-18 games)

In terms of averages, I'd say Deledio and Martin are the two locks. Montagna is very likely. Hard to predict out of Barlow (should get midfield minutes though), Bennell etc.
Total points is where it's at. It's all pretty and nice to have the highest average but if you play less games then it becomes irrelevant to a certain extent. Deledio may have averaged 112 last year but that was only in 17 games. He had a total of 1918 points last year. That averages out to 87 per game for 22 rounds. That is well below what you need for a top 6 forward. I'll be looking for a minimum of 20 games out of my starting forwards. At the moment it's Martin, Wingard, Barlow and Hall.

Keep in mind if you have bench cover, they can fill in for Deledio and if scoring at around 60ppg, that place in the team is still giving over 100 ppg average. (101, if the cover averages 60) which still would have him in the top 6 forwards from last year.

Yes, but I highly doubt he will produce the same numbers as he did last year. He would need to average 110 over 17 games again. He doesn't look like he's going to be fit for round 1 again. All of the top 6 (currently still forwards) all scored over 2,000 points last year. Those are the numbers you'd be expecting from the 3 or 4 guys you start with in 2016.

Yeah don't start with him :drunk:

image.jpeg

I really think the only "must have" forward to start with is Dustin Martin.

His last 5 years his average has been 98.9, 88.5, 101.8, 99.5 and 105.5. He has played 107/110 H&A games in the last 5 years. I reckon you bank him in to average 100+ and also finish in the top 2-3 for total points scored (whereas Deledio, Montagna, Bennell might average 105+ but might only play 16-18 games)
Top scoring forward last season overall including the new crop of ex-mid onlys (Montagna, Barlow), it's a no brainer. Deledio for mine is the very interesting one, clearly the best scoring forward when fully fit, has been ultra-durable in past seasons albeit having interrupted pre-seasons for a few years now, still is just a point scoring machine playing as a half high forward. Can't seem to not end up with him in my side despite the $608k price tag.

Hey KardiniaPark whats the go with the Cats ruck stocks?
Smith looked great last night. Fit, mobile etc.
Will he get the #1 spot?

Hey KardiniaPark whats the go with the Cats ruck stocks?
Smith looked great last night. Fit, mobile etc.
Will he get the #1 spot?

Smith is definitely No.1 ruck, but he'll be swapping every now & then with Stanley.

If we didn't have Stanley and it meant Smith took even more ruck time then I'd be interested but just too many people to have a go in the ruck (Stanley helping out, Blicavs going 3rd man up at times, Vardy probably taking the contests in the FWD50).

Yeah don't start with him :drunk:

View attachment 219856

That probably proves PD's point though. 6/8 years of 102-104 scoring, priced at 112. With his limited pre-seasons, last couple of years of Richmond being cautious with his injuries, and his price having dropped consistently every year during the season I can find (only year it wasn't worthwhile waiting for his price to drop was 2012, when he was likely a first forward upgrade), there's a very good argument for not starting with him.

At the moment I have him in, but I don't think not starting with him is worthy of posting emoticon faces

That probably proves PD's point though. 6/8 years of 102-104 scoring, priced at 112. With his limited pre-seasons, last couple of years of Richmond being cautious with his injuries, and his price having dropped consistently every year during the season I can find (only year it wasn't worthwhile waiting for his price to drop was 2012, when he was likely a first forward upgrade), there's a very good argument for not starting with him.

At the moment I have him in, but I don't think not starting with him is worthy of posting emoticon faces
Do what you want bud.

History says Lids is a no brainer IMO.

Top scoring forward last season overall including the new crop of ex-mid onlys (Montagna, Barlow), it's a no brainer. Deledio for mine is the very interesting one, clearly the best scoring forward when fully fit, has been ultra-durable in past seasons albeit having interrupted pre-seasons for a few years now, still is just a point scoring machine playing as a half high forward. Can't seem to not end up with him in my side despite the $608k price tag.

Deledio is definitely the interesting one. Do you risk missing out on 110+'s every week from a forward, or do you wait for him to get into the rhythm of the season around round 7-8+ like the last 2 seasons and have him as an early upgrade target??

Agreed, limited pre-season and what seems to be a persistent achilles issue are good arguments in not paying an initial premium price on him coupled with the fact that he has missed around 4 games per season over the last two years, however his scoring pedigree when playing his current role is almost unmatched for a forward.

An interesting question, if one only had the cash to splurge on one $600k player outside of the mids (and Goldy), would you pick Shaw in the backs or Lids in the forwards? If both were fully fit, it would have to be Lids. As good as Shaw was last season, it is so far an outlier (although the way teams pressurise defenders has changed markedly since the days of Shaw copping hard tags every week), Lids has the runs on the board.

Good argument there 'bud'. Do what you want. Lol ok thanks for the advice.

If you are going to be an arrogant flog, then show me why starting with Deledio is a 'no-brainer'?
No need to get snappy lol.

Ummmmm because he has 8 years straight of 100+ scoring years. What's a premium meant to do?

Smith is definitely No.1 ruck, but he'll be swapping every now & then with Stanley.

If we didn't have Stanley and it meant Smith took even more ruck time then I'd be interested but just too many people to have a go in the ruck (Stanley helping out, Blicavs going 3rd man up at times, Vardy probably taking the contests in the FWD50).
Unsure if we'll have vary Zac and stan in the same team all that much will be interesting how dat pans out.
Loved Lincoln game.

Do what you want bud.

History says Lids is a no brainer IMO.
We don't usually disagree mate, but I'm against you here. I'm not starting with Lids this season.
He missed 5 games last year with a calf strain, and he's having the same issue this preseason.

He'll most probably be the highest averaging forward, but I can see him playing only 15-18 games.

We don't usually disagree mate, but I'm against you here. I'm not starting with Lids this season.
He missed 5 games last year with a calf strain, and he's having the same issue this preseason.

He'll most probably be the highest averaging forward, but I can see him playing only 15-18 games.
Fair enough man.

I'm going with Lids because of history & when he does play I want that scoring output in my team, not against me. If he does get injured, I'll trade him out or bench him.

I have Fyfe & Lids atm if there both fit then both are in my team no doubt.

Unsure if we'll have vary Zac and stan in the same team all that much will be interesting how dat pans out.
Loved Lincoln game.

I absolutely believe both Smith & Stanley will play.

I'm not worried about the talls in midfield & up forward. Think it will be Smith No.1 ruck, Stanley No.2 ruck/3rd FWD, Hawkins FF & Vardy CHF. Blicavs pure midfielder.

I'm more worried about how tall our defence is.

Yeah was great to see Lincoln get around 80 points if he can do that again NAB2 & NAB3 then we'll have to get him as Cats rate him very highly.