Jake Carlisle Updates

Why so negative. If either wants to come to us we have the money in the SC. If neither doesn't we still have Carlisle. I still want Judd over Ball.

To me those two have better recent form and better character and we could have had them as free agents meaning no trading with the Dildo and we could have kept our picks in the draft.

To be fair there is a little bit of hindsight in this view. We didn't know they were going to be suspended and therefore be looking elsewhere with the potential of getting them as DFA's.
Apparently there's still some conjecture as to their ability to walk from their contracts believe it or not.

Hmmm still sceptical about this rumour. A few people I know at the club said that is the first they have heard of it..

I guess we will have an answer shortly of its legit, richo will have to answer it in his press conference today
Carlisle is not overly active on Twitter however IMO has posted enough Saints type tweets to suggest Barrett's story is indeed crap :rolleyes:

(appropriately coloured emoticon :cool:)

Barrett reckons that Jake is taking legal action against someone (inferred us) because we are refusing to pay his contract this year because of the suspension. Also claimed that he hasn't made any kind of meaningful relationship with anyone at the club since he joined.

If there is any truth in it, I think Jake will find that somewhere in the fine print or the legislation StKilda don't have to pay him. In which case his recourse will be to sue his former club.

What is the chances of an athlete suspended for breaching the code of a sport suing for payment?
If a hypothetical player killed someone and went to Jail would we expect that their club payed out their Salary?

So who would you have got with the picks?

But we have Carlisle, those guys may have no interest in coming to us and if they do they still would cost nothing. Its like saying Fyffe is out of contract so lets get him even if he doesn't want to come to us.

If there is any truth in it, I think Jake will find that somewhere in the fine print or the legislation StKilda don't have to pay him. In which case his recourse will be to sue his former club.

What is the chances of an athlete suspended for breaching the code of a sport suing for payment?
If a hypothetical player killed someone and went to Jail would we expect that their club payed out their Salary?

The contract was renegotiated and signed off on by all parties, AFL, AFLPA, Carlisles management otherwise he would not be signed with us. If he's suing anyone for non payment it's going to be immediately handballed to the AFL & AFLPA who will then punish the clubs. Similar story with the Dons wanting out of Essendon, they can sue the club, however those would go to, where applicable the AFL and AFLPA as they were administered and done under AFL rep supervision. The AFL basically giving a free pass to players wanting out of Essendon is the AFL basically saying "we're cool bro, don't hate us".

So arguably Jake got the better deal initially other than Ryder, Melksham and Crameri who also were traded for.

I'm maintaining that we could have pried Talia from the Crows for slightly cheaper considering the whole brotherly conspiracy going on. We may not have gotten a 1st round back, but that was the whole straight for 5 arguments that were bandied around back then.

Thanks ebony. I didn't see Barrett last night and have only read other peoples reporting of his story.

And based on that reporting, I formed the opinion that his comments were crap.

But now that I have had the opportunity to read his direct quotes, it's clear to me that what he is saying is in fact....

...absolute, 100%, stinking, pungent, foul, vile, vomitous, diarrhoea textured, triple manure infused, poopity poo poo!!!

Thanks ebony. I didn't see Barrett last night and have only read other peoples reporting of his story.

And based on that reporting, I formed the opinion that his comments were crap.

But now that I have had the opportunity to read his direct quotes, it's clear to me that what he is saying is in fact....

...absolute, 100%, stinking, pungent, foul, vile, vomitous, diarrhoea textured, triple manure infused, poopity poo poo!!!

It's just sensationalist crapola - I like the whole (he hasn't connected with anyone meaningfully at the Saints comment). That's contrary to what has been reported etc. I'm sure I've seen photos from twitter/instagram of jake with other Saints boys out and about....

Just another example of poor journalism trying to generate headlines when there really isn't much there

If he had said/made clear it was an AFL/Essendon thing and not a St Kilda thing then maybe but no.....this is why I just don't watch the Footy Show and it's immature approach to Footy. I guess if you don't have FOXTEL then you have no choice but since I have FOX Footy I don't have to (thank the lord)!!

I have said before Francis and probably Ryan Clarke or Gresh if still available. Even Matho at our second was a good get. There was actually some fair talent later on even though it was a bit of a crap draft apparently.

It's totally hindsight but I thought the club let us think we would get Jake for a steal but we paid a pretty much fair market value for him in the end. If he'd waited 24 hours to sign he would have been cheaper and cost us a second round pick. So far he's been more trouble than he's worth, he hasn't played a game and is going to be off his best for another year. He is a good player but so far everything he touches turns to shit and the timing is unbelievable. I wish we'd let the Hawks have him now.

I have said before Francis and probably Ryan Clarke or Gresh if still available. Even Matho at our second was a good get. There was actually some fair talent later on even though it was a bit of a crap draft apparently.

It's totally hindsight but I thought the club let us think we would get Jake for a steal but we paid a pretty much fair market value for him in the end. If he'd waited 24 hours to sign he would have been cheaper and cost us a second round pick. So far he's been more trouble than he's worth, he hasn't played a game and is going to be off his best for another year. He is a good player but so far everything he touches turns to shit and the timing is unbelievable. I wish we'd let the Hawks have him now.
I hate ACA, why couldn't they have ran the story one day earlier. They waited for the Saints to sign him, what a bunch of campaigners

We get it, she's gay, let's all move on shall we gents...
Wow Barrels pretending to be a grown up.

Must be the end of the week.

Make sure you never joke with stanley knives on this forum again Captain Sensible

Wow Barrels pretending to be a grown up.

Must be the end of the week.

Make sure you never joke with stanley knives on this forum again Captain Sensible
That's a little different mate... For starters that flognuts is regularly here and able to defend himself.

Feel free to ignore me... I just reckon it's time to let this one go.

That's a little different mate... For starters that flognuts is regularly here and able to defend himself.

Feel free to ignore me... I just reckon it's time to let this one go.
Fair enough. It was a play on words that some got some didnt.
Got nothing against Paige and she does a great job on Phantom drafts.
The joke was ambigious at best and I would not and did not take it any further than rhe first post.
She really shouldnt repeat Purples shit.

"But the facts are Carlisle is yet to establish any meaningful relationship with anyone at that football club." - Damian Barrett

498873720-recruit-jake-carlisle-reacts-with-a-staff-gettyimages.jpg

Jake+Carlisle+St+Kilda+Training+Session+qrpTrDtJGGLl.jpg

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: