Analysis 2016 List Management Discussion

ahahahah no where known am i sooking it up, i thought that was reasonable and realistic... a second rounder which would be pick 29... what do you honestly think tuohy is worth?... but agree we have given some players away for unders recently but that was under previous coaches and list managers
Plenty more than pick #29...

Well, as expected, Morabito has gone.
Now, just how confident are our powerbrokers in their new systems?
They talk the talk......
Very low risk as he is now a DFA but a fit Morabito would bring a very high return.
We are screaming out for mids so why not back ourselves in?
He just got injured again on the weekend. Im not sure what the injury was, if it was minor or not.. but he must have walked under about 30 ladders in his youth. Body is cooked.

Big advocate for taking him as a rookie, but have you seen the guy? His legs are the size of tree trunks. The support muscles must be strong. It seems like he has done everything he can.

Yeah, I nearly ran him over a couple of years back while I was dropping my step son off at the gym.
Let's just say we wouldn't need a Mitchell type with Cripps and Morabito in the middle!
He is a big boy!

My opinion on Simon White is this -

He is a pretty decent bloke and a terrific clubman, unfairly maligned on this board by some, and he deserves to see his contract run out (which i think is the end of next season IIRC) but then we have to say thanks for great service Whiteo, but we need to part ways, bring in more youth for the long term benefit of the footy club.

White clearly won't be part of our next premiership window, but he has been a stalwart part of this club for a while, and deserves to exit (whenever that may be) on good terms of the coaching staff and supporters.

Yes he has limitations, and is probably not best 22 material anymore, but I'd like think he could still contribute next year. I don't feel he deserves to be talked about being delisted/thrown away like a piece of chewing gum (and to be fair, I've been just as thoughtless and unfair to other players on this board in the past)

You can find fault in several areas of White's game, but not his heart and endeavor..

As an extension of this, part of this problem this club has had for years is having players with limited (and I mean that in the most positive way possible) skills and ability like White, but play with plenty of grit, effort and determination, and you have players like Troy Menzel (who are the complete polar opposite)

We need to find more talented, ball winning mid-field types/flankers, but also with the same amount of professionalism, dedication and hard work as your Patrick Cripps ... I'd like to think BOS (Bolton/SOS) feel the same way.

Whitey is the only player we have with a bit of mongrel in him.....
If you watch the games closely then you will see he is always niggling the opponents and first in to support a team mate
You need blokes like this around whilst the kids develop

If you watch the games closely then you will see he is always niggling the opponents and first in to support a team mate

white is a handy player for where we sit. can fill a few roles, is disciplined and tough. no star but will take heat, do a job whilst kids develop. so many ahead of him that need to be delisted first

I reckon every team needs a White, is depth for so many positions, the sort of player that could become a hero in finals when given the call up due to injuries.

Although it would be good if he could get better

I reckon every team needs a White, is depth for so many positions, the sort of player that could become a hero in finals when given the call up due to injuries.

Although it would be good if he could get better

agree. at the moment we have so many players to turn over and there is only so many we can get rid off. white is a good back up player if needed.

Happy to keep players like white, armfield and Rowe for now. Good work ethic, great character and role models but what will show our list is getting stronger with depth/talent is these guys starting to not get a game and then eventually be delisted. We will be on track if that is within the next 2 years.

2E has mongrel in him,often in the face of opposition players.

Jack Steele suffered a serious foot injury at training yesterday..
should put him firmly in our sights now.

Hehe. Marchbank, Pickett, Morabito, Steele and O'Meara. Recovery group looking strong.

Best 22 on paper would see us hypothetical finalists.

Of course the biggest name recruits in the last 10 years were an injured Judd and an injured Thomas.

I bet Geelong are glad that they didn't share that philosophy re Menzel

If there was any way that Morabito had any chance whatsoever of could getting continuity into his football a rebuilding Fremantle would have kept him. Unfortunately, his body is just not cut out for league football. A massive difference between Menzel and Morabito.

Morabito's legs are done. It's not just one part of the structure and finding the right operation that will get him right.

With so many delistings likely this year, hopefully the club will look at some more Matthew Wright types on one-year deals. Not that I would be trading anything of value, but if Geelong delist George Horlin-Smith I think he'd be a good role player at Carlton given his ball use and that he's only 24. Another one in that boat is Luke Russell from Gold Coast, 70 odd games, but never given a proper run at GC and still young. You wouldn't want any more than 3, but it's a relatively low-risk proposition given our list at the moment.

Is it bad that I feel absolutely nothing from Levi resigning?

It's better than feeling negative about it.

The way I see it is if we didn't re-sign Levi we'd have wasted money on another club's underperforming veteran KPF. Better the devil you know than the devil you don't. At least with Levi you know you have a soldier who will play injured for you.