Analysis Our ability to use the pill and stop opposition momentum

amaz199

Apr 5, 2015
We are really bad at these two. And even if we do slow things down or get some cleaner ball to our recipients, sometimes we dispose of the ball so badly (when the pressure returns) we essentially allow the opposition to build momentum again because we temporarily disintegrate back into our shells. Until we respond when we 'can'.

With a relatively young-inexperienced side that doesn't have a Petrie or Harvey to steady the side, we will have a lot of trouble handling opposition assaults. Unless our remaining senior players seriously get their s**t together.

Our skills and composure today were deplorable. So many mistakes made when we could have capitalised. We capitulated instead.

Heartbreaking to see effort just go to waste. We can't afford any more honourable losses. Surely we are playing to win and not lose regardless of expectations from critics/supporters?

This is worse than the big losses we were handed to a long time ago when Brad Scott was coaching in his early days. We are losing knowing we should be winning.

We are not a 0-4 side. We are better than this.

Cunnington is back where he should be after a honeymoon hiatus.......today is the perfect reason why we've been whoring ourselves to player managers trying to finding elite midfielders. Somebody who pipes up and says follow me boys. This isnt a slap in the face to Ziebell ( I just think he should be a part time mid who can fill in spots elsewhere when needed).
Goldstein has shown his mentally weak ability to play with another big man in the team. So for me its a no brainer when he draining the team salary cap as well is to dump him, the club is bigger than the individual......

When we get out to five/six goals the issue is it's not even a grind, you watch other games and you think a five goal lead is heaps, not only do we give it up, the opposition reels us in within half a quarter of footy, it's ridiculous. We lack composure in those instances, we get scared, and our already poor skills miraculously become even worse.

It would be a Dream come true if some day in one of these games we actual go on and win by fifty. This game and the Geelong game should have been a percentage booster for us, make no mistake these were in the bag. Not even the blues would throw these games away.

Yeah it's seems psychological. Other teams probs go into their huddle & say "don't worry boys we may be 5 goals down but we're only playing soft North. They'll fold like a pack of cards" :(

Don't know if l'd call it " soft ". Just beggars belief that it happens time & time again and we have " no " answer.

Leaders needed at this stage.

The coach is responsible for ensuring the team has adequate skills. You can fault players up to a point, but if you keep picking them to play year after year then it is ultimately the fault of the coach.

Skill level is what it is, not going to improve to blokes are moved on.

Other problem we always play one tall to many.
This is also the reason why we have too many talls going up for it. FFS we almost always spoil each other leaving our ground level opponents unattended waiting for the spillage. Dat s**t hurts tbh.

Skill level is what it is, not going to improve to blokes are moved on.

Other problem we always play one tall to many.

Not in general, against the Dogs we are probably two too many.

Until we drop Zeibell no one in the leadership can look at the playing group and say we wont tolerate poor disposal. The young kids look at their captain and think, hell if I want to be captain I have to kick it to the opposition!

This is one of the most disturbing posts on this board.

Mostly cos of the element of truth.

He needs to play like last week next week, JZ still plays some courageous footy and even kicked a captain's goal but another game with this sort of poor disposal and really he should drop himself.

Don't know if l'd call it " soft ". Just beggars belief that it happens time & time again and we have " no " answer.

Leaders needed at this stage.
I don't think we're soft and I am proud of our endeavour but I reckon other clubs would potentially think that and always feel confident against us knowing we will invariably capitulate for some reason. Some dubious umpiring calls tonight helped change the momentum I might add but unfortunately we still managed to choke yet again.

Coaching issue. Game plan issue and culture issue.

We get 30 points in front and go into cruise mode. Ziebell and McMillan are the two main culprits of this. In the third quarter today Ziebell took his foot off the gas and allowed WB to get two of the easiest clearances I've seen while he trialled behind doing bugger all.
McMillan often goes kick chasing when we get in front even though he is meant to be the "leader" and "mr.structures".

It's a coaching issue because scott has continually allowed it to happen across his tenure. It's a game plan issue because we allow such easy swings of momentum and it's a culture issue because guys in our leadership group let it be that way.

We are really bad at these two. And even if we do slow things down or get some cleaner ball to our recipients, sometimes we dispose of the ball so badly (when the pressure returns) we essentially allow the opposition to build momentum again because we temporarily disintegrate back into our shells. Until we respond when we 'can'.

With a relatively young-inexperienced side that doesn't have a Petrie or Harvey to steady the side, we will have a lot of trouble handling opposition assaults. Unless our remaining senior players seriously get their s**t together.

Our skills and composure today were deplorable. So many mistakes made when we could have capitalised. We capitulated instead.

Heartbreaking to see effort just go to waste. We can't afford any more honourable losses. Surely we are playing to win and not lose regardless of expectations from critics/supporters?

This is worse than the big losses we were handed to a long time ago when Brad Scott was coaching in his early days. We are losing knowing we should be winning.

We are not a 0-4 side. We are better than this.
lol bro this has been happening for the better part of 2 decades.
Its a North thing.

I feel like Ive been thrown into a time machine, twice.

You want to drop the captain because of bad disposal??

Ive not seen you post the same under the Swallow years?? And Ziebell has signed a longterm contract.....you're in for a load of pain if you've plucked out our skipper ( who was voted our best last week by the way from the 2 coaches) as the scapegoat.

The coach is responsible for ensuring the team has adequate skills. You can fault players up to a point, but if you keep picking them to play year after year then it is ultimately the fault of the coach.
It gets to a point where on field leadership needs to step in.....I mean there are players there that know the drill. Swallow busted his guts that last qtr as did Cunnington, Jack was swung forward. Unfortunately Dumont needs a sharp learning curve to deal with such conditions, he went missing or dropped off the radar that last qtr. Part of Scott's coaching responsibilty is to spoon feed these players in small spurts at least a year before players like Dumont goes in there on a more permanent scale.
I must admit that Higgins has been "awol" a little in recent times.

This is also the reason why we have too many talls going up for it. FFS we almost always spoil each other leaving our ground level opponents unattended waiting for the spillage. Dat s**t hurts tbh.

Oh man - this is my number 1 gripe as a player and spectator. Players spoiling each other - usually a function of poor communication and not calling each other in.
Perhaps we just have a quiet bunch of guys - hence when the opposition steam train is in top gear there's too many introverts and not enough alphas breathing fire in all parts of the ground getting in some 1%ers to stop the tide

Would love to know if we have a specialist skills coach, who is he and why he is still employed. With the majority of this group the skills have been poor for a handful of years but this year they are complete bottom of the barrel stuff, the missed handballs over no more then a couple meters, simple missed short passes we shoot ourselves in the foot with poor disposal every week.

It's horrid. We had multiple chances last night to bury the game and we turned it over like a bunch of amateurs. That's my biggest worry about this year, the effort has been there at stages and certainly last night it was there. But until we admit there's a problem with our skills then not much is going to get better.

Fox commentators were questioning why we continued to play fast football, in that last qtr.

No plan B.

You want to drop the captain because of bad disposal??

Ive not seen you post the same under the Swallow years?? And Ziebell has signed a long term contract.....you're in for a load of pain if you've plucked out our skipper ( who was voted our best last week by the way from the 2 coaches) as the scapegoat.

Last week Ziebell starred, the week before he had a shocker and yesterday he kicked like a worn out bb gun. He is the captain, the on field disposal (esp kicking) standard is very poor and he is a major culprit. He needs to show leadership and either work hard to improve his disposal or drop himself as an example to the rest of the side. Because right now that is what is needed. If he plays the rest of the year like last week then ok he's showing good leadership, but he can't kick like yesterday. Same with Higgo. They are the leaders now. Its their show.

It was disposal efficiency that cost us that game over 4 quarters. Higgo and especially JZ were major culprits. So was LT for that matter. All three should be providing a better example.

Three posts after that one you said this:

It gets to a point where on field leadership needs to step in.....I mean there are players there that know the drill.

I think that especially applies to onfield disposal. JZ had nearly 10 possies more than Swallow and yet the same number of effective ones.

Tas is right about coaching and skills over the long term, but right here and right now an example needs to be set. He is the captain and his kicking across the game cost us the game in a fixture that was so important. You can't deny his courage or commitment and even that captains goal in the last was great but captaincy is more than courage and commitment. It also involves setting a standard and because we aren't leading the comp part of that standard is individual improvement.