Tom Bugg - In trouble? how many weeks? - now with a poll!

How many weeks?

• Not convicted!

Votes: 15 2.8%

Votes: 4 0.7%

Votes: 9 1.7%

Votes: 62 11.5%

Votes: 136 25.3%

Votes: 240 44.6%
  • 7+

Votes: 68 12.6%

Some over reactions which was to be expected, will get 6 weeks minimum I reckon. Don't honestly think (hope) he meant to punch him in the chin though, he has way too much to lose and very little to gain.

Maybe he should have listened to the AFL banging on and on about players throwing punches being punished heavily.

All the social media crap then this. Melbourne seriously have some issues to sort out.

At least he's not Muslim, the world and social media will go easy on him

If you truly believe this go look at his social media pages.

They won't slag his religion but they'll call him a dog ****er, a ****** and a campaigner. Give it til Tuesday and there will be likely thousands of comments.

I don't defend the comments about Houli's religion but people are just ****ed on social media, they'll find whatever angle they can.

He had no time to react and didn't expect getting smacked in the jaw. That would have to be taken into account when you accuse him of having a "fragile jaw".

You can't ****ing smack someone full force in the jaw in the outside world, you can't do it in football. It's very similar to the Houli one, player gets agitated, heat of the moment takes a swing. This one was more calculated than Houlis though, it was a full on punch, and it should get 5-6

Maybe he should have listened to the AFL banging on and on about players throwing punches being punished heavily.

All the social media crap then this. Melbourne seriously have some issues to sort out.
Bit rich coming from a Hawks supporter, you guys were the kings of this off the ball crap for years

I don't think Goody has a problem with players playing on an edge but I doubt he or any of the players would be advocating this type of stuff

He had no time to react and didn't expect getting smacked in the jaw. That would have to be taken into account when you accuse him of having a "fragile jaw".

You can't ******* smack someone full force in the jaw in the outside world, you can't do it in football. It's very similar to the Houli one, player gets agitated, heat of the moment takes a swing. This one was more calculated than Houlis though, it was a full on punch, and it should get 5-6

Nah us Bigfooty posters can take a punch from Mike Tyson didn't you know

I think 4 is sufficient. No worse than Houli's in my opinion. Where as Houli could have used the cause it wasn't exactly on purpose he hit Lamb a lot harder than Bugg hit Mills
If he gets 4 that would be the max ever handed out because this is as bad as it gets. Completely off the play punches him and knocks him out. 6+ weeks minimum for me

Bit rich coming from a Hawks supporter, you guys were the kings of this off the ball crap for years

I don't think Goody has a problem with players playing on an edge but I doubt he or any of the players would be advocating this type of stuff

If Goodwin was instructing players to whack guys, it'd be the worst tactic to instruct your gun forward and your seasoned experience midfielder to do so! Bugg and Melksham would have done it a long time ago.

Ridiculous comments all-round. Calling Bugg out is justified but it's an incredibly long bow to draw this to a Melbourne issue.

With Houli getting 4 weeks, Bugg would have to get at least 6 weeks you would think.

At least Houli had the excuses he was trying to break a hold and swung his arm backwards without looking, Bugg has no excuses for what he did.

Bit harsh calling it a sook rather that he was peeved off to lose a player IMO. Always thought that there should always be an emergency plus one named and to only be activated for concussion for the first three quarters.
Yes, peeved is a better word and i understand that, but FFS let's hope Gil is kept in check and doesn't come up with a stupid red card system ....IMO in lieu of what just happened with the Houli case perhaps a greater example should be handed down to Bugg? I'm okay with 6 weeks here. I first thought 4 weeks, but having seen it a few times there is no excuses and he should cop 6.

Years? How many in their early 20s were looking at 5 or 6 week suspensions? Or putting crap on social media calling out players from other teams?

Nice deflection BTW.

Oh, and when Hawthorn did it they still focussed on winning.

With Houli getting 4 weeks, Bugg would have to get at least 6 weeks you would think.

At least Houli had the excuses he was trying to break a hold and swung his arm backwards without looking, Bugg has no excuses for what he did.
Said excuses being tenuous at best.

He had a moment of madness and snapped. As did Bugg.

It can happen to anyone.

Years? How many in their early 20s were looking at 5 or 6 week suspensions? Or putting crap on social media calling out players from other teams?

Nice deflection BTW.

Oh, and when Hawthorn did it they still focussed on winning.
Not comparing Bugg to your players, just pointing out that you can't just throw the whole footy club under the bus because of one guys actions. What Bugg did was stupid but just like Hogan and Lewis he will serve his suspension and hopefully put his aggression towards being a better player.

The social media thing was a joke btw, the players are mates and the media took it for more than what it was worth.

7 would do but it is substantially worse than Houli's and should be recognised as such. 6 weeks bare minimum for me to agree with it.