Autopsy 2017 AFL Brownlow Medal - Congratulations, Dustin Martin

The galaxy where you get sad watching montages of recently deceased footballers ??....

Well aren't you a hard campaigner

trre.gif
I think you are some sort of microbe probably of the toadstool variety.

Rock on.

I think the umpires must be able to tune out the 2-3 awful errors Sidey makes each game that we as supporters can't. If you take those out he has a pretty positive impact in most games, plus because he's so fit he's always close to the action.
When Sidebottom slices through and breaks lines he looks like a gun. Watched a little of Collingwood this year and he stands out.

He may well have left school as he struggled with dyslexia for all we know.....
This.

Frankly I am a little repulsed by some of the comments in this thread!
And this.

One of my best mates is dyslexic and he is more "successful" than I am, as is dusty than that shit eater posting crap about dustys reading skills.

The assumption that because you are dyslexic means you are stupid or have a lower iq has long been dispelled anyway hasn't it? Dyslexia has no impact on intelligence.

Certainly not football intelligence if dusty is our example subject.

But the fear of the person with dyslexia being judged as dumb when they have to do any public speaking is very real. As I can attest as I know what my mate goes through and how he avoids certain situations as he knows people will just think he's dumb if he struggles to read simple sentences , or in his life, writing in front of people at work is an issue for the fear of being laughed at for misspelling easy words. He would rather not let anyone know he has dyslexia as it has a stigma attached to it as has been exposed here.

Funny that someone winning with the highest Brownlow medal count ever has somehow turned in to an iq test based on his speech.

Some people don't like seeing people from lower socio economic backgrounds succeed , to them dusty represents the guy that got the girl in school, the guy that got invited to all the parties while they at the guys that sat at home saying "why don't girls like me, I'm a nice guy" , the guy that was told "you're not a loser, they have peaked in high school, wait until you are older and it will change" , the guys that had no friends and are socially awkward and are envious of those with talent, the type of guys that vote for trump.

I don't think anything about the whole thing is very satisfying to Jobe. But whatever floats your boat.

Yep. I think the whole thing was hard on they guy. Unlike some others, I take no satisfaction from the entire business. Jobe Watson carried the whole thing with class, as far as I'm concerned. Respect.

I found Dustys speech and subsequent winning press conference new, nouvelle.

We as a society are almost programmed to accept robotic speeches punctuated with the odd yeah nah. Or those who love the limelight and seek it to promote their own brand during and post footy.

Here now is a man who is only about footy, understands the landscape yet is painfully shy around people and avoids the media. His speech was heartfelt I felt.

It was refreshing

6bba2440eee164e2c7324cc7218194d7--the-other-guys-fresh-start.jpg

Salty much Chism?

Not the first time players have missed votes altogether when we all thought 3 was a lock...................

Him missing the 3 makes up for some of the other games where he definitely got an extra few votes when there was others who were better. E.g. Harry Taylor 4 goals vs Richmond. Danger got the 3. I'd suggest Taylor was the best given the final margin, him beating rance one on one to kick important goals etc.

Oh dear Chism
Why would you tilt so bad?

The Brownlow is an umpires award. It's not like Martin hasn't won any other award this year and Dangerfool has. Wait. Martin has beaten Dangerfool in every award this year!!!

Personally I couldn't give a shit if Dusty, or any other champion player, couldn't even speak a word of English and just smiled and nodded when up on stage. Since when is good public speaking a pre-requisit to being a top player. What they do out on the field is what counts, the very thing that brings us all joy and the reason why we love this game. To pot a sports star for being a poor public speaker with this level of vitriol is akin to hammering Kevin Rudd in the same way about his fast bowling skills. In essence it's nothing more than scraping the bottom of the barrel for a reason to hate. Tall poppy syndrome in all its glory.

A player like Dusty makes the game better. He should be praised for it independent of how good or bad his public speaking is. Those spewing this moronic bullshit about it need to have a good hard look at themselves.

Congratulations to Dustin Martin undoubtedly a worthy winner BUT his personality on TV was on a par with Andy Murray (tennis) just about void of it.

funny how Jobe's career best season coincided with him being on PEDs and then he swiftly returned to mediocrity as soon as he got off the juice. Clearly the real dog is the drug cheat that robbed Mitchell and Cotchin of their rightful glory.

...............Yeah, nah. Welcome to January 2017. Please try to keep up in future and check your sources instead of what you 'believe.'

The world's round by the way.

That was a seriously good interview with Bruce, and highlighted why he is the best in the business when it comes to commentary/interviews. Taking to a bloke who clearly doesn't like the limelight and is nervous about opening up, he did so well to change the tack of the interview, ask more leading questions and coax the answers out of Dusty by making him feel comfortable.

It's the biggest challenge I face as a school teacher, helping super shy kids get to a point where they feel they can talk in front of a class, so I'm well appreciative of how hard this must have been on the spot, where everyone was wanting answers. You only had to juxtapose that to the presser a little later on to see how different it was.

I'm no Richmond fan, but I love Dusty for that interview. I wish him all the success on Saturday - it's refreshing to see someone who simply lives and breathes football, and has come from a pretty hard position in his younger days to grow up to be a man and a role model

Geez of all clubs, Essendon. Wow.
Also the above is complete BS, but don't let facts get in the way of your story idiot.
essendon fans believe this bullshit, like the line that their club was innocent and its all somoene elses fault.

dusty incident was investigated by the police, found out there was no case to answer. the reporter who was found to have lied was sacked. end of story

essendon got caught cheating, faced the consequences
end of story

Why have all the posts from chism gone missing?

I don't expect a lot from this site but I do expect mods to have a bit of class and not act like ****wits.

If the roles were reversed and it was a Richmond mod i'd want them carded.

Funny that someone winning with the highest Brownlow medal count ever has somehow turned in to an iq test based on his speech.

Some people don't like seeing people from lower socio economic backgrounds succeed , to them dusty represents the guy that got the girl in school, the guy that got invited to all the parties while they at the guys that sat at home saying "why don't girls like me, I'm a nice guy" , the guy that was told "you're not a loser, they have peaked in high school, wait until you are older and it will change" , the guys that had no friends and are socially awkward and are envious of those with talent, the type of guys that vote for trump.

We suffer from tall poppy syndrome badly

Autopsy 2017 AFL Brownlow Medal - Congratulations, Dustin Martin