Autopsy Hawks: 30 minutes not enough for 4 points...

Roughead seems to struggle to jump now and is more the half forward Franklin type of a few years back.

It is games that the bottom 6 are exposed because they are forced to show their wares one on one.
Morrison looked slow and has no left foot.
Mirra trying to mark the ball that was clearly Frawley's was so shambolic.
ToB - no presence whatsoever.

And for those saying that Cyril & Poppy's injuries don't help.
Would they have out marked Tarrant? He had 16 marks today!!!
Interesting fact with Tarrant was that in the 3rd qtr when under pressure his decision making was very poor.

Agree but what do we do . We have no tall marking option and our only half decent key position player is sicily. We need a clone of him is our best marking option but to important down back.

I thought Frawley killed Brown after you stopped letting us waltz the ball into our forward line. Reckon Chip beat him in 90% of the aerial contests after 1/4 time which no other defender has done in about two years now.
AND there you have it a Neutral supporter saying it. Brand wasn't the difference today we got slaughtered in the middle in the first half

I said pre game Mirra will be a 100 game player for us....I take that back....Duryea Mirra Obrien and Howe ...time to give orourke and Mitchell lewis a run and drop a few of them

Got a seat high on the wing, unfortunately had a great view of the first half!

A couple of points:

1. They couldn’t miss early. Yes, they missed a few, but they kicked a few from out of their a’s. And they regularly had the ball bounce their way, several kicks went over the forward pack into a North players arms; how the hell does that happen?

2. Hardwick was lost in the forward line, was great back in his natural position. Missing two of the best small forwards ever, Clarko had to try some replacements out. Shows how difficult it is to replace them at such short notice. Not sure who will do it next week, hoping Burgers can do the job.

3. Loved the fight back. The Hawthorn crowd came to life and the support was fantastic. I love the fact that Hawthorn teams fight out a game, Clarko’s teams never give up.

Forget that game, I’m in Tassie next week for the game.

Looking foward to the highly alcoholic beverages at O’Keeffe’s and the Pinot at Joseph Chromy!

Go Hawks!

Looks like the local butchers shop on here tonight, well mine anyway never offers any prime cuts on special just the usual scapegoats.
Yawn.:rolleyes:

AND there you have it a Neutral supporter saying it. Brand wasn't the difference today we got slaughtered in the middle in the first half
The clearances were an absolute bloodbath in the first quarter. Shows in the total clearances stats and the amount of scoring shots that you let us get it in too easily and we did you in close. You still need another good clearance mid imo. It's not the Sewell and S. Mitchell days anymore, those two were unstoppable.

North were outstanding in the first half today and had us pooping our pants every time we touched it as there pressure around the ball was very intense.

Frawley is a major worry as he fumbles, drops chest marks, takes far too long to kick the ball. I am starting to think Brand might be the way to go.

Docs game awareness is terrible. What on earth was he doing grabbing that ball off Cousins who was 40 out directly in front?

Bad day. We didn’t show up. Perhaps the soft kill last week didn’t help us.

I said pre game Mirra will be a 100 game player for us....I take that back....Duryea Mirra Obrien and Howe ...time to give orourke and Mitchell lewis a run and drop a few of them
This just tells us you make knee-jerk posts.

Did u watch any games in the 2nd half of last season ?

Mythical jack gunston,james sicily,ryan burton.burgoyne.

Fast forward this year. Gunston in the forward line, burton in a form slump.burgoyne injured. Birchall has been injured the whole time so not counting him.
We have added stratts down back who is a fantastic defender but not great buy foot.
So the only player with any type of confidence buy foot is sicily. Frawley, stratts, mirra,brand, can't hit targets and do not provide enough run & carry on a regular basis.
Stratts n brand for mine can't play 3 in 1 team.

That's why I had Burgoyne returning as one of my ins. And yes I know Schoe and TOB are much the same but perhaps feeling that there are consequences to poor play may help; and Mirras 2nd game was not inspiring to say the least.

I thought Frawley killed Brown after you stopped letting us waltz the ball into our forward line. Reckon Chip beat him in 90% of the aerial contests after 1/4 time which no other defender has done in about two years now.

Frawley was very good. He wasn't on Brown the whole first half either. No one could stop Brown in the first half, he is so quick and jumps so high.

Morrison was close to our best player in the first half. Needs to stay in.

Seemed to me that they were simply too strong. We have a lot of very lightly built youngsters at the moment. That's what a re-build looks like ....

Their pressure in the first half was as good as the Tigers.

The problem was that we had no tempo control from the back half. No easy kicks or marks to relieve the pressure. We didn't seem to set up for them... just the long bomb.

First half was dismal. Similar to how we started against Melbourne. Outworked everywhere, fumbling, sloppy. They wanted it more and were a lot tougher than us. Very un-Hawthorn-like. They deserved to be further in front, it was really hopeless. North were good, not overly different to how they've been all year, we just struggled to cope with their ferocity in the contest. I reckon Clarko would have been furious at half time with our endeavour.

With how even the competition is, if we dish that up we'll be beaten by anyone.

We lifted a bit in the second half as we were always going to, but never really looked like it even though they were down two men. Higgins concussion killed a bit of our momentum and Burton will probably get rubbed out for it even though it was accidental.

Sicily, Breust, Impey and Duryea are the only ones who play well. We aren't going to win too many games with that. Felt like we were soundly beaten all over the ground. Hardwick forward in the absence of Cyril & Poppy didn't work unfortunately.

Need to be a lot tougher against the Saints next week or they'll do exact the same to us.

We're badly lacking a quality key defender, in need of a genuine key forward and could do with another ball winning mid.

Three weeks in a row now we've started poorly (really poorly). Hopefully it's just complacency and can be easily addressed.

Nope...3 from 4 I've been saying for a few weeks now namely Duryea Obrien Howe, even after belting demons by 11 goals and Obriens good game last week...i've added Mirra only today.....
So after 1 game Mira was a 100 gamer in waiting, and after his second he's no good.

But they weren't knee-jerk posts.

That's why I had Burgoyne returning as one of my ins. And yes I know Schoe and TOB are much the same but perhaps feeling that there are consequences to poor play may help; and Mirras 2nd game was not inspiring to say the least.

Schoey is way more important for structure, he genuinely straightens us up and forces a defender to be accountable. TOB does nothing

Nope...3 from 4 I've been saying for a few weeks now namely Duryea Obrien Howe, even after belting demons by 11 goals and Obriens good game last week...i've added Mirra only today.....

AGree with everything mate other than Duryea. He is so frustrating sometimes in the sense that it’s like it takes him forever to make a decision to dispose of the ball but he puts his body on the line, isn’t afraid of contact and when he does dispose of the ball I generally think his disposal is OK.
O brien and Mirra simply not AFL Standard.
Howe has potential but jeez so slow and clumsy. Not sure I’ve ever seen a player as slow or clumsy as him.

Here we go....trail by media on Mitchell

Brownlow in doubt? Mitchell to cop scrutiny for elbow on Goldstein - The Age https://apple.news/AqjosKsFARECmTwOKX_KsHg

I’m pretty sure goldy was asked about it after the game and his response was something along the lines of “felt like a fly on my face” so don’t think Mitchell has anything to worry about..

Autopsy Hawks: 30 minutes not enough for 4 points...