Mega Thread Port Forum 'General AFL Talk' Thread Part 7

• Thread starter Thread starter philreich

OK Xavier, rule change imminent. Something along the lines of - "striking is prohibited unless you suspect that your little brother may have been hit illegaly, in which case you can do whatever you like".

Honestly, is there anything the football media won't do to defend the reputation of this diving, ducking, sniping, smug, overrated piece of shit?

The Match Review guidelines are actually well written and easy to interpret, however what we are seeing is the Match Review Officer, Michael Christian, grading incidents to suit the AFL agenda. Previously there were 3 people sitting on the Match Review Panel, but the AFL changed this to a 1 person ‘panel’ for this season, and I can only assume that makes it easier for the AFL to manipulate the outcomes it wants.

This week

• We have seen Tom Mitchell escape being cited for an intentional strike – instead classified as misconduct so the penalty is only a fine! This spares the Brownlow medal fancy from a suspension, when an appropriate grading of intentional conduct, high contact, low impact would constitute a one week ban.
  • We have seen Ryan Burton bump Higgins and a head-clash has knocked him out and sent him to hospital – this incident has been cleared despite the guidelines specifically highlighting the fact that incidental head contact is reasonably foreseeable when you elect to bump – Christian has at best been exceptionally negligent in ignoring the policy that guides his decisions and letting Burton walk.
  • We have Lindsay Thomas’ bump being graded as severe impact – despite the fact the guy he bumped got up and walked off the field unassisted – the severe impact grading was the only way the incident could be referred to the tribunal – a correct grading of high impact would have resulted in a 2 week ban – clearly not long enough for the AFL when they want to make an example of him.
The league is corrupt and contrived, and I have absolutely no doubt about that whatsoever.

Surely we'll argue that Thomas bump wasn't severe if Mitchells wasn't and he stayed a night in hospital?

We will take the AFL QC to the cleaners, as we did with the Gray case, but we know that wont matter to the tribunal. 5 weeks looming.

The Match Review guidelines are actually well written and easy to interpret, however what we are seeing is the Match Review Officer, Michael Christian, grading incidents to suit the AFL agenda. Previously there were 3 people sitting on the Match Review Panel, but the AFL changed this to a 1 person ‘panel’ for this season, and I can only assume that makes it easier for the AFL to manipulate the outcomes it wants.

This week

• We have seen Tom Mitchell escape being cited for an intentional strike – instead classified as misconduct so the penalty is only a fine! This spares the Brownlow medal fancy from a suspension, when an appropriate grading of intentional conduct, high contact, low impact would constitute a one week ban.
  • We have seen Ryan Burton bump Higgins and a head-clash has knocked him out and sent him to hospital – this incident has been cleared despite the guidelines specifically highlighting the fact that incidental head contact is reasonably foreseeable when you elect to bump – Christian has at best been exceptionally negligent in ignoring the policy that guides his decisions and letting Burton walk.
  • We have Lindsay Thomas’ bump being graded as severe impact – despite the fact the guy he bumped got up and walked off the field unassisted – the severe impact grading was the only way the incident could be referred to the tribunal – a correct grading of high impact would have resulted in a 2 week ban – clearly not long enough for the AFL when they want to make an example of him.
The league is corrupt and contrived, and I have absolutely no doubt about that whatsoever.

Great to see Chook Lotto back. Knew it was only a matter of time before we got to see inconsistency, biases and stupid decisions back.

Steve Hocking today, before the Tribunal Hearing:

"In the Lindsay Thomas case, he chooses to make contact with the head".

He is a ****ing disgrace.

AFL to PAFC : "SPP will sign this false statement to become the AFL's whipping boy or we will use our match tribunal to punish you"

Chris Scott - "I need to be a little bit careful, but I'll leave it to the QC and those who understand the rules better than I do to work through it, but I think as a football person you look at it - and independent of the fact his brother has just been knocked out - you think, is that worth a week?"

You can tell the fix is in as soon as a Victorian coach is allowed to comment on the hit. And who in this world believes that he is not trying to say Selwood should be let off because it was his brother who was hit?

We are going to be smashed to pieces by every arm of the AFL for a long,long time to come just because we have refused to take their grandstanding over the SPP incident.

God watch over us this weekend as the Hobart 38-15 (??) will seem reasonable by comparison.

The AFL is an immature, highly unskilled environment where nepotism, mates rates etc are all the go.

I still applaud the Club for taking the stance and doing the absolute right thing by SPP given the complete lack of evidence but boy, we are going to pay for it.

Steve Hocking today, before the Tribunal Hearing:

"In the Lindsay Thomas case, he chooses to make contact with the head".

He is a ******* disgrace.
What do you expect from someone who was Footy Ops manager at Geelong for 5 years before he got this job 7 or 8 months ago.

I'm not in love with the game anymore. I love Port, I always will, but the AFL is disgracefully run. I rarely watch other games anymore, I just don't enjoy it. The umpiring is terrible, the rules are applied in an ever-changing manner, and decisions that are made off-field are so blatantly wrong. The past 3 weeks have confirmed it for me...

I'm angry. I love Port. I love football. I hate the AFL.

We are going to be smashed to pieces by every arm of the AFL for a long,long time to come just because we have refused to take their grandstanding over the SPP incident.

God watch over us this weekend as the Hobart 38-15 (??) will seem reasonable by comparison.

The AFL is an immature, highly unskilled environment where nepotism, mates rates etc are all the go.

I still applaud the Club for taking the stance and doing the absolute right thing by SPP given the complete lack of evidence but boy, we are going to pay for it.

I was just about to write similar. You can, already see the writing on the wall. Taking on ch7 and the AFL we will be punished in fixture, live FTA games, umpiring, tribunal, media... Pretty much everything.

I can't even see a good outcome from any of it. Boycott football? Well you punish the club. Support the club... You then support the AFL.

It's all farkd

I'm not in love with the game anymore. I love Port, I always will, but the AFL is disgracefully run. I rarely watch other games anymore, I just don't enjoy it. The umpiring is terrible, the rules are applied in an ever-changing manner, and decisions that are made off-field are so blatantly wrong. The past 3 weeks have confirmed it for me...

This is me.

The AFL want to be seen as politically correct and holding the high moral ground.
What about bullying?
They support bullying in all its forms.
They are the biggest bully of all.

What do you expect from someone who was Footy Ops manager at Geelong for 5 years before he got this job 7 or 8 months ago.

Not only has Steve Hocking compromised the tribunal process by suggesting that "In the Lindsay Thomas case, he chooses to make contact with the head”, this statement contradicts the MRO grading conduct as careless not intentional!

Heads need to roll in AFL HQ, not only are they cheats, but they can’t even collaborate their own agendas.

I'm exactly the same. I said this to a mate just last weekend while watching the EPL. I love the club. But just don't watch any games at all apart from Port games cos they bore me. I can't enjoy all the so called media experts who are all dumb as dog shit. I can't enjoy a game anymore. It's boring. Kick, try mark, run with ball, kick, try mark, run with ball. Score goal to wake up the crowd then start again. And the umpiring is atrocious.all the good parts of the game have been umpired out.

Great to see Chook Lotto back. Knew it was only a matter of time before we got to see inconsistency, biases and stupid decisions back.

A panel of one means a single call to or from Gill as required to determine if there is any particular desired outcome in any particular case. There are words for such structures.

I'm exactly the same. I said this to a mate just last weekend while watching the EPL. I love the club. But just don't watch any games at all apart from Port games cos they bore me. I can't enjoy all the so called media experts who are all dumb as dog shit. I can't enjoy a game anymore. It's boring. Kick, try mark, run with ball, kick, try mark, run with ball. Score goal to wake up the crowd then start again. the umpiring is atrocious.
I used to watch at least 3 games a weekend, plus Port, watch the footy shows etc. Now I just watch Port and if I make time, watch the football shows at 30x and only stop them if I see something on Port. These days, anything football seems to increase my stress, rather than relieve it.