Bluemour Discussion Thread IX

Brisbane look likely to leapfrog the Suns next week by beating us. That locks the Suns in at pick 2 and us in at pick 1 and the spoon.

Lynch leaves and they get picks 2 and 3 to go with WCE's 1st rounder, 2 x 2nds and 2 x 3rds.
Yes it sounds about right, plus Brissie play the suns a few rounds later so pick 1 and 2 looks to be done and dusted for sure unless we perform a miracle at the Gabba. Sos will certainly know who to deal with if he does want to trade pick 1 for more picks (if Lynch goes of course) but hopefully he still keeps pick 1 and somehow gets us another top 10 pick...........have a nasty feeling that the haws are going to snaffle Lynch and become a contender again...........bloody destination club!!!:mad:

I reckon there's a good chance they will when the other offers come along for them as well.

Coniglio, like Shiel, will be a rfa.
As will Tomlinson and Haynes.
Kelly and Lobbe are out of contract and will get big offers.
Hopper also out of contract.

They will be in BIG strife to keep them all, Shiel may actually best for them to let go considering he'll get a huge offer from us and that will determine the level of compo they get.

Our biggest names to re-sign by end of 2019 will be Cripps, Marchbank and Harry.
Yep will be interesting lets hope we can nab 1 or 2 .

Geeze, says a lot if he’s not even playing in the WAFL. Forget about him then.

Just trying to get his life back I would say Dom … obviously loves footy and tried for a local league outside Perth metro where the spotlight isn't too heavy. Would suggest the special permit was a plea to play in an area not frequented by media bloodhounds.

Well aren't we lucky we aren't trying to get him across today then.

Let's just see how well Norf travel next year. Probably still better than us, but I'd expect us to improve and them to drop which will really close the gap.
You can make all the Norf jokes in the world however the only thing we have over them for Shiel is he was a blues supporter growing up which generally means well, not much...
Norf will never land a ‘big fish’.
They know this, and that’s why they’ve offered Dusty, Kelly and De Goey ridiculous amounts of cash in their desperation.
If they keep on offering then they put themselves in the best position to get someone eventually, I'd be happy to make a bet and I'd be confident that eventually they would land something substantial, they got Higgins and all he's probably the best acquisition out of both our clubs for the last few years, only Doc really compares.

Look.

I don't want to be that guy.

But tall utility whose best attribute is upfield work and field kicking.

Not a standout mark or very physical.

I remember a no.1 like that. Jack Watts

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

Look.

My dream double for this draft would be Smith and Rankine. Dunno how we could get them though. I'm not much for this best player in 9 kazillion years crap ……. B&S

I'll go pick one and 20 (or whatever we can get around here) for gold coasts 2 and 3 any day. I know its unbalanced on points but we just need luka to dominate a few games and raise the hype to fever pitch pre draft. Please luka, do it for us.

You are not sold on him either Rp?

I reckon there's a good chance they will when the other offers come along for them as well.

Coniglio, like Shiel, will be a rfa.
As will Tomlinson and Haynes.
Kelly and Lobbe are out of contract and will get big offers.
Hopper also out of contract

They will be in BIG strife to keep them all, Shiel may actually best for them to let go considering he'll get a huge offer from us and that will determine the level of compo they get.

Our biggest names to re-sign by end of 2019 will be Cripps, Marchbank and Harry.

That has poor list management written all over it.

Look.

And watts will be a 200+ game player who was delt a very hard hand at Melbourne.
If we manage our expectations of what number one is then everyone can stop being so disappointed.
When is number one ever the best player in the draft? Nearly never.
When is number one a good player who will give you 10+ years of service? Often.

And watts will be a 200+ game player who was delt a very hard hand at Melbourne.
If we manage our expectations of what number one is then everyone can stop being so disappointed.
When is number one ever the best player in the draft? Nearly never.
When is number one a good player who will give you 10+ years of service? Often.
So its 5 years of Shiel or 10 of Watts output?

Look I am not a fan of dragging kids.

But Lukosious is overhyped, there will be more reliable options available.

Ben King looks very good.

You are not sold on him either Rp?
Honestly, my footballing despair has meant I haven't followed things as closely as usual. That said, adding the two best mids for the year is comfortably more valuable than (at best) another Charlie curnow or nick riewoldt.

So its 5 years of Shiel or 10 of Watts output?

Look I am not a fan of dragging kids.

But Lukosious is overhyped, there will be more reliable options available.

Ben King looks very good.

Big fan of Sheil but taking him out of the equation, I'd have no issue with splitting number 1 for two first rounders on the two best mids.

:D

war-chest.jpeg

Demis Rousos's necklaces ?

Haven't really weighed into the whole trade for Sheil vs wait and try to get him as a FA.

I see the arguments for both sides.

Getting him now will benifit the development of Dow, LOB, fisher etc.
It will also give Cripps some much needed support.

Obviously the downside would be it looks like we would have to give up pick one (even if we get so,etching back the other way), for someone we could potentially get 12 months later for free. If Lukosius turns out as good as predicted we would never hear the end of it.

Don't think Carlton can knock back quality players if they want to come to us.

I really want to have my cake and eat it too.

If we do end up with pick 1 it means we have only won 1-3 games. If that is not a case for a PP then I don't know what is.

Swallow our bloody pride and apply for it.

If that means we can take Lukosius (or Walsh if we really want to beef up the midfield) and also land Sheil I don't care how it looks or what some of the media might say.

If Gold Coast finish second last they will get picks 2, and 3 for Lynch leaving.

This gives us a plethora of options to make a deal for pick 1

Pick 1 for Brodie and 3 (take Smith or Walsh)
Pick 1 and 2019 first for pick 2 and 3 (take Smith and Walsh)

And so on