Official Team Thread The Sin City Swamprats S25 Official Team Thread - I won.

Welcome I Don't Care, Sarah Smiles and LukerParkerNo1 as the Swampies three recruits for S26. In the past couple of seasons we've added some quality rookies to the team. This season we've added some varying levels of experience to the team.

Ding: IDC, you've had quite the journey. Can you share with the masses your SFA journey and why you feel the Swampies is right for you?

IDC: Well, obviously I started at the Swamprats where I fitted like glove persona wise, but after awhile you do feel like tasting of the forbidden fruit other teams have to offer, so I put myself on the market. I will saqy that Filth nearly swayed me to join him at the Hawks, but it was Wooshy...the temptress...who won my sexual appetite and wooed me over to the Warriors where I spent two fine seasons. The first season I did kinda go AWOL though...and the second season the team kinda went AWOL....so it was a colourful period in my career. Then I went out of the box and joined 'The Good Guys' team of the SFA the Roys, which I will always remember warmly as the 'Perfect Storm' season. I doubt there is a better bloke in the SFA than fitzroybowiedog and I will always be honoured that I won a flag beside him and the venerable Mobbs as well as the rest of a wonderful team. But I was always coming back home to the Swamp. Or the sewers. Or the gutter. Or whatever it is the rest of the SFA calls Sin City..to me it is home

Ding: SS, lets go back to the podcast where you said the Swampies should fold and we had some good natured banter after that. What made you decide to move to the Underground?

SS: Well, it all started when after the podcast swamprats kept tagging me after winning games with the tag #sarahsmilesswampie, after that I walked into your round 16 thread and was really impressed with the banter. When we played the swamprats in the final I had such a good time I really began considering a move. Then I got a PM from a swamprats player saying that I had really helped them and to see that was the straw that broke the camels back (In a good way) After that I talked to LG's from both clubs and the deal was done. Literally the day after it happened I got PM's from nearly all captains asking for me to join various clubs and I even got some LG offers. I checked in the the GF thread and had a ripper of a time. I announced my move to the swampies amid controversy and managed to piss off every Wonder. But bloody hell, I don't regret my comments on that podcast or I wouldn't have been tagged and would have never found out how great this club actually is.

Also how ******* good is this team going to be next year!

Ding: LP, I literally stumbled across you in the wilderness and found out that you were an ex Swampie. What is your SFA back story and what are you looking forward to this time around?

LP: As for my story was a member of the Swampies. Then took a break as I had family things- wedding and a new baby took priority.

I love writing though in a particular way always creating some form of discussion at least

Ding: IDC, you appear to have a healthy relationship with Power Raid. What's the background and will PR need an AVO?

IDC: An avacado? Well, fruit can be quite sexual...but avacados don't come to mind for me, you must have quite an imaginative mind Ding. Bananas and pineapples would be the fruit PR would be contemplating I'd imagine

Ding: SS, you've been on the front foot antagonizing your old team. Are yoou planning something special for that week?

SS: You'll have to wait and see. (Ding thinks this will be a week not to be missed!)

Ding: LP, there are 5 players in next season's side that were there when you played in S20 - Power Raid, Quadzilla, ShaunDuggan, Ant Bear and I Don't Care. Do any ring a bell and can you believe Ant Bear is captain?

LP: The first two I remember and Ant Bear. The others I know the names just can’t remember them a lot. My memory isn’t the best haha

Ding: Final question to all. You get to bring a date to the B&F. Who are you bringing?

IDC: Why..Jack Daniels of course

SS: BLERN we're going as Adam and Eve again. Hopefully he doesn't eat his palm leaf this time.

At this point Ding leaves the room but leaves keeps recording (my cameras are everywhere!)

IDC: Surely you remember the goats though? o_O

LP: Oh yes them Lol

SS: Goat *******... that is some book of mormon type shit.

SS: This got strange quickly...

IDC: How so?

LP: Nothing wrong with goats though!

IDC: No...a good goat in the stable is worth three in the bush

LP: True and if a horse that I've backed loses, it's a goat!

IDC: Is that book of mormon too?

LP: Hahaha I love that play lol

SS: Me too!

IDC: Play? What play?

SS: The broadway musical by Trey and Parker

LP: Yeah seen it in the US and here lol

SS: I saw it here, and have multiple bootlegs.

At this point Ding checks in on the recruits. Recognized very quickly the marketing opportunity that presented itself and laid the foundations for his next million....and his PA.

The-three-goat-thieves-arrested-in-Bayelsa.jpg
BOOO HISSSSS ,

Hey SarahSmiles what are you still doing up.

Heckle heckle.

Welcome I Don't Care, Sarah Smiles and LukerParkerNo1 as the Swampies three recruits for S26. In the past couple of seasons we've added some quality rookies to the team. This season we've added some varying levels of experience to the team.

Ding: IDC, you've had quite the journey. Can you share with the masses your SFA journey and why you feel the Swampies is right for you?

IDC: Well, obviously I started at the Swamprats where I fitted like glove persona wise, but after awhile you do feel like tasting of the forbidden fruit other teams have to offer, so I put myself on the market. I will saqy that Filth nearly swayed me to join him at the Hawks, but it was Wooshy...the temptress...who won my sexual appetite and wooed me over to the Warriors where I spent two fine seasons. The first season I did kinda go AWOL though...and the second season the team kinda went AWOL....so it was a colourful period in my career. Then I went out of the box and joined 'The Good Guys' team of the SFA the Roys, which I will always remember warmly as the 'Perfect Storm' season. I doubt there is a better bloke in the SFA than fitzroybowiedog and I will always be honoured that I won a flag beside him and the venerable Mobbs as well as the rest of a wonderful team. But I was always coming back home to the Swamp. Or the sewers. Or the gutter. Or whatever it is the rest of the SFA calls Sin City..to me it is home

Ding: SS, lets go back to the podcast where you said the Swampies should fold and we had some good natured banter after that. What made you decide to move to the Underground?

SS: Well, it all started when after the podcast swamprats kept tagging me after winning games with the tag #sarahsmilesswampie, after that I walked into your round 16 thread and was really impressed with the banter. When we played the swamprats in the final I had such a good time I really began considering a move. Then I got a PM from a swamprats player saying that I had really helped them and to see that was the straw that broke the camels back (In a good way) After that I talked to LG's from both clubs and the deal was done. Literally the day after it happened I got PM's from nearly all captains asking for me to join various clubs and I even got some LG offers. I checked in the the GF thread and had a ripper of a time. I announced my move to the swampies amid controversy and managed to piss off every Wonder. But bloody hell, I don't regret my comments on that podcast or I wouldn't have been tagged and would have never found out how great this club actually is.

Also how ******* good is this team going to be next year!

Ding: LP, I literally stumbled across you in the wilderness and found out that you were an ex Swampie. What is your SFA back story and what are you looking forward to this time around?

LP: As for my story was a member of the Swampies. Then took a break as I had family things- wedding and a new baby took priority.

I love writing though in a particular way always creating some form of discussion at least

Ding: IDC, you appear to have a healthy relationship with Power Raid. What's the background and will PR need an AVO?

IDC: An avacado? Well, fruit can be quite sexual...but avacados don't come to mind for me, you must have quite an imaginative mind Ding. Bananas and pineapples would be the fruit PR would be contemplating I'd imagine

Ding: SS, you've been on the front foot antagonizing your old team. Are yoou planning something special for that week?

SS: You'll have to wait and see. (Ding thinks this will be a week not to be missed!)

Ding: LP, there are 5 players in next season's side that were there when you played in S20 - Power Raid, Quadzilla, ShaunDuggan, Ant Bear and I Don't Care. Do any ring a bell and can you believe Ant Bear is captain?

LP: The first two I remember and Ant Bear. The others I know the names just can’t remember them a lot. My memory isn’t the best haha

Ding: Final question to all. You get to bring a date to the B&F. Who are you bringing?

IDC: Why..Jack Daniels of course

SS: BLERN we're going as Adam and Eve again. Hopefully he doesn't eat his palm leaf this time.

At this point Ding leaves the room but leaves keeps recording (my cameras are everywhere!)

IDC: Surely you remember the goats though? o_O

LP: Oh yes them Lol

SS: Goat *******... that is some book of mormon type shit.

SS: This got strange quickly...

IDC: How so?

LP: Nothing wrong with goats though!

IDC: No...a good goat in the stable is worth three in the bush

LP: True and if a horse that I've backed loses, it's a goat!

IDC: Is that book of mormon too?

LP: Hahaha I love that play lol

SS: Me too!

IDC: Play? What play?

SS: The broadway musical by Trey and Parker

LP: Yeah seen it in the US and here lol

SS: I saw it here, and have multiple bootlegs.

At this point Ding checks in on the recruits. Recognized very quickly the marketing opportunity that presented itself and laid the foundations for his next million....and his PA.

The-three-goat-thieves-arrested-in-Bayelsa.jpg
I really need to take down my advertisement for my escort services

upload_2018-7-4_21-26-23.png
Written by Ant Bear
We made it! After a season of apprehension and tension, the Second Elimination Final pitted us up against the Fighting Furies, and we started nervously, conceding the first 3 goals before settling, with bergholt booting 3 for the term. A brace of second term goals to Dingster and TradeDraft sparked a 7 goal second term, which put us in the box seat, and despite treading water in the third, the move of Obeanie1 to full-forward paid handsome dividends, as he booted 4 of our 7 goals while restricting the Furies to one, as we romped away with a 58 point hiding, in the process banishing some of the demons of past finals performances. This was our first finals win since the S20 semi-final, and was celebrated long and hard.

ShaunDuggan was clearly best man on ground, with 39 disposals and 3 goals, but a host of others put in their best performance of the season. Ant Bear had 35 touches, TradeDraft had 32, Fizzler 29, philreich 28 and edgie 21, and we were also well served by GotTheGoodes and Firestarter. The goals were shared around, with Obeanie1 Leading us to the win with 4, Dingster scoring 3 before being banished to a back pocket for sobriety purposes, and Bergholt, sataris, Power Raid and TradeDraft all bagging multiples.

The thread was a brilliant week, one of the best of the season. The Furies took delight in arguing internally, and we helped fuel the fires, Ant Bear, philreich, GotTheGoodes and sportsmaniac89 leading the way with over 130 each; rickety and Dingster also reaching the ton, and solid contributions from Firestarter, ShaunDuggan, ant555, Power Raid, sataris and edgie. We had a season high 17 posters for the week, and a total of 972 posts, our second-highest tally for the season. But for the first time in forever, we were out pointed, as the new Furies went ballistic on each other.

upload_2018-7-4_21-27-44.png

View attachment 522369
Written by Ant Bear
We made it! After a season of apprehension and tension, the Second Elimination Final pitted us up against the Fighting Furies, and we started nervously, conceding the first 3 goals before settling, with bergholt booting 3 for the term. A brace of second term goals to Dingster and TradeDraft sparked a 7 goal second term, which put us in the box seat, and despite treading water in the third, the move of Obeanie1 to full-forward paid handsome dividends, as he booted 4 of our 7 goals while restricting the Furies to one, as we romped away with a 58 point hiding, in the process banishing some of the demons of past finals performances. This was our first finals win since the S20 semi-final, and was celebrated long and hard.

ShaunDuggan was clearly best man on ground, with 39 disposals and 3 goals, but a host of others put in their best performance of the season. Ant Bear had 35 touches, TradeDraft had 32, Fizzler 29, philreich 28 and edgie 21, and we were also well served by GotTheGoodes and Firestarter. The goals were shared around, with Obeanie1 Leading us to the win with 4, Dingster scoring 3 before being banished to a back pocket for sobriety purposes, and Bergholt, sataris, Power Raid and TradeDraft all bagging multiples.

The thread was a brilliant week, one of the best of the season. The Furies took delight in arguing internally, and we helped fuel the fires, Ant Bear, philreich, GotTheGoodes and sportsmaniac89 leading the way with over 130 each; rickety and Dingster also reaching the ton, and solid contributions from Firestarter, ShaunDuggan, ant555, Power Raid, sataris and edgie. We had a season high 17 posters for the week, and a total of 972 posts, our second-highest tally for the season. But for the first time in forever, we were out pointed, as the new Furies went ballistic on each other.

That was a really good match thread...

EAD.

upload_2018-7-4_21-36-12.png
Written by Ant Bear
As the euphoria of a finals win settled, we moved on to the next opponent. The West Coast Wonders had finished the H&A season in second, thanks to a controversial quirk of the sim, but after losing to the Roys twice in 2 weeks, we gave them a taste of our S23 straight sets pain. After trailing by 7 points at ¼ time, mainly due to our scattergun approach to goalkicking, we pulled the matchwinning move by shifting Power Raid to full forward. He booted 4 of our 7 goals for the second term as we took control. We then powered away, with edgie and sataris joining the goal gluttony, and sealed the deal with a seven goal final term, as Ant Bear stamped his authority on the game, to record our highest ever finals score enroute to a 33 point win.

Best players were difficult to single out, as most players played a role in the win. This was a win based on attack, though, and Power Raid’s 6 goals were crucial in asserting ascendancy while sataris, edgie and Ant Bear all booted 4. ShaunDuggan won the ruck battle, and our centreline knocked up getting the ball - GotTheGoodes (34 disposals), @Firestarter (28), @ant555 (24) and @philreich (19) all had great games.

We continued to be the most consistent posting side in the league, day-after-day, week-after-week. This thread extended to 72 pages, of which we contributed the nearly 900 posts. Most pleasing was seeing 17 posters, many of whom upped their normal contributions. Ant Bear with 152 and GotTheGoodes on 134 topped the numbers, but centuries were also recorded by sportsmaniac89 and philreich. rickety went close with 97 posts.

upload_2018-7-4_21-37-20.png

I've already taken multiple screenshots. It's not going anywhere mate... Now get back to work!
The work isnt the issue. I just wish i hadnt stated that people can choose what i wear.

Im being treated like a piece of meat

upload_2018-7-4_21-38-54.png
Written by Ant Bear
This was it! Only our second Preliminary Final since the S6 Premiership season, and we were facing our nemeses the East Side Hawks, without suspended joint Fred Medallist BRAB. The rainy conditions didn’t suit us, but they appeared to hinder the Hawks even more as they sprayed the ball everywhere in the first half, while we took our chances to lead by 17 points. The Hawks finally found the big sticks to draw level in the third, but 2 late goals to Cheval gave us momentum, which we took into the final term , before a miggs-inspired fightback saw the Hawks within 5 points after 16 minutes. However, we proved irrepressible, and booted the last 4 goals of the game to salute by 5 goals.

It was good to see the sim leave our team almost exactly as selected throughout; in fact, the only moves were a swap of Firestarter and Obeanie1, and a short blood-rule interchange between Power Raid and TradeDraft. Unfortunately, bergholt did not get a run onfield, but everyone else contributed in an even performance. GotTheGoodes was possibly our best, but ant555, philreich and ShaunDuggan were also terrific. We again had a host of multiple goalscorers, which is becoming our trademark this finals series, with Cheval, Dingster, gaskin, ShaunDuggan and Ant Bear all contributing 2 or more. ONWARDS TO THE GRAND FINAL!!!

A slightly quieter week; the calm before the Grand Final storm, as it turned out, but with the senior Hawks leaving much of the work to the rookies por_please_ya and @YearOfTheRoos, only Ant Bear and GotTheGoodes topped the ton. However, as usual, we had consistent contributions from the usual suspects, with the LG leading the way, and it was a treat to see Cheval get heavily involved again. We still amassed over 600, with 15 participants, so very much a normal week by our standards.

upload_2018-7-4_21-39-55.png

The work isnt the issue. I just wish i hadnt stated that people can choose what i wear.

Im being treated like a piece of meat

tenor.gif

upload_2018-7-4_21-40-52.png
Written by Ant Bear
GRAND. ****ING. FINAL. What had seemed impossible when we sat dead last after 9 rounds, was now within our grasp. Standing in the way were the loveable Roys, and they had experienced an even longer drought than we had. We started like startled rabbits, and had 3 goals on the board before the Roys parked their motorised wheelchairs, but conceded a late goal to only hold the lead by 5 at the first break. The second term was a classic arm-wrestle, with both teams scoring 6 goals and the lead constantly changing, but a last-kick goal from Ant Bear saw us take an 8 point advantage at first call of the bar. However, we squandered our lead, only managing 2 goals for the third while conceding 5, and although we fought back to be only 7 points in arrears after a Cheval goal at the 16 minute mark, the experienced Roys Mobbs, fitzroybowiedog and Mooch slammed our premiership window shut in our faces. Losers by the game-high margin of 26 points. There’s always next season…

ShaunDuggan battled valiantly in the ruck, amassing 30 touches. philreich had 24, and Ant Bear 23 and 2 (but gifted the Deestroy to his opponent), while consistent contributors Firestarter, ant555 and @gotThrGoodes saw plenty of the pill. Quadzilla had his best game of the season with 22 touches, and rickety was a rock at CHB. Unfortunately, our vaunted forward line was well held, with no-one kicking more than 2 goals.

The thread was a thing of beauty – fast-moving, entertaining, prolific and diverse. It was a privilege to encounter league creator Mobbs at his best, and a pleasure to have fitzroybowiedog’s attention all week as well. We more than held our own, though, as GotTheGoodes made a club-record 414 posts, and the likes of Firestarter, Ant Bear, rickety, philreich, sportsmaniac89, ant555 and surprise packet Obeanie1 all racked up career high posting numbers, as we hit 1950 posts, with future Rat SarahSmiles adding another 150-odd. All but one of the 20 Rats to take the field participated, as the buzz of Grand Final week permeated throughout the club like one of @dingster’s farts. It was an amazing performance from both teams, and a fitting finale to the terrific posting season we had.

upload_2018-7-4_21-42-2.png

View attachment 522388
Written by Ant Bear
GRAND. *******. FINAL. What had seemed impossible when we sat dead last after 9 rounds, was now within our grasp. Standing in the way were the loveable Roys, and they had experienced an even longer drought than we had. We started like startled rabbits, and had 3 goals on the board before the Roys parked their motorised wheelchairs, but conceded a late goal to only hold the lead by 5 at the first break. The second term was a classic arm-wrestle, with both teams scoring 6 goals and the lead constantly changing, but a last-kick goal from Ant Bear saw us take an 8 point advantage at first call of the bar. However, we squandered our lead, only managing 2 goals for the third while conceding 5, and although we fought back to be only 7 points in arrears after a Cheval goal at the 16 minute mark, the experienced Roys Mobbs, fitzroybowiedog and Mooch slammed our premiership window shut in our faces. Losers by the game-high margin of 26 points. There’s always next season…

ShaunDuggan battled valiantly in the ruck, amassing 30 touches. philreich had 24, and Ant Bear 23 and 2 (but gifted the Deestroy to his opponent), while consistent contributors Firestarter, ant555 and @gotThrGoodes saw plenty of the pill. Quadzilla had his best game of the season with 22 touches, and rickety was a rock at CHB. Unfortunately, our vaunted forward line was well held, with no-one kicking more than 2 goals.

The thread was a thing of beauty – fast-moving, entertaining, prolific and diverse. It was a privilege to encounter league creator Mobbs at his best, and a pleasure to have fitzroybowiedog’s attention all week as well. We more than held our own, though, as GotTheGoodes made a club-record 414 posts, and the likes of Firestarter, Ant Bear, rickety, philreich, sportsmaniac89, ant555 and surprise packet Obeanie1 all racked up career high posting numbers, as we hit 1950 posts, with future Rat SarahSmiles adding another 150-odd. All but one of the 20 Rats to take the field participated, as the buzz of Grand Final week permeated throughout the club like one of @dingster’s farts. It was an amazing performance from both teams, and a fitting finale to the terrific posting season we had.

This was a good day.

And that concludes the count.

Just a word about the man in whose honour the medal is named. Toots Hibberd was an Alberton Swamprat legend. After debuting in our Premiership Season S6, he went on to lead the club in S9, before his unfortunate passing led to the club going into mothballs for 7 seasons. Toots played 65 games for 96 goals, and won All-SFA selection in S9.

The top 5, in ascending order, are:

5th, with 150 votes, Fred and Groove Medallist Dingster

4th, on164 votes, drazah Medallist GotTheGoodes

3rd, on 177 votes, SFA HoF’er ant555

2nd, with 209 votes, the crazy_big_al Golden Fister himself, ShaunDuggan

And the Toots Hibberd Medallist, on 243 votes is me!

FINAL LEADERBOARD

upload_2018-7-4_21-43-28.png

This is my third B&F award for the Swamprats, which equals the club record of crazy_big_al, and I think this just goes to show that threats and intimidation can have an effect on the underlings in the Leadership Group. Of course, this award gives me uninhibited use of the liquor cabinet top shelf until next season, as well as first dibs on the topless waitresses for the week…

In all seriousness, thank you for the votes. A B&F is the highest honour that can be achieved at club level, and I am truly chuffed to reach the pinnacle again. It makes all the effort worthwhile.

It was the guy that wanted you to wear the hollandaise sauce and sauted mushrooms wasn't it?
I didnt mind that costume. But they didnt need to put the mushrooms on me straight off the saucepan

And that concludes the count.

Just a word about the man in whose honour the medal is named. Toots Hibberd was an Alberton Swamprat legend. After debuting in our Premiership Season S6, he went on to lead the club in S9, before his unfortunate passing led to the club going into mothballs for 7 seasons. Toots played 65 games for 96 goals, and won All-SFA selection in S9.

The top 5, in ascending order, are:

5th, with 150 votes, Fred and Groove Medallist Dingster

4th, on164 votes, drazah Medallist GotTheGoodes

3rd, on 177 votes, SFA HoF’er ant555

2nd, with 209 votes, the crazy_big_al Golden Fister himself, ShaunDuggan

And the Toots Hibberd Medallist, on 243 votes is me!

FINAL LEADERBOARD

View attachment 522392
1 vote ftw

A final note. Every season, people come, and people go, but tonight brings a (temporary) end to the Swamprat career of one of our favourites. Cheval has played 55 games with us, from the beginning of S23, and is now looking for travel and excitement in Baghdad. I think that I speak for all of us when I tell you, Chev, that we will miss you greatly around the changerooms; we still have those photos, which will be printed as billboard size posters and plastered over the walls, and if you ever want to return, we would welcome you back with open arms.

giphy.gif

giphy.gif