Bluemour Discussion Thread IX

I know a lot of us are feeling desperate right now, but lamenting the loss of Boakhorst and making excuses for the guy blowing his last chance by acting like a child and not a professional footballer is not the way to feel better.

I think we have gone past Boek as a player but the talk of the way SOS has handled him and some other issues i think is what is being disected here.

Delisting a kid and then replacing him with guys who the MC refuse to pick and the rumour about SPS, its still relevant, if true it raises some concerns regarding management and strategy.

I think we have gone past Boek as a player but the talk of the way SOS has handled him and some other issues i think is what is being disected here.

Delisting a kid and then replacing him with guys who the MC refuse to pick and the rumour about SPS, its still relevant, if true it raises some concerns regarding management and strategy.
SPS rumour? I'm losing track here...

I can only go by what the family told me but i have no reason to doubt them as they were telling me this when Blaine got the news he was delisted . They are certainly not liars. Told me a lot of interesting things but it seems anyone from the Malthouse days was doomed as soon as SOS rolled up.

Every person ive known to be sacked never has a good word to say about the employer. Fact!

Its never their own fault though. Always someone else's...

Im not saying what you've been told is incorrect, but the fact is Boek didn't work hard enough, had behavioral issues and was let go. No point saying "its ok for some and not for me..." the guy made his way into the system and didn't want it bad enough.

Im honestly surprised we are discussing him and his families thoughts after the fact. Maybe they should have been telling him to take his chances and work hard. Maybe they did say these things. But he's off the list. No other clubs picked him up so there's no point taking pot shots at sos. He made the right call!

Are you serious? You think taking the red-eye flight from Perth is optimal preparation for pre-season?
For anyone, let alone somebody who doesn't have a contract?

Yes, im serious. Staying up late the night before your first day back at work is not a crime. You or i have no idea what work he put in over his time off and staying up late the night before returning for a few month long training block isn't going to be what tipped him over the edge.

I can only go by what the family told me but i have no reason to doubt them as they were telling me this when Blaine got the news he was delisted . They are certainly not liars. Told me a lot of interesting things but it seems anyone from the Malthouse days was doomed as soon as SOS rolled up.

Cripps, Docherty, Thomas, Jones still there plus guys who played under Mick like Simmo, Ed, Rowe, Levi, Kreuzer.

Maybe it's guys who weren't coming on as they wanted or who weren't learning. The club is doing that to McKay right now and he is a SOS draftee.

From memory Sumner turned upto to pre season training in poor condition and the rest well is history. Not a smart move from a bloke who never looked super in his time within the afl system. Hope is year at St Bedes is going well.

That pretty much sums it up, i was more highlighting that after that, the club was still telling him crap rather than being honest and that it sounds like they string these guys along whilst knowing they won't be picked up.

Boekhorst was dealing with a serious gambling problem (like many of his teammates - more shithouse standards with regard to player welfare from us).

One thing that has become obvious with SOS is that he makes his mind up on players very early, which worries me.

I seriously feel like an absolute gun could slide to a Carlton pick on draft night and SOS will still stick with the guy he had originally earmarked due to “having put the work in”.

SPS, O’Brien - I feel the decision was made no matter what unfolded before it.

He also seems to favour “former first round picks” who have done SFA yet Garlett aside, doesn’t seem overly interested in offering chances to blokes doing well in the VFL/SANFL/WAFL.

The same potentially applies with Gowers/Boekhorst - SOS stamped the papers early and that was that.

Jones is probably the exception but SOS’ hand was forced there more than anything.

Have been a fan of how he’s done things generally but the inflexible approach is perhaps cause for some concern (seriously if this Max King thing is true then that is an absolute joke).

Boekhorst was dealing with a serious gambling problem (like many of his teammates - more shithouse standards with regard to player welfare from us).

One thing that has become obvious with SOS is that he makes his mind up on players very early, which worries me.

I seriously feel like an absolute gun could slide to a Carlton pick on draft night and SOS will still stick with the guy he had originally earmarked due to “having put the work in”.

He also seems to favour “former first round picks” who have done SFA yet Garlett aside, doesn’t seem overly interested in offering chances to blokes doing well in the VFL/SANFL/WAFL.

The same potentially applies with Gowers/Boekhorst - SOS stamped the papers early and that was that.

Jones is probably the exception but SOS’ hand was forced there more than anything.

Have been a fan of how he’s done things generally but the inflexible approach is perhaps cause for some concern (seriously if this Max King thing is true then that is an absolute joke).
Was Gowers let go pre-SOS times?

What you think happens and what happens are different things. SOS has made the right call more often than not.

For God's sake give it a rest.
Gowers was let go coz he didn't work hard enough and he said so himself.
Ask any of the track watchers here and they said the same thing the whole time he was at the club. Read the old training and VFL threads.
And Boekhurst was crap and did nothing in 2 years. 1 chase down tackle and 3 average games before he was gone. That's it for 2 whole years.
Don't make up bullshit mate.
Just be happy for Gowers that he had the sense to pull his finger out and make his career actually last more than 5 minutes (again, he said this himself).
If Boekhurst was so good and hard done by then where is he now?
We were good before. We are shit now. We will be good again.
That's the ups and downs of football.
Get over it.

Ask any of the track watchers here and they said the same thing the whole time he was at the club. Read the old training and VFL threads.
And Boekhurst was crap and did nothing in 2 years. 1 chase down tackle and 3 average games before he was gone. That's it for 2 whole years.
Just be happy for Gowers that he had the sense to pull his finger out and make his career actually last more than 5 minutes (again, he said this himself).
Get over it.
Well said. Some players look past their ego and realise what they have to do to make it. Others go and sook it up and make it everyone else's fault. I'm proud of Gower's for making it.

Heard a rumour Harry is looking elsewhere. Hawthorne and saints sniffing around. Not the same source that told me about Murphy re-signing so i doubt it very much.
Well good luck to him then. I guess he has his 2 goals a game ratio to hang his hat on. Otherwise he doesn't have much else. Forwards take contested marks like Curnow and Casboult.

Get over it.

But that’s the whole issue with our club, it’s culture.

The standards set by the Board, Senior Staff and Senior players would have sorted out players who weren’t working hard enough, say like Gowers, and s myriad of other players that have gone by the wayside over the past few years.

It will seem odd, given how many defenders we have, but even a key position defender would help.

Injuries seem to have finished Silvagni, Rowe is not AFL standard when the ball hits the ground, Jones limited in what role he can play.
I agree with Rowe and ASOS, however Jones is a tough one. I like the way he attacks the footy, however in certain plays he gives his direct oppoenent way too much room.

The standards set by the Board, Senior Staff and Senior players would have sorted out players who weren’t working hard enough, say like Gowers, and s myriad of other players that have gone by the wayside over the past few years.
True, the culture at our club stinks. Let's hope it changes.

How do you change it?

Does success breed culture or does culture breed success?