Draft Watcher Knightmare's 2018 AFL Draft Almanac

Goddard is highly driven but that isn't everything.
Talk to him about the game, next time you get the chance. He is too black & white and not humble enough.

To be fair I am yet to meet a modern day afl player that’s humble.

Giant cranium is high up in the scouting reports if you want a successful player.

You're obviously meeting different players to many of us.
There are heaps of humble players just getting the job done (successfully) in the AFL.

Been to dozens of events with gws players, and the only one with a big head left early and won a premiership with the dogs.
The rest have been likeable genuine young men without exception

I’ve met one, Andrew McGrath

You're obviously meeting different players to many of us.
There are heaps of humble players just getting the job done (successfully) in the AFL.
Nathan Vanberlo was absolutely tops in the time I knew him, albeit brief.

Flynn Appleby. Served me lunch in the North Ballarat Sportsclub Bistro last year. Unbelievable character of a kid. Plenty like him too.

Nah. Could count the the number of players I have met that were dickheads on one hand.

Hi Knightmare

Just a question from left field as you might know the protocol here. The King twins were interviewed today and one of them declared his preference would be to stay in Victoria because his family and friends are there and the other twin declared he would love to play for St Kilda. Now how close to possible draft tampering is it for players to openly declare their preferences and particular in public?. Izak Rankine has long been seen as a flight risk (and I believe he will end up with one of the Adelaide clubs) although has stopped short of making such an open and public statement. I would be interested in your thoughts here because if players are able to be that open in declaring what they prefer, then surely if the AFL do nothing it is then condoned and all players can do it? It just seems like this goes against what the AFL want re the draft

http://www.afl.com.au/video/2018-10-02/combine-wrap-swans-set-for-big-decision

Hi Knightmare

Just a question from left field as you might know the protocol here. The King twins were interviewed today and one of them declared his preference would be to stay in Victoria because his family and friends are there and the other twin declared he would love to play for St Kilda. Now how close to possible draft tampering is it for players to openly declare their preferences and particular in public?. Izak Rankine has long been seen as a flight risk (and I believe he will end up with one of the Adelaide clubs) although has stopped short of making such an open and public statement. I would be interested in your thoughts here because if players are able to be that open in declaring what they prefer, then surely if the AFL do nothing it is then condoned and all players can do it? It just seems like this goes against what the AFL want re the draft

I think context is everything. I think most would like to play footy at home and most would want to play for the team they supported growing up. I read the story on the AFL website and didn't think what they said too outrageous at first glance.

It may be, however if GC hear that and are hell bent on wanting to draft the twins, do they start to think, hang on, these guys are likely to head back to Melbourne at the first chance so we won't take them as it is too big a risk? It's true if they say nothing and then they can still make the move back at the first chance, however it may be enough to say what they did to sway an interstate club from taking them and surely the AFL would come down like a tonne of bricks on that?

Hi Knightmare

My opinion is neither case is draft tampering.

Prospects are in their rights to say 'I'd prefer to stay in Victoria.' It's probably helpful information for the clubs really.

And even if someone says 'I'd love to play for St Kilda.' I'm fine with that also. Clubs ask players if they want to play for their club.

If it was 'I will only play for St Kilda.' That's when I'd have a problem with it - with that being more a manipulation that tries to determine the outcome of where he gets drafted which isn't in the spirit of the draft.

My opinion is neither case is draft tampering.

Prospects are in their rights to say 'I'd prefer to stay in Victoria.' It's probably helpful information for the clubs really.

And even if someone says 'I'd love to play for St Kilda.' I'm fine with that also. Clubs ask players if they want to play for their club.

If it was 'I will only play for St Kilda.' That's when I'd have a problem with it - with that being more a manipulation that tries to determine the outcome of where he gets drafted which isn't in the spirit of the draft.
Thanks for that Knightmare. I can see your point of view and I agree it can be helpful for clubs to know, however it still strikes me as odd that players can actually say that as what if all the top 10 projected players told GC for example they would all prefer to stay in their home state and that they love their club they follow. Does GC then think, hell we won't take these guys as they are going to leave at the first chance? it is a tricky one. Naturally this dilemma is only applicable to the top end of the draft as the further down the order it is likely kids are just grateful to get drafted. Just my thoughts

Since responding to your previous post I've since watching the video/cut to where the King brothers talk.

That's even tamer than I was envisaging.

Max pretty much said he'd love to play for the Saints having supported them, but doesn't really mind. And Ben said he'd love to stay in Victoria, but similar is fine if he isn't. That's just them speaking their mind. They don't really have the media training/savvy.

You'll find pretty similar if you speak to the other prospects. They'd prefer to stay in their home states and/or play for the clubs they supported as kids, but at the same time, the most important thing is to get drafted and they'll be happy just to be on AFL lists. Some will be more upfront/confident in admitting it, others may not but probably feel pretty similar. This won't be all prospects. Some may have no preference at all. But most if they're honest probably do whether it's staying in their home state, playing for the club they support, or from a football fit/opportunity standpoint. The majority will feel like joining one club is better than joining another club.

In Gold Coast's situation having lost a lot of talent and having had continued ongoing trouble retaining talent. You'd probably given those responses want to steer clear, with those responses helpful intel in your decision making process as they could be players who stay for 5-6 years, established themselves and look to return to a Victorian club later (which as KPPs is the worst time for them to leave as you've spent your time developing them only for them to leave when they're good). If it's an interstate team that is more successful with retaining interstate talent, if you see the King's as the best talent there at your pick, you'd take them and back in your program unless something a fair bit stronger than that came through during the interview process.

Since responding to your previous post I've since watching the video/cut to where the King brothers talk.

That's even tamer than I was envisaging.

Max pretty much said he'd love to play for the Saints having supported them, but doesn't really mind. And Ben said he'd love to stay in Victoria, but similar is fine if he isn't. That's just them speaking their mind. They don't really have the media training/savvy.

You'll find pretty similar if you speak to the other prospects. They'd prefer to stay in their home states and/or play for the clubs they supported as kids, but at the same time, the most important thing is to get drafted and they'll be happy just to be on AFL lists. Some will be more upfront/confident in admitting it, others may not but probably feel pretty similar. This won't be all prospects. Some may have no preference at all. But most if they're honest probably do whether it's staying in their home state, playing for the club they support, or from a football fit/opportunity standpoint. The majority will feel like joining one club is better than joining another club.

In Gold Coast's situation having lost a lot of talent and having had continued ongoing trouble retaining talent. You'd probably given those responses want to steer clear, with those responses helpful intel in your decision making process as they could be players who stay for 5-6 years, established themselves and look to return to a Victorian club later (which as KPPs is the worst time for them to leave as you've spent your time developing them only for them to leave when they're good). If it's an interstate team that is more successful with retaining interstate talent, if you see the King's as the best talent there at your pick, you'd take them and back in your program unless something a fair bit stronger than that came through during the interview process.
Once again, thanks for your response

Izak Rankine has long been seen as a flight risk (and I believe he will end up with one of the Adelaide clubs) although has stopped short of making such an open and public statement.

I've been told over and over that Rankine will run back to SA at the first opportunity but he said in an interview today on the AFL website that he's happy to move.

but Rankine says he isn't fazed by moving.

"I don't think it will really matter to me, and it wouldn't affect me too much. I'm happy to move away and I'm happy to take the opportunity to play for an AFL team. I'm happy to move away and play for a club or stay here and play," he said."

This is a rerun of Cam Rayner last year, where multiple people were suggesting that Brisbane avoid him due to flight risk, and so far he's looking like anything but a flight risk.

If I were the Gold Coast brains trust, I'd find a way to turn May and Kolodjashnij into another top 6 pick, and draft Lukosius, Rankine and Rozee. Two best mates, two schoolmates, will hopefully all give each other a reason to stick around. Brisbane have been collecting Vic Country kids who have pre-existing friendships, Gold Coast can adopt the same strategy with South Australians. They already have the colours.

I've been told over and over that Rankine will run back to SA at the first opportunity but he said in an interview today on the AFL website that he's happy to move.

This is a rerun of Cam Rayner last year, where multiple people were suggesting that Brisbane avoid him due to flight risk, and so far he's looking like anything but a flight risk.

If I were the Gold Coast brains trust, I'd find a way to turn May and Kolodjashnij into another top 6 pick, and draft Lukosius, Rankine and Rozee. Two best mates, two schoolmates, will hopefully all give each other a reason to stick around. Brisbane have been collecting Vic Country kids who have pre-existing friendships, Gold Coast can adopt the same strategy with South Australians. They already have the colours.
He is saying all the right things and has a good manager

Izak Rankine is a far different character/personality to Jarrod Berry and Hughey McCluggage mate...I know a fair bit about the two Ballarat lads playing here for the Ballarat Rebels and attending the same school. Chalk and cheese actually.

Gold Coast's list position is the competitions most dire, but also the most interesting in the AFL at the moment.

Losing Lynch (will get pick 3 as compensation), May looking to go (could get Brisbane's pick 4 via Melbourne - to become pick 5 after Lynch compensation). Aaron Hall exploring opportunities and possibly joining North Melbourne (they should probably aim for North's 2019 first round pick). And then on top of all that somehow having salary cap issues due to overpaying so many.

What makes Gold Coast's situation so complex in my view is that it's one thing to have good young talent, but it's another to have the capacity to develop it.

Brisbane made serious inroads this year with Luke Hodge coming on board.

Gold Coast are set to lose their two 2018 captains after losing their 2017 captain. Cutting Barlow and retiring Rosa who also were this season part of that leadership group.

Gold Coast don't have the personnel on their list at the moment to develop young talent. It's an even worse situation than when they drafted D.Swallow/Day/O'Meara/Martin in those early years with none of them nearly reaching that best in draft potential each were believed to possess. As things are standing, if they draft Lukosius/Rankine/Rozee they're drafting Adelaide's Tom Lynch/Allen Christensen/Hayden Crozier. Whereas if those guys are going to a team that maximises the development of their players those guys could be Nick Riewoldt with a better kick/a forward leaning version of McLeod/prime Dale Thomas.

It's a special draft up the pointy end (that better 7/8) but Gold Coast really need to do something. Coax Sam Mitchell, Andrew Swallow, Jobe Watson and Brent Harvey out of retirement, get Brendon Goddard as a delisted free agent, rookie list Alex Johnson. It's going to take a number of those kinds of names and a few young emerging guys who can carry those lessons on long term with is that secondary leadership layer Gold Coast as say a Brisbane have again using them as a quick and easy example with Zorko/Beams and to a lesser extent Andrews and Martin there to lead with Hodge's guidance. Maybe a Touk Miller/David Swallow could be a couple of those guys, but they really need a few more. They'd do well to swing a trade for Moore and Langdon if they're willing to make a move to Gold Coast as two uncontracted players who haven't committed anywhere with that leadership potential who could help drive that, if they have those veterans to help develop them as leaders as per Hodge.

You'd figure those three state league selections would help. I wonder if they can persuade Carlton to trade them the other two.

Goddard and Roughead might be gettable, not sure anyone on Hodge's level is out there and available though.

Roughead is one Gold Coast should want and go after. An excellent call and slipped my mind above.

They need state leaguers of quality who can fill out best 22 positions potentially, but my concern even beyond that just for future list development is less with them filling out their list as much as finding leaders - old, developing and developable. I wouldn't be trading for Carlton's state leaguers, but I would be taking some late/rookie even beyond those three available state leaguers.

Just losing Lynch/May/Hall/Kolojashnij/Barlow/Rosa/Scrimshaw and maybe Martin and Nicholls going. That's a bleak looking side. It only really leaves Lyons/Witts/Miller/Weller/Harbrow/Hanley/D.Swallow as their established players who you'd think would get a game on most teams, and none of them are really stars, with Lyons the only near star on that team.

I feel Gold Coast are wasting list positions entirely with the additions of Horlin-Smith, Ellis, Townsend and Hombsch. There are a solid 40 in my estimations running around the state leagues who are better either now or as long term prospects. Miles they can perhaps put to use given their lack of ball winners, but the only rumoured list addition I like for Gold Coast is Ben Keays who has been underutilised by Brisbane and has the talent as both a mid and forward to be useful long term.

Goddard and Roughead might be gettable, not sure anyone on Hodge's level is out there and available though.
Two pasty blokes from Gippsland, one with two bouts of skin cancer? They’re not going any further north than Criagieburn.

Sunscreen is a thing.

Besides, the further away from the South Pole you get, the better the ozone layer, the more protection against UV radiation.

I don't believe the coach is the number one factor.

I believe that great reason for change actually is Luke Hodge.

This is a great read by Alex Witherden: https://www.playersvoice.com.au/alex-witherden-how-hodgey-changed-club/

It's important to keep in mind that Hodge isn't the only leader at Brisbane. Beams and Martin have also been good veteran leaders who the kids look up to. In a vacuum we lost the Beams trade but I maintain his leadership during the years of garbage were important.

My point is, Brisbane wasn't lifted out of the depths by just one man, and neither will Gold Coast.

Hey I was just wondering if you could give me your opinion on Sam Stuart's weaknesses? I only saw him play once this year and he looks like he could be anything. Seems to have some special attributes in the Rozee mould. I think he might end up being a draft steal on the limited viewing I have seen.

Roughead is one Gold Coast should want and go after. An excellent call and slipped my mind above.

They need state leaguers of quality who can fill out best 22 positions potentially, but my concern even beyond that just for future list development is less with them filling out their list as much as finding leaders - old, developing and developable. I wouldn't be trading for Carlton's state leaguers, but I would be taking some late/rookie even beyond those three available state leaguers.

Just losing Lynch/May/Hall/Kolojashnij/Barlow/Rosa/Scrimshaw and maybe Martin and Nicholls going. That's a bleak looking side. It only really leaves Lyons/Witts/Miller/Weller/Harbrow/Hanley/D.Swallow as their established players who you'd think would get a game on most teams, and none of them are really stars, with Lyons the only near star on that team.

I feel Gold Coast are wasting list positions entirely with the additions of Horlin-Smith, Ellis, Townsend and Hombsch. There are a solid 40 in my estimations running around the state leagues who are better either now or as long term prospects. Miles they can perhaps put to use given their lack of ball winners, but the only rumoured list addition I like for Gold Coast is Ben Keays who has been underutilised by Brisbane and has the talent as both a mid and forward to be useful long term.

Do you think that Harry Taylor might be a good older player to provide leadership. It fills a need in defence after May leaves and he is definitely a respected leader at Geelong. This is all on the proviso that Geelong and Harry think it's a good idea for him.