Game Day 2018 DRAFT - Christmas is early this year

• Thread starter Thread starter GrommoT

How do you rate our draft this year?

Crows got done in this trade. Two picks on a gamble for a top 5. What if Carlton have this Collingwood type year. jesus this is stuffed. I am not happy at all and I think the club just showed utter disrespect to an opposition club. We should have demanded carltons 2nd rounder at least in return. This is a horrible trade and one that could just absolutely bite us in the arse. Just horrible.
Disagree. Carlton are virtually guaranteed bottom 4 and we have an extremely soft draw. Sure it’s a risk but not an overly high one.

Kinda wonder why we didn’t do that this year, don’t you?

Because Carlton came to us for this trade, clearly desperate for Stocker. They paid massive overs to us.

We had no intentions of paying massive overs for a top pick this year

The Fox Footy “experts” are idiots. Basically talking this trade as a bold move by Carlton who think they’ll finish next year around the same mark as us.
they were just trying to justify it. It was more. "they must believe that which will make it not look as bad as a lot of people think"

thats saying they think its a bad deal but want to talk it up (as they are the "big" vic club so the story is about them, not our bold move) so polishing it the way that suits their narrative

Crows got done in this trade. Two picks on a gamble for a top 5. What if Carlton have this Collingwood type year. jesus this is stuffed. I am not happy at all and I think the club just showed utter disrespect to an opposition club. We should have demanded carltons 2nd rounder at least in return. This is a horrible trade and one that could just absolutely bite us in the arse. Just horrible.
We had the upper hand here as they wanted Stocker. We should have driven the hard bargain and done our pick 16 + 2019 2nd for their 2019 1st

No it isn’t mate.

This was the year to go all in, not continue to kick the the can down the road.

It’s an awesome trade move, and great to have it - but it doesn’t help us win a flag.

Wtf? How would trading up for Lukosius help win us a flag next year?

Posters beg for us to take some risks, then when we do, everyone starts sooking, it shits me to tears.

Carlton are no where near getting out of the botton 2
I dont agree. Look at their list. They will be the climber next year. I think we may finish around the same next year as this, and they will climb 4 or so spots up the table. I think GC, Freo, St Kilda will all finish below Carlton.

A little bit underwhelmed. Jones should be a good pick. McHenry puzzles me. Is he a replacement for betts? Would have gone RCD at 13. Pick swap with carlton? Who knows how this works out. If carlton finish 12th we just got ****ed. If they finish 16th and we finish 8th, we gave up 10 and 16 for 3. This is a gamble.

I wonder if this draft did not go the way the club was thinking and they are bailing to get a better hand next year. Ie we had our best draft hand ever and this was the year there were some top top SA kids and we could get none of them. 2 years of planning for this draft essentially gone up in smoke and now it may be all about collateral to try and get 1 of them back sooner rather than later. Just surprising that we decided to trade 2 x 1st round picks to Carlton for their 2019 1st when they could very well improve next year with all their in's. Just baffling

That’s exactly what happened.

The rhetoric from the AFC changed totally during and after the draft period - we didn’t get what we wanted.