Roast It's time to talk about the coaches

• Thread starter Thread starter Scorpus

Chapman got his 3 year extension, he ain't going anywhere, so guess what? Nothing is gonna change

It's heartbreaking when you look at what Chapman and co have done to this club. They inherited a potential powerhouse in the making yet have turned it into a soft, incompetent boys club that appeals mainly to the over 60's market who just want something to do on the weekend and aren't too fussed if we win another premiership or not.

I'm really disappointed I got sucked into the hype. This year will be my last year as a member. I hate how this club is run.

It's clear that Tex, Sauce and Betts are finished yet we will play them all for another 2 years. Jenkins, Douglas and Mackay are also finished although their careers never really began.
Douglas has been a BnF, that's like saying Bernie Vince didn't have a good career.

Betts won't last 2 years currently, he would struggle to push you or I over nowadays. And I reckon he has enough pride to know when it's time.

It's heartbreaking when you look at what Chapman and co have done to this club. They inherited a potential powerhouse in the making yet have turned it into a soft, incompetent boys club that appeals mainly to the over 60's market who just want something to do on the weekend and aren't too fussed if we win another premiership or not.

I'm really disappointed I got sucked into the hype. This year will be my last year as a member. I hate how this club is run.
It's always been a boys club, every football club is. It's who our boys are that's the problem.

Douglas has been a BnF, that's like saying Bernie Vince didn't have a good career.

Betts won't last 2 years currently, he would struggle to push you or I over nowadays. And I reckon he has enough pride to know when it's time.

I could have won the BnF in 2011. His legacy will be his horrendous performance in the GF where he fell over at crucial times, fumbled the ball and generally led the playing the group as BOG for looking like a rabbit in a spotlight. Clarkson would have moved him on after that performance.

Clarkson kept Max Bailey for how long, Poppy has also been cooked for years ?? He's not totally infallible.

A lot of our players are going to be haunted by that day though.

Clarkson kept Max Bailey for how long, Poppy has also been cooked for years ?? He's not totally infallible.

A lot of our players are going o be haunted by that day though.

Mate the competition is tough and unfair enough as it is so you just hope you have the best people in place to overcome this. We clearly dont.

Absolutely agree with that.

Whilst the result wasn't quite as humiliating, 2017 is our 2007.

And I've said before, barracking for Pyke to be fired fixes nothing. We is part of the problem at the moment, but it goes way deeper than that.

Like how the hell do assistant coaches survive 3 head coaching changes? There's a need for a total cleanout top to bottom in management, coaching and player wise, but we showed what kind of gutless people are in charge when they welcomed Trigg back all those years ago.
What is deeply concerning is we have assistants out last head coaches we have deemed past their use by.

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

He said in the Brisbane press that the fishbowl made it unpleasant. Pretty much the fans treated him like shit when his form slumpped on his return from injury.

I'm sorry but as tough as that is, it's what happens when you're in a footy town.

He could walk around in Brisbane with complete anonymity

At least Pyke is using the 2016 game plan, Longmire is still stuck in 2012:drunk:
I would be happy for pyke to have a premiership winning game plan.

A tweet from SEN today.

BEN HART: We've got a few guys that aren't in ripping form at the moment. We are a little bit off. We don't play for 8 days so we've asked the players to go and think about a few things.

Can this joker go and think about his low rent coaching ability and not come back??

A tweet from SEN today.

BEN HART: We've got a few guys that aren't in ripping form at the moment. We are a little bit off. We don't play for 8 days so we've asked the players to go and think about a few things.

Can this joker go and think about his low rent coaching ability and not come back??
Saw that....

I was seething .........

A tweet from SEN today.

Almost as bad as Campo after round 1.

What an uninspiring, uninspired bunch of muppets.

A tweet from SEN today.

While the players didn't cover themselves in glory, it is clear to anyone with eyes and a brain that the opposition have worked out our zone plan and can break it down. That is coaching.

And our forward line structure is a shambles.

The coaches need to have a good hard look at themselves before they point the finger at players.

While the players didn't cover themselves in glory, it is clear to anyone with eyes and a brain that the opposition have worked out our zone plan and can break it down. That is coaching.

And our forward line structure is a shambles.

The coaches need to have a good hard look at themselves before they point the finger at players.

I do put slightly more emphasis on the players so far, probably 55/45. They are making some elementary errors that no amount of coaching can fix.

Also, if Marty Mattner is in charge of devising the kick out strategy then I don't know what the **** has happened to him in 6 months. Run 5 metres and handball isn't working.

I do put slightly more emphasis on the players so far, probably 55/45. They are making some elementary errors that no amount of coaching can fix.

Also, if Marty Mattner is in charge of devising the kick out strategy then I don't know what the **** has happened to him in 6 months. Run 5 metres and handball isn't working.
Run until you get into trouble and have nowhere to go? Sounds like Mattner to me.

A tweet from SEN today.

''go to your room and dont come out until you've had a good long hard think about your behaviour''

Should do a Ben Hart Said thread

I'm sorry but as tough as that is, it's what happens when you're in a footy town.

He could walk around in Brisbane with complete anonymity

I know this will not be popular but here goes nothing ...
That is completely right but particularly so in Adelaide where there are only two teams and a comparatively small population in a footy-mad state.
There are many players who feel like that, not just Charlie.
Rather than blaming all the coaches and players perhaps some self-reflection is in order?

As an outsider I think your list is just getting too old. Tex in particular could barely get past a fast jog. Eddie has just lost his magic ...

PS. I grew up in Adelaide FWIW and love the place still
PPS. Thanks for Nobes ... not good enough for you but good enough for us ...
PPPS. And Burton ... not good enough for us but good enough for you ... curious if most people here still think Nobes overpays for players?

Sadly we will never know, but im very very confident in my belief.

I think we missed out on something special due to Walsh's tragic passing.

Walsh didn't seem like the type of person who just threw terms like "elite standards" out there as lip service, he lived and breathed them.

We'll never know how it would have turned out, but with the auora that Walsh had you can't help but wonder "what if..."