Autopsy Rd 4 - Massive choke - Bottomed out again.

Whose game did you like in Round 4?

did you support malthouse? Ratten? Pagan? Probably not

Im a supporter of CFC the club, not any single person!

If the coach (or even any player) improves the clubs performance they get my support, if they don’t then they don’t deserve my support and I become of the opinion they should go.

he is a good third tall. No More. The plan was clearly to clear charlie out of the forward line and on to the wing which gave us room for Levi. Add to that his abilty to ruck and he is a goodish experiment. He is not a world beater but he is not rubbish

A good third tall? So basically a depth player should any of our main 3 talls miss due to injury?
That’s what I’ve been saying...

Yet Bolton decided to drop a small to keep him in the team even though we had our main 3 talls playing today, like I said.. baffling.

we've had a few of 'those losses that sting the players into improving' and not much has changed. certainly never spurred anyone to improve kicking at goal or field kicking. time to hitch our wagons to players that haven't even played for two years to make ourselves feel better.

a first year player would be very close to coming 2nd in our b&f. crazy.

we've had a few of 'those losses that sting the players into improving' and not much has changed. certainly never spurred anyone to improve kicking at goal or field kicking. time to hitch our wagons to players that haven't even played for two years to make ourselves feel better.

a first year player would be very close to coming 2nd in our b&f. crazy.

We had a second year player come in first in our best and fairest in 2015. And he had only played 3-4 games in his first season. That kid grew up to be best player in the competition.

And he was right. What other coach retains his job with that record.

The coach who is brought in to oversee a complete rebuild - we cleaned out completely so Bolton wasn’t expected to be getting too many wins. We all bought in to the plan four years ago and in my opinion we are still on track. We have brought in a lot of talent.

For example Dow is still going to be a gun - sure he’s making a lot of mistakes in his second year but his positioning is awesome and by his fourth year he is going to be kicking goals from 50 meters out from center clearances. And Dow won’t even be in our top 7 best players.

Im a supporter of CFC the club, not any single person!

If the coach (or even any player) improves the clubs performance they get my support, if they don’t then they don’t deserve my support and I become of the opinion they should go.

What timeframe do you put on coaches and players?

Were you also one of the people that suggested the likes of Weitering wasn't being developed?

Will setterfield needs to have a spell in the twos, for an inside mid 3 contested possession is not enough.

He’ll get suspended for KOing that kid

Are you 100% sure? Because if one of our players really liked a post celebrating another team beating us, then I don't care who they are. Show them the door.

Be careful what you wish for. Walsh is an 18 year old kid who literally took on a 110kg freight train for the club. Have some respect.

He will be spoken to by our social media team or coaching staff, though, I'm guessing. Because, like you insinuated, it's not the best of looks.

Just on the commentary regarding Dow's kicking.

He doesn't need to be a great kick. He just needs to hit the simple ones.

His stoppage work is becoming elite. The breakaway clearances from the centre square are game changing and he's doing this more and more frequently. He just needs to hit those targets when he's under no pressure.

In another season this won't be an issue.

Dow needs to understand where he’s at, his disposal by foot is deplorable at the moment. It beggars belief that someone who comes through elite pathways, be a top 5 pick in the biggest national competition in the Southern Hemisphere can be that bad.

It can be fixed though, Jobe Watson went from turnover merchant to respectable, Rance was a turnover merchant, there are so many examples it’s not funny.

You have Lachie Neale, as an example, paying for Diesel Williams to fly up to Queensland and coach himself out of his own pocket in the quest to get better.

Cripps trained for 2 off seasons to build up breakaway speed out of his own pocket. Dow needs to find someone that understands the mechanics of kicking the bloody ball this offseason and work on it like no tomorrow. If he does improve the rewards will come and he’ll make that investment back ten fold.

It wasn't a disgraceful loss because the players brought effort for 4 quarters. It was however extremely disappointing because their skills and decision-making were deplorable.

I think we are all entitled to question why a team stacked full of high draft picks who were hand picked because of their elite disposal can produce such poor skills on such a regular basis. Bolton claims that it's a lack of composure. Yet the problem hasn't been limited to just the kids. It's prevalent throughout the whole group. When was the last time we've come away from a game being able to say they had a crack and their skills held up well all game, particularly when the heat was on. It's no longer acceptable to say they're building, or that they're still in development. If the club wants to achieve its own goals as stated in their plan they need to show real improvement this year and I'm not talking about the being competitive but lacking polish type improvement. I want to see some polish!!!

I need to watch the replay again, but which players in the last rolling maul were hell bent on getting the ball out?

To me all they had to do was hold the ball in, get up and go again. There was no way there would have been a holding the ball decision yet we tried our very best to get the ball out, eventually did and the game winner gets kicked.

Just dumb footballers

Alright then, give us the solution.
I'm sure we'd all love to hear your analysis, you haven't given us anything except for throwing rocks.

How about you read my earlier posts if you are so concerned about my opinion?

But in summary, President calls Bolton in today and says tell me what you need or your concerns in the football department. President then grants Bolton whatever he needs until at least mid season break to see if he can turn it around.

President's second meeting is with Judd, who overseas the Football Department. Dear Chris in the eventuality we need to put a boot through the coaching staff, I want a list of all available and desired assistants. I also want a list of all possible head coaches. Please do this discreetly and hope we don't have to use it. But by round 10 I want a considered list.

Third meeting is with Russell. Hey Russ if we offer your mate Clarko $3m reckon we can get him? Yep didn't think so carry on.

Too early to kill the coach and he deserves until at least the mid year break to turn it around. But you start planning now.

I didn't say our performance today was excusable because the umpires were poor. I pointed out a couple of our pieces of play which disappointed me, but I chose not to go down the negative road because some of the dummy spitters had been negative enough to cover the rest of us.

I'm not sure what makes today's loss a disgraceful loss. It is this sort of hyperbole which is what ruins discussion on BF. It was a disappointing loss which could easily have been a win with a little bit more poise at various stages in the game.

When you say "Give the current team until mid year break to turn it around. But if they don't we have to move on", what are you proposing? Another mid year coach sacking? The last time this worked for us was 1978 when the footy messiah took over & delivered us to the promised land in 1979 (with a number of premiership players & some handy young blokes already on the list). Sadly, we tried to repeat the dose in 1989, but this time the footy messiah wasn't the answer. Since then we have sacked Pagan, Ratten (with a couple of games left) & Malthouse during the season without subsequently achieving the premiership success we so desire.

The concept of sacking a coach because there has to be someone better out there is right up there with the attitude we have seen on here for a number of years in relation to getting #1 draft picks. Many posters have suggested that winning games in the latter part of the season should not be a priority as the #1 draft pick (whoever he may be) is too good to pass up. Well 5 x #1 draft picks & 4 x coach sackings since our last premiership haven't delivered the goods. Fortunately our club seems to be steadfast in wanting to see through what was started in 2015 & no amount of hand wringing on BF is going to change this.

Actually it isn't. Something like F off Bolts or sack them all now or burn the club - yep ruins discussion. Pointing out that this is a very bad loss and disgraceful does not ruin discussion. Perhaps take your fingers out of your ears and hear the facts - 3 wins and 35 losses. Lost to a club everyone on this Board thought at the start of the year was well behind us. We need to stop sugar coating how bad the situation is. That doesn't mean you react by sacking people - but you need an honest and sober assessment,

How about you read my earlier posts if you are so concerned about my opinion?

But in summary, President calls Bolton in today and says tell me what you need or your concerns in the football department. President then grants Bolton whatever he needs until at least mid season break to see if he can turn it around.

President's second meeting is with Judd, who overseas the Football Department. Dear Chris in the eventuality we need to put a boot through the coaching staff, I want a list of all available and desired assistants. I also want a list of all possible head coaches. Please do this discreetly and hope we don't have to use it. But by round 10 I want a considered list.

Third meeting is with Russell. Hey Russ if we offer your mate Clarko $3m reckon we can get him? Yep didn't think so carry on.

Too early to kill the coach and he deserves until at least the mid year break to turn it around. But you start planning now.

Bolton will coach all year

How?

Soapy V has nothing to do with the squad. How does what he thinks about the game or how he thinks about things overall effect anything to do with the coaching setup or the players?

It's at this point where the phrase, "You're an idiot" starts to come to mind, but there's more to come.

Incorrect, and dangerously so. Here is a post from mediumsizered explaining how and why:

Um, St Kilda have been at their rebuild for 3 whole years longer than we have, and the players they went for were precisely the sort that were ready to go immediately; they wanted to see if they could have another crack before Riewoldt retired. They were never going to be as bad again.

GC have a home ground advantage, and a coach descended from the Paul Roos school of coaching via Sydney; tackle tackle tackle tackle tackle. Pressure beyond all else. 79 tackles is well above the norm; that we nearly matched them is a testament to how effort is not an issue for us.

There's a surprise.

When someone goes into a bakery looking for a side of beef, is it any wonder they don't find what they're looking for?

Sigh.

Posts like this make me tired. You stretch the barest of facts as though skin across the surface of a tympani, before beating the thing for all you're worth. You don't have an argument, but you're outraged and you'll be damned if no-one else can hear it. You barely have a basis for much of what you say; you regurgitate talking points made by Kane Cornes, things that on the surface seem possible right up until one looks below the waves. You blame another poster for an opinion they hold, as though they themselves are to blame for how Carlton played today.

There's a lot of venting going on in here, and I hope that's all this is. Wake up tomorrow, and the sun will still come up.

Um I didn't say he did?? I said if his thought of thinking is reflected in the playing group then it is an issue. I guess extrapolating my statement to something more lets you have a crack. I hope that made you feel better it has been a tough weekend!

I won't bother responding to the rest of your post - but to say I disagree. If you looked at things at the end of 2015 and said where would we be now - I doubt you would have honestly said dead last and behind Brisbane, St Kilda, GC, Norf etc.

How am I outraged? I haven't said sack the coach - I have said plan for two possibilities and give him until at least mid year. I think you might be projecting your frustration for other posters onto me.

Also I have never listed to Kane Cornes so I am not regurgitating his talking points. Could it be people think the same as him because we are 3 wins and 35 losses? You know, not travelling too great...

Is it maybe that Bolton is just not as good and forward thinking as we thought.
Yes he came from Clarksons tutelage but Clarkson is so far ahead of the game and is always innovating.

I just dont think Bolton has this skill set and may have been flying off the coat tails of Clarkson. Now that he is catching in his own right he seems to struggle.

WTF does that even mean?

It means they lost their two captains last year and a ton of talent over the last few years. They were expected to be last and struggle to win a game this year. Yet they are 3-1.

Go back 12 months - would you realistically think we would be 0-4 and losing to GC that had lost Lynch etc? No you would think we would be destroying them.

Be careful what you wish for. Walsh is an 18 year old kid who literally took on a 110kg freight train for the club. Have some respect.

He will be spoken to by our social media team or coaching staff, though, I'm guessing. Because, like you insinuated, it's not the best of looks.

If it is true (and I still doubt it because it is all kinds of stupid), then it points to a major culture issue. Ask the kid for an explanation first. But yeah if anyone gets a free pass it is Walsh...