Discussion 2019 General AFL Discussion

Carlton went above 3 teams with their win yesterday, including Sydney! :oops:

Sydney look bottom 4 with their fixture and how they are travelling. I know they can get on a roll but they look slow and tired.

For me.....choosing someone today was which of the two to me is the lesser evil.

Answer...none !

Their both evil IMO.

They've both had their fun in the sun...……..so I wish they'd just go away...lol.

At the start of the season...IMO.....both teams seemed to be defying gravity...….I thought both would slip down this year......you'd think sooner or later they'd both go down.

The Cats have surprised me..........still.....it's a long long way to the finish line.

Very hard to beat at the Cattery.

Amazing draw for top side ..

We play Collingwood and then Carlton at the MCG.

Still to play:

Carlton x 2
WB at Marvel.
Brisbane at Marvel.
Freo at Marvel.
Dees at Marvel.

If we happen to win those 6, we'd only have to win as few as 2 of our other 11 games to make the 8.

You’ve actually managed to make me believe it’s possible.

One of my ‘mates’ has bought me a Collingwood Insider Membership (not sure who but I will find out soon) so now I have a Collingwood membership scarf sitting in my living room.

Any creative suggestions as to what I should do with it? I feel simply throwing it in the bin is too easy.
Boring suggestion but give it to the Salvos. Plenty of folks in need are Pies fans.

I just ran mine. I also have the saints at 6th, but "only" on 13 wins. Top 5 is obvious, but I have bombers and lions missing. Surprisingly Melbourne and Adelaide get in on mine. So, like you I also have Freo, Port, Doggies, Swans and Hawks missing. Without doing the predictor I'd have Port in, and Freo will come pretty close I think.
A bit scary, but the Blues get another top draft pick for mine after a 5 win season.
Anyway, even if we drop a few more than that, we could at least be in with a sniff come the end of this season. Several teams I have in my mind as better than us seem to have pretty tough draws.

I just ran mine. I also have the saints at 6th, but "only" on 13 wins. Top 5 is obvious, but I have bombers and lions missing. Surprisingly Melbourne and Adelaide get in on mine. So, like you I also have Freo, Port, Doggies, Swans and Hawks missing. Without doing the predictor I'd have Port in, and Freo will come pretty close I think.
A bit scary, but the Blues get another top draft pick for mine after a 5 win season.
Anyway, even if we drop a few more than that, we could at least be in with a sniff come the end of this season. Several teams I have in my mind as better than us seem to have pretty tough draws.

I had a couple of upsets if I recall correctly, but most of mine were off current season form.

Regarding the Blues, are you taking into account that Adelaide have Carlton’s first round draft pick after the Stocker/McGovern deal? [emoji57]

I had a couple of upsets if I recall correctly, but most of mine were off current season form.

Regarding the Blues, are you taking into account that Adelaide have Carlton’s first round draft pick after the Stocker/McGovern deal? [emoji57]

No I'm not! Totally didn't think to take into account pick trades. Ouch!

About the upsets...not sure that I went for upsets...but there were a couple where I thought....jesus...if they're going to win a game at all it'll be this one.

Yeah basically what I was going off, I was struggling to find wins for Sydney and both the Melbournes, for instance.

This season is beginning to resemble a Seinfeld episode.
You know the one:
George does everything opposite and turns into a winner,
Elaine becomes George and,
Jerry ends up even.

Well, 2018 with 4 1/2 wins is Elaine.
Therefore, 2019 must be George with 17 1/2 wins.
And the two years combined is Jerry with 22 wins (11 per season).

That actually works out to Cho's average for the two years prior.
Gotta be right.
You heard it here first.

What do you expect from South Australians?
Sorry to say bud but about the same you would expect from
West Australians! ;)
When it comes to racism!
Seem to remember the Goodes game over there a few years back with the West Coast flogs!
Which considering WA's rich history with indigenous players was pretty poor!
The truth is there are w***ers everywhere! What's my name again? D'oh
whoooah whoooah .... dont tar West Australians with the WCE brush ... yes most WCE fans are West Australian but they are a special breed unto their own ... born into a life of self importance and arrogance stemmed from the financial and on field success of their club, most of them a decent people with the exception of when footy is mentione then they turn into the uber flogg that is the WCE supporter ... its getting worse over the years with them as they get more success and their team is lauded with praise and gushhing love from the local media outlets so when anyone or anything not equally gushing towards them is seen as an evil (look at the pathetic "outrage" over Eddie comentating the derby)...
Crows supporters are much the same ... again deep down i dont think they are bad people just you dont ever want to talk footy with them

whoooah whoooah .... dont tar West Australians with the WCE brush ... yes most WCE fans are West Australian but they are a special breed unto their own ... born into a life of self importance and arrogance stemmed from the financial and on field success of their club, most of them a decent people with the exception of when footy is mentione then they turn into the uber flogg that is the WCE supporter ... its getting worse over the years with them as they get more success and their team is lauded with praise and gushhing love from the local media outlets so when anyone or anything not equally gushing towards them is seen as an evil (look at the pathetic "outrage" over Eddie comentating the derby)...
Crows supporters are much the same ... again deep down i dont think they are bad people just you dont ever want to talk footy with them
I went to the first WCE's games they played , you had too because the WAFL was destroyed when they came into the competion.
I always supported the Saints due to Narkle and the Sidebottoms coming from my local team.
The thing that blew me away , is how many people who didn't even follow football before the Eagles entered the comp or even played the sport had become one eyed Eagles supporters. After going to the first couple games and hearing the booing etc for the opposing team made me turn off the team and there supporters.

St Kilda always

I went to the first WCE's games they played , you had too because the WAFL was destroyed when they came into the competion.
I always supported the Saints due to Narkle and the Sidebottoms coming from my local team.
The thing that blew me away , is how many people who didn't even follow football before the Eagles entered the comp or even played the sport had become one eyed Eagles supporters. After going to the first couple games and hearing the booing etc for the opposing team made me turn off the team and there supporters.

St Kilda always

I too am a Swan Districts supporter. Loved Sidey and was sad to hear of his passing. One thing I must say about WCE and their indigenous players is that I've always felt they had less respect then say the indigenous players at Freo...and I'm talking about the support they received from their own team mates. Anyone else notice that?

i was shocked to hear of Sideys passing .. he was a great bloke with some ripping yarns really sad he is no longer with us :(
on your second point i think thats well off the mark ... for some time now the WCE have been at the front of the pack in regards to the indig programs mainly on the back of the work done by Phil Narkle .. fremantle through sheer numbers of indig guys on their list would perhaps give that perception as many of the boys on Freo's lists do see themselves as brothers due to their heritage where WCE with a smaller number it might not seem as close knit from the outside but behind the club the WCE certainly do much much more then Freo do for their players and there are a few terrible stories to back that up...
the issue i do find is with more the WCE fans and this is not all but i do find that with some of them more so then freo fans that line between what is appropriate to say and what isnt some times gets a little blurred a few times i have heard some dodgy comments from WCE supporters that while not malicious are pretty poor and have no place in footy for example i got into a fairly heated debate with one fella at a recent WCE game who made the comment on an indig player busting through a tackle that he learnt that running from the coppers... now he proclaimed that comment was due to the area of perth said player grew up in but i challanged that he wouldnt say that about a white player..

i was shocked to hear of Sideys passing .. he was a great bloke with some ripping yarns really sad he is no longer with us :(
on your second point i think thats well off the mark ... for some time now the WCE have been at the front of the pack in regards to the indig programs mainly on the back of the work done by Phil Narkle .. fremantle through sheer numbers of indig guys on their list would perhaps give that perception as many of the boys on Freo's lists do see themselves as brothers due to their heritage where WCE with a smaller number it might not seem as close knit from the outside but behind the club the WCE certainly do much much more then Freo do for their players and there are a few terrible stories to back that up...
the issue i do find is with more the WCE fans and this is not all but i do find that with some of them more so then freo fans that line between what is appropriate to say and what isnt some times gets a little blurred a few times i have heard some dodgy comments from WCE supporters that while not malicious are pretty poor and have no place in footy for example i got into a fairly heated debate with one fella at a recent WCE game who made the comment on an indig player busting through a tackle that he learnt that running from the coppers... now he proclaimed that comment was due to the area of perth said player grew up in but i challanged that he wouldnt say that about a white player..

nailed it perfectly

WCE are entitled spoilt brats footy wise. everything provided for them. then they whinge when there's even the slightest notion of an even playing field. having said that they tend to be the more pleasant of the two WA teams. less bogan, come from better areas suburb wise, but for some weird reason more racist. the club its self does a lot more for its players and the community, especially remote areas. untouchable by the media. starting to develop its own history and identity.

Freo are absolute ferals. it's mental how absolutely feral they can get. literally the most bogan football club in the state. massive inferiority complex mainly due to being out numbered 2 to 1 in the state. which has probably grown out to 3 to 1 now. bigger indigenous following though. tend to just get on with it football wise instead of whinging about absolutely everything like the WCE officials tend too. lambs to the slaughter by the media. you'd be lucky if you see them in the community. very much a bubble club. very plastic. massive identity crisis. i think what freo are going through now is what WCE went through in the last 90s early 00s. just they dont have the flags.

what is weird, is that WCE are more likely to punch on amongst themselves where as Freo fans tend to punch on with the opposition.

a 3rd WA team would sought it all out. i think you'd see real pressure applied to freo $$$ wise. plus taking WCE down a peg. if done right, it could over take both.

nailed it perfectly

WCE are entitled spoilt brats footy wise. everything provided for them. then they whinge when there's even the slightest notion of an even playing field. having said that they tend to be the more pleasant of the two WA teams. less bogan, come from better areas suburb wise, but for some weird reason more racist. the club its self does a lot more for its players and the community, especially remote areas. untouchable by the media. starting to develop its own history and identity.

Freo are absolute ferals. it's mental how absolutely feral they can get. literally the most bogan football club in the state. massive inferiority complex mainly due to being out numbered 2 to 1 in the state. which has probably grown out to 3 to 1 now. bigger indigenous following though. tend to just get on with it football wise instead of whinging about absolutely everything like the WCE officials tend too. lambs to the slaughter by the media. you'd be lucky if you see them in the community. very much a bubble club. very plastic. massive identity crisis. i think what freo are going through now is what WCE went through in the last 90s early 00s. just they dont have the flags.

a 3rd WA team would sought it all out. i think you'd see real pressure applied to freo $$$ wise. plus taking WCE down a peg. if done right, it could over take both.

Freos cheer squad are definitely feral, I remember have to tell one guy to stop showing his dick off in front of kids, he was mooning the players and abusing his own team which seemed to make their fans laugh. He got taken out by the cops eventually but not without a few warnings first.

nailed it perfectly

There is no way we are getting a third wa side and by the sounds of it you and many others will end up hating them the same. I like both those sides because we don’t hear much at all over here

Freos cheer squad are definitely feral, I remember have to tell one guy to stop showing his dick off in front of kids, he was mooning the players and abusing his own team which seemed to make their fans laugh. He got taken out by the cops eventually but not without a few warnings first.

That would’ve been Wally Walpamur