AFL Autopsy Rnd 20: Loss to Port

I really don't see how you can view today as anything but a disaster.

I could wear a loss. Some things didn't go our way. But we've blown a lot of our % which is the worst part... we lost by 10 goals.

We better hope that the Bulldogs don't win this week because they'll go close to overtaking us in the top 8 when they beat us next week. Port also have 3 easy games to come and have overtaken us on %. Today's capitulation could well cost us finals.

I really don't see how you can view today as anything but a disaster.

I could wear a loss. Some things didn't go our way. But we've blown a lot of our % which is the worst part... we lost by 10 goals. We better hope that the Bulldogs don't win this week because they'll go close to overtaking us in the top 8 when they beat us next week.
I think the worst part is not the percentage impact. It's the mental impact.
I thought we built resilience in the last 5 games, which is why I overlooked the need for percentage.

Today, we waved the white flag for the first time since the St Kilda game. The team defence we built completely unravelled.

Not sure how it will impact us in the next few weeks. Hopefully it is only a blip.

I have another left field one.

McGrath also isn't the star we want him to be. Kicking is questionable and he is one of the slowest quick players. It doesn't seem like he can ever get any separation from his opponent.
You went there. And I agree to an extent.

I think he's one paced but it's a decent pace which doesn't get slower as the game progresses. This has shown with his effort in several of our last gasp wins where he has been big late.

I'm comfortable with his development though. When I remove the number 1 draft pick thing he is a damn fine young player with leadership coursing through his veins.

Carrying too many sore or VFL players.

Fantasia should not be on the field. Put him out for the year.

Langford had the opportunity there. No excuses about midfield minutes he was horribly out of touch and I think that's a line through him for me going forward.

Zac Clarke I understand he's no good but it's so much worse than that, the only way he could be a positive for us is to pull on an Opposition jumper.

Guelfi showed that whilst he tries hard his footy IQ is not great.

McKenna played like a guy coming off a holiday.

Harts whilst defensively sound was unable to be a weapon at all.

Stringer, I don't know what that was but that was selfish football. I don't entirely blame him because he got destroyed by our minds kicking it to his man.

Hooker also player sore and I get that he tried but not a great game forward. Played like a Backman.

McGrath played probably his worst game, the non tackle in the middle was not good at all. Not sure if he wasn't switched on but does have a habit of allowing a opposition to make a play for him to then stop. Happens a bit when there's a loose ball, I've seen him get ready to tackle instead of just win the damn thing.

Zaharakis. He has to be carrying something because he has lost all power in his kicking. Also tried to be the hero instead of taking a look around running into 50m

I'd blame our mids for being beaten out of contests but we got it in 50 enough, kicked it out on the full a bunch, made wrong decisions, kicked it to defenders advantage. It's been the weakness all year. I can't fault the defensive efforts of the team but a focus needs to be on scoring next year.

Probably a few I'm missing. But let's end with some positives.
Ambrose, well done mate I'd say you are probably our best defender.
Shiel and Merrett tried hard and tried to be attacking but we're also probably some of the worst users. Still two genuine really good mids that are keeping us in games through their abilities.
Snelling. Started well and probably faded, not sure if you keep him around but did his chances no harm.

Meh, this was coming for awhile.

We have done really well over the last two months. It’s not just luck, it’s been grit and strength of character that has got us over the line. We are allowed to have these flat games every so often.

But, our team is being held together by a thread. Missing a lot of best 22 players. We were bound for a drubbing.

I doubt we will do damage in finals but I think getting there will give this side a lot of belief going into 2020. If we win a final this year, watch out for next year.

You went there. And I agree to an extent.

I think he's one paced but it's a decent pace which doesn't get slower as the game progresses. This has shown with his effort in several of our last gasp wins where he has been big late.

I'm comfortable with his development though. When I remove the number 1 draft pick thing he is a damn fine young player with leadership coursing through his veins.
He has the tools, but he doesn't use it to his advantage. He tends to play better in the second halves, especially in the last quarter. From a glass half-full perspective though, does that mean he can only impact when fatigue sets in? Is it just a product of his athleticism? Or is it it him rising to the occasion? It's borderline at this stage. Superior athlete vs superior footballer.

Too many injuries.
Langford ain’t gonna make it.
Francis ain’t gonna make it.
Zaharakis is cooked.
Dogs will slice us apart next week.
Freo just beat the Cats at home.
Our record against the Pies?

We will not win another game, we will not play finals.

A loss sucks, but with the extent of our injuries vs a team desperate for the win, I'm not too surprised unfortunately.
We should be desperate for the win.

We were due for a loss. I’m also glad I haven’t gotten sucked in again, it still hurts but not nearly as much. We are on the ladder where I thought we’d finish this year which is around about where an average team finishes (7th to 12th).

Really missed Smack and Parish today. Also, just so our boys know, you can kick to your teammate’s advantage.

Forget today and move on to next week.

Too many injuries.
Langford ain’t gonna make it.
Francis ain’t gonna make it.
Zaharakis is cooked.
Dogs will slice us apart next week.
Freo just beat the Cats at home.
Our record against the Pies?

We will not win another game, we will not play finals.
A little harsh on Francis. He’d been pretty good up until today and he was smacked around a bit.

We should be desperate for the win.

We were due for a loss. I’m also glad I haven’t gotten sucked in again, it still hurts but not nearly as much. We are on the ladder where I thought we’d finish this year which is around about where an average team finishes (7th to 12th).

Really missed Smack and Parish today. Also, just so our boys know, you can kick to your teammate’s advantage.

Forget today and move on to next week.
Definitely missed them both.

Parish in particular shows how important he is to our team and the lack of depth we have in that position.

I may well be wrong and I hope I am down the track; but at this stage I consider him an incredibly weak footballer both physically and mentally.

Straight swap for Fogarty with the Crows?
Hoping it’ll all click for Francis. Very talented but yeah he does need to get a little bit of mongrel.

Snelling good, Ambrose too. Merrett massive in the first half especially but how he can miss targets with simple handballs so often I don’t know.

Most of the rest lacked effort & heart. No defensive running. Tackled like turnstiles all day. It was coming, we all knew it deep down. Yes we were missing structurally 5 of our most important players (TBC, Joe, Hurls, Heppell, Smith) and some other critical bodies but deplorable from many of the rest. Langford has the tools but not the stones or the killer instinct, Zac Clarke is worse than a break glass in emergency option. Fantasia and Hooker look rooted. The boys looked flat and tired and I worry about the impact both mentally and to our percentage for the rest of this year and beyond.

Would be nice to bounce back but I’m not sure that’s coming and we have no first round pick to look forward to.

AFL Autopsy Rnd 20: Loss to Port