News 2019 Rumour File - discuss rumours here!

We go to melbourne “heres pick 3 and 21 for pick 2”... “take pick 3 and tell GWS you are going to bid on TG so you better give us youre two firsts for pick 3”..

We take pick 2 and tell the suns “heres pick 2 for luko and we want a second rounder back too and if you dont like that then FO cause we will take Anderson and get Luko off you next year for less anyway!”

We get luko and a second rounder, or we get pick 2 for anderson or rowell..
Melbourne turn their 1 pick into 2 firsts and a very early second. All picks under 25.
GWS get green and still get pick 3.
And
The suns get what they deserve for being welfare dependant scum..

Win, win, win, lose...
I love it! Make it happen!

Mate, i'm 99% sure the editor of the Herald Sun just picks a random player out of the hat each Monday and claims they are 'linked to Carlton'!

Pretty much every FA has already been linked there and the offseason hasn't technically started yet!

Yeah I don't think it is especially accurate either

Its a better outcome than pick 1. Personally I'd rather the AFL give them 2x end of 1st rounders. The 1st round's too compromised as it is with NGA/FA without the AFL throwing in priority picks. End of 1st round picks I think work better as a club like GC is probably far more likely to trade them for an established player than an earlier pick where picks' values get blown way out of proportion.

I agree, I think we're in prime position to potentially leverage something out of GWS. I expect if we trade pick 3 for 11 and 13 though they would demand 21 and 26 back so that they can still pay for a top 10 bid for Green. After 13 currently GWS don't have any picks until 49, so trading 11 and 13 for 3 still has them in a pickle for Green.

Giving GWS 3, 21 and 26 would effectively be handing them 2x top 10 picks, I suspect they wouldn't mind paying reasonable value for such.

As an example it could end up:
GWS: Pick 3 + 21 + 26 + Jacobs
Crows: Pick 11 + 13 + 2020 GWS 1st rounder + Hately
So GWS give up 4 x 1st rounders for 2 x 1st rounders? This is GWS not GC.
Why would they when if we bid on green they use 1 x 1st and their other 1st drops back to the 2nd round.

i don't think GWS are desperate to jump up so wont pay huge overs.
Its not like they need a mid when they have Kelly, Coniglio, Whitefield, Ward, Hopper, Taranto, Hately, Caldwell, O'Halloran, Bonar and can add Greene.

Why would they when if we bid on green they use 1 x 1st and their other 1st drops back to the 2nd round.

Its not like they need a mid when they have Kelly, Coniglio, Whitefield, Ward, Hopper, Taranto, Hately, Caldwell, O'Halloran, Bonar and can add Greene.
True..but another line of thought might be that pick 3 + 21 or 26 for 11 & 13 + Hately (or caldwell or Bonar - young mid that is being starved of game time) allows GWS to get in and pick before Green is bid on so they get a topline kid then have points to match a bid for green and it has cost them 2 x mid 1sts + one of their young mids not getting game time. MAYBE a win win trade

I'd be shocked if Carlton went down the Jacobs path in particular with Betts in the mix as well.

I am certain Jacob's management have made sure the Carlton news got out. I think we hold firm on one year. He doesn't want to move interstate and if he did then so be it.

I'd be shocked if Carlton went down the Jacobs path in particular with Betts in the mix as well.

I am certain Jacob's management have made sure the Carlton news got out. I think we hold firm on one year. He doesn't want to move interstate and if he did then so be it.
We are holding firm, hence why he isn't playing SANFL

Option 1 - GWS have 11 and 13. Green bid on at pick 3. That costs the first pick, and pick 13 becomes pick 27. They get Green and pick 27.

Option 2. - GWS trade 11, 13 and Hately for 3 and 26 and Jacobs. They also trade for an early 2nd. They draft someone at 3 and Green is bid at pick 5 - which is the same in points as 21 and 26 after discount.

Option 2 gets them two elite mids, and allows them to trade some mid-list mids for points. Option 1 gets them Green and whoever they get later in the 2nd.

Option 1 - GWS have 11 and 13. Green bid on at pick 3. That costs the first pick, and pick 13 becomes pick 27. They get Green and pick 27.

Option 2. - GWS trade 11, 13 and Hately for 3 and 26 and Jacobs. They also trade for an early 2nd. They draft someone at 3 and Green is bid at pick 5 - which is the same in points as 21 and 26 after discount.

Option 2 gets them two elite mids, and allows them to trade some mid-list mids for points. Option 1 gets them Green and whoever they get later in the 2nd.

I prefer the option where we absolutely bend them over a barrel and get a deal heavily weighted in our favour.

We shouldn't even be offering him a year IMO

Good. The more clubs interested the less likely we will need to give him an AFC sympathy contract (ala Thommo)

pick 2 would definately get luko off the suns... the suns know their best hope of keeping Rowell is by getting anderson or vice versa..

The more you think about it.. the better our position looks..
Wasnt the best way of keeping rankine getting Luko too?

As he has been his whole career, doesn't mean he's cooked, he's still playing good footy when he's out there
That's the point, he rarely is..... his body is cooked.

That's the reason Sauce would be a viable option as a 2nd or 3rd string ruck, he's been durable over time.

I think most rated him quite highly, but there was a lot of justified criticism regarding the back half of his 2017 season. His first 10 games of that season were really strong, but then fell away drastically, possibly relating to his decision to leave the club. In his last 14 games for us he only kicked more than 1 goal in a game once(5 in PF), but had donuts in 6 of them. Prior to that he'd kicked 2 or more goals in 6 of his first 10 games.

This significant drop off clouded the picture significantly when he announced he was leaving, but I think we did well to get pick 12
Not really ...the popular thought at trade time was we'd be lucky to get #19 and #13 was wishful thinking

I also question those who have raised his quiet finals game ....he did get 5 in the pelim with us, as you pointed out ....but forgetting his goals, his pressure around the field & ability to get to the player with the ball is elite ....we certainly missed that attribute this year

On the Carlton board they were talking about the asking price for their ex-players back. I said I'd be happy with a 3rd, and my post got deleted for being a "troll"???? Reckon they're trolling themselves.

But he would have reached these heights & did in his final ....with us

Charlie was always underrated by Crows fans .....criminally so
Nah, he deserved the rating he had, due to his constant comedy routines. He'd give you the highest of highs, and the lowest of lows, within 20 seconds in the same passage of play. The sublime and the horrible. Now he's cut the horrible out of his game, and he's playing closer to goal.

That's the point, he rarely is..... his body is cooked.

That's the reason Sauce would be a viable option as a 2nd or 3rd string ruck, he's been durable over time.
I'd much prefer Phillips as 2nd in line and then someone like Darcy Cameron, who they're rumoured to be going after, 3rd in line.

Starting to have some doubts about how Charlie handles big games/finals pressure.....You?

Not in the sense he becomes timid or anything like that, just the mental side putting too much pressure on himself to perform.
He was pretty damn good in the 2017 PF. Games don't get a whole lot bigger than that.