Bluemour Melting Pot XIX - Give Me Ed Baby - Return of the Prodigal Son

You people......clearly all as nuts as I am......thinking I need to be in a sanatorium and sudenly realising this is the sanatorium.........

Thanks for all the kind words.
This place is hard to leave, mate. It's like purgatory. Or the LOST island. Or maybe they're one and the same depending on your interpretation.

In any case, Thy (the Smoke Monster) will get you before you get out.

I'm really curious to see how SOS and Agresta plays this.

We need our pick 9 for Papley.

Any other year I could see us swap our pick 9 for pick 16 and swap of later picks in one direction or another. Still gives us a (borderline) 1st to use in another trade or draft a good young player. 2 for 1.

Realistically I can only see SOS wanting to give up a future 2nd or 2nd received from another trade.

Will be interesting. Martin will have selected us because we would have been confident of the deal being done - no player will nominate if there's uncertainty it will go through. I daresay we've already loosely agreed a rough deal with GCS.
He finished the season in the NEAFL is he in their best 22 ? ....I don’t Reckon he’s is worth a first round pick, the Suns can try tho

Should never be about height, it's about versatility, mobility, agility and speed

Tomlinson has it in spades and walks into best 22 in our/most clubs
Agree, Arrow. I'd still take Adam if he wanted to come. Just not near the top of our list of priorities and we've got our hands full with a number of others, which will see him go to the cheese platters.

He finished the season in the NEAFL is he in their best 22 ? ....I don’t Reckon he’s is worth a first round pick, the Suns can try tho

Wouldn't put too much stock in GC selections. They likely new he was 100% gone in the off season, so would have prioritised selection of other players, and had a vested interest in losing to secure further assistance from the AFL, which casts doubt over whether they would have actually selected their "best" 22.

Doesn’t strengthen their argument ....

Depends if the so called "oversized mid" is athletic or not, & Tomlinson is very athletic. He has played in a lot of positions all over the ground for the giants and that makes him a utility, and to do that you have to be mobile as well as strong. Tomlinson is the type of player that allows a club more coverage in that he can play where you need him and I don`t think the club has an overabundance of that type..........I would be surprised if Paddy didn`t want him in there........and not knocking Walsh because he has been magnificent for us already, but he isn`t exactly endowed with speed either, so there shouldn`t be a knock on Tomlinson just because he is big (194cm-96kg) imo
Regardless of any perceived lack of speed - Walsh is the first mid to get across the ground when the opposition have a switch on, and the first back to help out in defence.

I haven't seen Tomlinson live so don't know how he covers the ground. I was just replying to a post saying don't judge a player by height and referring to Cripps, when Cripps actually leaves us a bit exposed on the outside.

Without knowing anything about the draft I would estimate Martin to be worth Pick 18-20. He’s had an underwhelming 6 years at GC but his natural talent is top tier and for that you have to pay.

Fair when you consider Setterfield went for effectively a 2nd round pick (if I understand the concept of the draft pick points ??)

I have been to Krakatoa.

Good times.

I accidentally kicked the wall once while playing soccer in an office corridor.

Krackedatoa

Was not good times.

Was trying to imagine what Eddie would look like in Navy Blue, so I ran some old photos through an age filter... get excited
99c58b4d5eaaadbb06e44ef98132f03e.jpg
b3eee03e04a55739147ee7d7c0b3426b.jpg
0ea7e3b39764c65c59d50471e2bbe3b9.jpg
09a171463ef724b53f4cfbeea9f618a1.jpg

This made me laugh so much, love it.

I realise there is a connection between Martin and SPS... and with the Bulldogs bemoaning another failed attempt at landing an indigenous player I'm wondering whether it was just SPS and Jones that tipped Martin into the fold.... I predict Eddie has re-landed!
Surely Eddie would be a mentor and inspirational figure to any aspiring sml forward no matter the ethnicity.
Also more bums on seats game day and I reckon the 75,000 members target Liddell as conjured as a 2020 goal, will be achievable.

I kicked the wall once while playing soccer indoors.

Krackedatoa

Was not good times.
Sweated on that one a bit eh Ferris? :D
Jamaica
Nah she went of her own accord.:p

Also from another tweet:

Jack Martin

“He’s rejected more coin from the Bulldogs. I was told the Western Bulldogs offer was close to $700,000 per year for five years. He’s chosen Carlton over that.”

Pretty awesome if that contract offer is true and Martin turned it down. That's a really, really good offer from the Dogs. Surprised they would give him that big a contract.

Reported somewhere our offer is 4 years and on substantially less coin...like under the $600k he was getting at GC, and maybe as low as $500k + some incentives to earn more. But that means he's sacrificed a fair bit of cash to join us.

Pretty awesome if that contract offer is true and Martin turned it down. That's a really, really good offer from the Dogs. Surprised they would give him that big a contract.

Reported somewhere our offer is 4 years and on substantially less coin...like under the $600k he was getting at GC, and maybe as low as $500k + some incentives to earn more. But that means he's sacrificed a fair bit of cash to join us.

We likely included a heap of triggers that would make our contract very appealing. Ceiling is probably very high if he performs.

I realise there is a connection between Martin and SPS... and with the Bulldogs bemoaning another failed attempt at landing an indigenous player I'm wondering whether it was just SPS and Jones that tipped Martin into the fold.... I predict Eddie has re-landed!

I think JM might also have played footy in WA with Crippa, at least at some level/stage.

However which way it's come about, seems like he sees himself at the Blues, so provided the price is right from GC we should do that. Still has untapped upside, but even the player he *is* will be a handy addition to our team, I feel.