Bluemour Melting Pot XIX - Give Me Ed Baby - Return of the Prodigal Son

Call me old fashioned, but doesn't Dusty Martin's haircut look ridiculous. (from someone that still 'styles' his hair like Sid Vicious)
My son got that haircut yesterday. I was designated barber supervisor and went to get a coffee while he was in the chair. He went rogue and was 3/4 through the cut when I returned.

It’s only hair he said.

How long will it take to grow out?

Mrs Doormat Won’t trust me with those duties again.

I was told mid year Daisy had a poor attitude, as if he didn't care anymore and that the club were not happy with him. This was after drinking heavily at a function.

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Reckon it might have been a drinking thing, when I saw him drinking in the morning two days before his debut knew we were up against it.

From the outside looking in he always seemed to care a lot

Seems pretty obvious that Gibbons is being judged for the path he had to take to make the big league and vice versa for other young players.. was a very impressive first season. Easily ahead of Fisher, for instance, on the back of 2019 and looking towards 2020.

I think a major flaw in SPP’s game has been overlooked - aside from his kicking and off-field flaws, he has very little in the way of footy ‘smarts’. Not many players make it these days without it

Tend to agree on both fronts. At some point soon any players with either draft pick or games-played “currency” will be traded. It has to happen. Those you have mentioned might be among that group of players who get squeezed out. Watched Fisher closely at training in January and was in awe of his decision making and skill level under pressure. Just hasn’t come on as I thought he would. Think SPS needs to be tried on the wing or get back to getting games into him on the ball. I know it’s early days (and I won’t be popular for this) but Dow is another who I do like but may be in the same boat. May need a big 2020 to stay out of trade discussions.Just a feeling.

are there any clubs likely to take eddy on his current $600k salary? if there is this will obviously suit crows. if there isnt and we are the only club showing interest then they may need to negotiate a deal where they pay part of his 2020 salary. it will still be a win win for us and them.

I had a molar removed yesterday. It broke into three parts on extraction. I felt every forceful jolt as each part was extracted from my bottom jaw.

Are you awake now?
4D8B7763-897D-44D7-87A5-E13A1BE219A4.gif

Seems pretty obvious that Gibbons is being judged for the path he had to take to make the big league and vice versa for other young players.. was a very impressive first season. Easily ahead of Fisher, for instance, on the back of 2019 and looking towards 2020.

I think a major flaw in SPP’s game has been overlooked - aside from his kicking and off-field flaws, he has very little in the way of footy ‘smarts’. Not many players make it these days without it

SPP reminds be of Mitch robbo who managed to forge a ripper career

are there any clubs likely to take eddy on his current $600k salary? if there is this will obviously suit crows. if there isnt and we are the only club showing interest then they may need to negotiate a deal where they pay part of his 2020 salary. it will still be a win win for us and them.

Crows are not going to pay any of his contract. They would rather keep him.

Even if other clubs will, Eddie has to agree.

He wants Blues, money isn’t issue

Under those circumstances I still think it’s Papley the starting midfielder.
The others fight it out up forward + HFF’s in DC, Martin, JSOS rotating through the midfield.
Why would you have the best forward playing in the middle when what we're after is a small forward and that's the position we'd be recruiting him for

On CPH1831 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Hi Guys,

Long time reader, first time poster, not sure if it has been mentioned on here yet or not but Crippa, Murph & Charlie made an appearance at my local pub in Tassie last night, just thought I would share some things that were said

Crippa confirmed that Jack Martin has nominated that he wants to be at Carlton next year, also said that he was the best junior that he has seen.

All 3 mentioned Papley a few times without being prompted, sounded very promising.

Murph said that the club will persist with SPS down back, this was part of the reason for Daisey not getting a contract along with the returns of Doc and Willow down there.

Regarding Betts Murph said where there's smoke there's fire and would love to have him back, also said that it was the biggest list management mistake the club has made letting him go in the first place.

Crippa said that we have not seen the best out of Marchbank yet and will be a gun, also is excited to see TDK develop as a genuine RUCK.

Was also nice to hear that Weitering was BOG on their recent trip to Mykonos

Murph sounds keen to go on for a few more years to try and chase the fairy tale ending ala Shane Crawford.

Promising times ahead, Go Blues!
384C8612-E352-47B2-A72F-C8E9893FC16B.gif

I would like Butler especially if we don't need to give much.
Only 23 years old, thought he looked good yesterday in the VFL from what I saw of it.

It will be interesting to see how we fit the 4 in if we get them all. (Butler, Betts, Papley and Martin).
I have no idea how it will work but some kind of solid depth will be great for once.

Still not sure how i feel about Betts....

Source - amber fluid experts at Percy’s pub on Friday night. Got busy talking shite the boys. Sit back and take it FWIW. Straight from the horses arses mouths. High-low credibility - wasn’t there.

Butler reportedly a done deal on top of Martin.

Cameron wants to play with Cripps.

Papley very likely, trade with * and Swans in works.

Draft picks being floated for trade this and next year to gain further picks. Pick 8 potentially may get traded for a later 2019 1st and a 2020 1st, allowing us to trade a first from both years. Next years original 1st might get split up also. Said to be lots of draft gymnastics in play for SOS to get trades done and potentially another player. Not an A-grader but a fringe mid, potentially ADE. GWS and BRI also mentioned. No names just rumour and innuendo. (Cutler maybe???)

Don’t rule out Harley Bennell if we get Eddie. Last chance saloon but they think Eddie and Russell can get his head and body right. Really wants to play just needs the leadership and things to occupy him. Relies on getting Eddie though.

Jacobs doubtful. Phillips is expected to sign one year offer. Much cheaper option.

Also, Garlett and Schumacher not necessarily done at Blues. Kerr also could return if Levi is traded. Lots of interest in the Yarra Cruise King.

Source - amber fluid experts at Percy’s pub on Friday night. Got busy talking s**t the boys. Sit back and take it FWIW. Straight from the horses arses mouths. High-low credibility - wasn’t there.

Butler reportedly a done deal on top of Martin.

Cameron wants to play with Cripps.

Papley very likely, trade with * and Swans in works.

Draft picks being floated for trade this and next year to gain further picks. Pick 8 potentially may get traded for a later 2019 1st and a 2020 1st, allowing us to trade a first from both years. Next years original 1st might get split up also. Said to be lots of draft gymnastics in play for SOS to get trades done and potentially another player. Not an A-grader but a fringe mid, potentially ADE. GWS and BRI also mentioned. No names just rumour and innuendo. (Cutler maybe???)

Don’t rule out Harley Bennell if we get Eddie. Last chance saloon but they think Eddie and Russell can get his head and body right. Really wants to play just needs the leadership and things to occupy him. Relies on getting Eddie though.

Jacobs doubtful. Phillips is expected to sign one year offer. Much cheaper option.

Also, Garlett and Schumacher not necessarily done at Blues. Kerr also could return if Levi is traded. Lots of interest in the Yarra Cruise King.
Cameron has said he wants Collingwood

On CPH1831 using BigFooty.com mobile app