Bluemour Melting Pot XXI - Like seriously, the polar ice caps have got nothing on us

Silvagni and i dont rate Casboult ... you obviously do.
Can’t be bothered with your desired endless back and forth mate.
Give Macca a call ...
Being 5th in the John Nicholls Medal would suggest to me that he’s very much rated by the club... just not you it seems.

Yeah. It is a trade period. A period designed to

A) Get clubs the players they want and get players the club they want.
B) Get the AFL and it's media partners maximum publicity over the whole period.

The last afternoon is now televised. Dodoro, who works for/with NewsCorp as much as he does EFC lol, has done Stringer during the telecast and then Shiel during the telecast. Why would Joe and all its offshoots be any different.

It's all a show. It's business, but it's a show too.

It's show business.
Essendon have always used the media a throw back from sheedy

What a good looking guy.

https%3A%2F%2Fprod.static9.net.au%2F_%2Fmedia%2F2016%2F03%2F28%2F13%2F33%2FPittonet_2803_g_1000.jpg

Patty Mills?

I don't think we'll lose Casboult, but maybe that's more for him not wanting a fresh start than for the club desperate to hold onto him.

He's handy but in a roundabout way I don't want him to be too handy, taking away opportunity from others.
Very strange statement. I think you (and others) are still judging him on prior performances. 2019 he has been much better, more consistent and proven to be more versatile. Isn't it better for the developing players to earn their spots?

I can’t believe what they are about to do again but brining in Frost and Patton strengthens their bookends and will solve a huge issue for them. Unbelievable.
They will get Mitchell back next year and with some of the previous trades like Scully, Wingate, the improvements in their kids like Worpel, they could easily be flowering challenging again. :rolleyes: Probably get a favourable draw as well.:mad:
Thank goodness they didn’t land Cogs and keeping everything crossed they don’t pull another rabbit this trade period.

Frost is a headless chook that can’t kick and Patton is a 100+ kg player coming off 3 knee reco’s.
Hawthorn are trying to stop the tide coming in.
Maybe Silvagni, like he has done with Adelaide, recognises a club in denial of reality and will try to take advantage of that ...

Dodo doesn't seem to get how to haggle properly. Your initial asking price must be high, well above what your merch is actually worth, but you're not supposed to raise it during negotiations. That's not how it works.

I personally love Dodo’s haggling style -

Dodo: “Give us Pick 5 and your future 1st rounder for Daniher.”

Swans: “No”.

Dodo: “Okay. How about Daniher for Pick 5 and Papley.”

Swans: “That would be worse”

Dodo: “Okay. Final offer - Daniher for Heeney or Blakey and...

Swans: Let me guess Pick 5?

Dodo: “No. Daniher for Heeney or Blakey, Pick 5 and your future 1st rounder?”

Dodo: “Are you still there?”

Dodo: *Calls back...”*

Dodo: “The phone disconnected...”

Sydney seem to be holding up everyone else at the moment but I can't really blame them to be honest.

Imagine having to deal with SOS on one side and Dodo on the other. 2 stubborn bastards that have them both coming and going.

All they need now is to try and broker a trade with Freo and they'll have the trifecta.

I like Casboult. A lot. One of the reasons I want to keep him, aside from versatility and durability, is just the desire to "collect". We've had him 11 years; he has probably only played 2-3 of those at "AFL" level. But I am bullish on his 2020, and I wanna collect more return on our considerable investment.

But... But. HARKER's points are well made, and I think there are some non-negotiables in there. In particular, come hell or high water, we must find out whether Macreadie can play KPD at AFL level, and I am not sure his continued residence in the VFL side will teach us much.

Likewise, I want to see exposure for a (fit) DeKoning in the event of Kreuzer injury. Yes, he is raw, and he will cop some thrashings, but he will improve quickly. Look no further than the Bulldogs and Tim English - he was comically out of his depth the first 6-8 weeks of the season, but by the end of it, he was an AFL player. Would love to see a similar trajectory.

My emotional response is to keep Casboult, because I do think things like culture and fabric are important. But mostly, I am not sure what he is actually worth. Future second as straight swap? But if that was to Geelong (for example), that's basically #40 next year instead of this. Dunno.

I can see Gold Coasts perspective though picks greater than first round don't really have that much value. Especially when they can just pick Martin back up if he walks to the PSD draft. A player that would be in their top 25 would be much more attractive.

Sydney seem to be holding up everyone else at the moment but I can't really blame them to be honest.

Imagine having to deal with SOS on one side and Dodo on the other. 2 stubborn bastards that have them both coming and going.

All they need now is to try and broker a trade with Freo and they'll have the trifecta.

I Think it essendodoro holding everything up.
With their unrealistic demands for Daniher.

Imagine being Daniher, the bombers put him through the scandal then, apparently, mismanaged his injuries the last couple of years. Now the bombers won't let him go.

I can see Gold Coasts perspective though picks greater than first round don't really have that much value. Especially when they can just pick Martin back up if he walks to the PSD draft. A player that would be in their top 25 would be much more attractive.

Not if they’re thinking about trying to walk Greenwood through the PSD.
It’d just be MFC then and you’d think they’re maxing out their S/C or we’d do the contract to outbid them.

I personally love Dodo’s haggling style -

Dodo: “Give us Pick 5 and your future 1st rounder for Daniher.”

Swans: “No”.

Dodo: “Okay. How about Daniher for Pick 5 and Papley.”

Swans: “That would be worse”

Dodo: “Okay. Final offer - Daniher for Heeney or Blakey and...

Swans: Let me guess Pick 5?

Dodo: “No. Daniher for Heeney or Blakey, Pick 5 and your future 1st rounder?”

Dodo: “Are you still there?”

Dodo: *Calls back...”*

Dodo: “The phone disconnected...”

Surely the only response the Swans should have, is..

anigif_enhanced-24486-1456182141-2.gif

Not if they’re thinking about trying to walk Greenwood through the PSD.
It’d just be MFC then and you’d think they’re maxing out their S/C or we’d do the contract to outbid them.

True, but would Melbourne take Martin if GCS prioritises Greenwood?

KPD - If Jones or Weitering go down -
Marchbank may take one of the KPD's roles. Reckon he'd do O.K. on plenty of second talls.
Macreadie - 198cm KPD that didn't have a good year but may just need that carrot I mentioned. Sad to see him playing the way he is.

Ruck - If Kreuzer goes down
TDK - Opporunity, opportunity, opportunity is a wonderful thing.
Otherwise either Phillips or another ruckman we may bring in...and then there's McKay as relief ruck. He best get used to it.

KPF - If McKay or CCurnow go down.
Smaller forward line as is the case for many teams.
Not sure Casboult did anything particularly good when playing forward anyway.

I just go back to opportunity and holding onto Casboult as a 'break in case of emergency player' doesn't do it for me.
Is he a walk up start right now? I don't think so and that alone should be enough to send him our best wishes should he choose to walk for a better contract.

History says we have an “emergency” every week.

IMHO we need to keep Levi on list.

He can fill many holes from week to week and “in game” when injuries occur.

Very valuable player for 2020.

How about a poll?

Which has less substance?

Afl trade week or the masked singer.

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

Yikes, the masked singer looks like the dumbest thing I have ever seen on TV.

I don’t think I have watched an episode of anything on network TV for over 5 years. These commercials of what is out there does nothing to excite me about watching TV.