Bluemour Melting Pot XXI - Like seriously, the polar ice caps have got nothing on us

Not so sure Martin's getting to us in the PSD, given one of the AFL's mouthpieces in Barrett in his latest column seems to be pushing against it.

Ifyou don't throw a curveball offer to Jack Martin via your access to the first "live pick" in the pre-season draft ...
thenyou're being negligent. Take the shot.

Good old Clark Kent....needs to create drama and interest to justify his job !!!
Worry about Norf Melb Clark, let smart people take care of our club

Does Cochrane have some sort of issue with us specifically though?

There is a significant opportunity to assist Port obtain the goodies to get Lukosious (or however you spell it). if the SA bidding war shakes out an Oliver Wines then we need to have our ducks in a row.

Listening to him speak, he’s got a million and one problems so we’re probably one of them!

I reckon the Papley situation could be similar to Kelly (I hope) where he plays for Swans again next season and then requests a trade to us again and we are successful at getting him. By the end of next season we should be ready to have a strong play for the flag IMO so the addition of Papley and Wines (if true) would be perfect for our push.

It’s the real criticisms of Silvagni in this period. We allowed Sydney an option on #9, which really means Dodoro in this case.

And... is it any surprise that Scot Lucas would push the Papley to * approach.

It is the point that immediately came to mind for me anyway. I don't see Dodoro as the 'bad' guy in this situation. IMO Essendon were just not prepared to lose their #1 marquee player to Sydney for anything less than who knows what?

However it seems as some have pointed out that Papley and Martin were the two targets Carlton really wanted and no other players figured as prominently in calculations and negotiations. At the end of the day Sydney didn't wish to meet Essendon's expectations on Daniher - and our pick#9 was never combined with Sydney's pick#5 and offered to Essendon .

In this 'deal' Sydney don't come out looking particularly 'good'. Essendon ( like us with Gibbs) wanted more - but Daniher had declared for Sydney - usually thsi means a deal is done.

Of course following the amazing news re GCS President getting involved in some pseudo line in the sand theatre refusal of our terms re Martin - it just made the whole trade period 'distasteful' - froma Carlton perspective.

I think the treatment of Martin by Suns is now looking rather 'messy' - will it work out to Carlton's advantage ?

general question... will rd 1 be our home game because we played Richmond later in the year and it was there home game? Or will it be there’s because we alternate the rd 1 home games?

Edit: guess it will be theres unveiling the flag? Hope not

Not so sure Martin's getting to us in the PSD, given one of the AFL's mouthpieces in Barrett in his latest column seems to be pushing against it.

Ifyou don't throw a curveball offer to Jack Martin via your access to the first "live pick" in the pre-season draft ...

If we were in Melbourne’s position everyone on here would be demanding we grab him

general question... will rd 1 be our home game because we played Richmond later in the year and it was there home game? Or will it be there’s because we alternate the rd 1 home games?

Edit: guess it will be theres unveiling the flag? Hope not

With the way the AFL has been towards us this season I would say it will be Richmond's home game lol

Didn't Martin's manager reveal Melbourne had already made that approach and been politely, but firmly, rebuffed?

Melbourne wouldn't be able to afford it, not sure if they have a spare $1m in their salary cap after all of their spending over the past few years.

well that's it, call it off. Martin is going to Melbourne :rolleyes:

Get all the doomsdayers back, who have all disappeared since they realised we 'were' going to get Martin - bloody Barrett and his impact on all AFL (he never gets anything wrong)

Not a doomsayer, just a realist saying its not guaranteed. I still believe we are likely to get him, though what happens from here depends on the decisions of others.

Also if Gold Coast picks him back up again in the PSD the wailing and gnashing of teeth about the poor player wouldn't worry Cochrane in the slightest.

For those legal eagles could Martin ask for contractual terms that specified a requirement he meets face to face with Eddie Betts for 1 on 1 mentoring sessions 60 minutes prior to kick off?

Unless GC or Melb call Martin's bluff and pick him anyway or Martin changes his mind and agrees to terms with GC or Melb, he is a carlton player (90% he is a carlton player I reckon)

GCS won't draft him.

Despite the AFL/Cochrane whispering sweet nothings into Cameron's ear telling him to play tough guy against all the meanie clubs, the AFL knows it will open a massive can of worms and turn into a shit show. It could even end up in Court. AFL would lose.

Melbourne are the only legit threat. Price them out of the market. He can tell them he's moving on after a year if they select him. Roll the dice.

For Jack's sake I hope the AFL just tell GCS to delist him to end the GCS nightmare he's living which they won't allow him to escape. This entire unprecedented situation is the AFL's own doing. Like giving $100,000 to a kid that's been on Centrelink for 6 years and "hoping for the best".

Barrett hates Carlton.

Is a flog.

Unless GC or Melb call Martin's bluff and pick him anyway or Martin changes his mind and agrees to terms with GC or Melb, he is a carlton player (90% he is a carlton player I reckon)
That's the thing 90%!!

Could we swap our 1st next year for their 11. GC can call it a win as it's a first rounder. We slide marginally if at all (hopefully)
GC delist Martin, DFA?

Chris, my understanding is that you are not eligible to be picked as a DFA, if you have been offered a contract to stay.

Those rules may have changed though.

Lyons was a DFA as he and Dew did not see eye to eye and I believe no contract was offered.

If he hasn’t been offered one at any stage, Martin can be picked up as a DFA. But I think they have - or at least they will - eliminating his eligibility.

Lyons was contracted to the Suns in 2019, forget just being offered a new contract or not.

Didn't Martin's manager reveal Melbourne had already made that approach and been politely, but firmly, rebuffed?

Told them he only wants to play for carlton, doesn't stop them drafting him but I highly doubt any club would draft someone for $1.5m-$1.8m over 2 years if they don't really want to be there, GC included

No way would I be trading pick 9 for future picks that may be used in a future trade that may not even eventuate. We could easily see 4 best 22 players retire or be past it at the end of the season and guys like Willo and Doc are probably one bad injury away from being very unlikely to ever be players for us again. I’m sure there will also be kids we all rate who either don’t make it or end up as purely minor role players.
9 is a good pick and I hope we just take it to the draft and take the kid who we think is the best footballer available. Keep adding talent every year until we actually move out of the bottom 4 and have a better understanding of our list. So much of what we are basing our future on is purely potential and that is dangerous imo.

I can accept the Martin information, but how does a Melbourne official know that Wins will be at Carlton in 2 years time?

I'm pretty sure Dodoro would be thinking he'll be at the Bombres as they to were approached

Would love to see SOS come out and say we have real interest in Rowell and Anderson. Hopefully one of them is still there at our pick 9 and if not I think we will pay close attention to how they develop.

They'll go 1 & 2.
No chance that they are still there at 9 imo.