Bluemour Melting Pot XXI - Like seriously, the polar ice caps have got nothing on us

Barrett hates Carlton.

Is a flog.

Barrett is more a 'shock' and a 'gotcha' journalist. He doesn't hate Carlton, he finds any story that will capture 'many' views and clickbait most of the readers.

He is one of the media personell I dislike especially after the Tom Boyd saga with Luke Beveridge. A very disrespectful person tbh.

Martin at fthree for fwree, fwree at fthree, three for freee, free at three.

Don’t mind me, I’m just getting ready for PSD next month.

Is this phone call apology legit?

It makes a lot of sense... explains pretty much everything we have seen and heard, from the trade deadline onwards. Beforehand, our ITKs were unanimous that Martin was done, and now we know Cameron and Silvagni had agreed to terms. When they went to get it done, Cochrane overrides, because Cochrane.

Conspiracy theorists will say McLachlan told Cochrane to do it, but Gil isn't that dumb. The refusal to deal has hurt Gold Coast both materially (our draft picks forgone) and reputationally (new public preference for hostage situations), and the AFL wouldn't have wanted either of those things, just for the sake of posturing.

Not to mention Martin himself - as others have said, it is a bad look, and the last thing the AFL wants is a stoush with the Players Association about transfer rules when it's precipitated by moronic behaviour from the clubs. There's only one bloke in the equation too dumb to understand this stuff, and that's Cochrane.

That first evening, Cameron had to publicly carry the can for Cochrane's decision, because the guy is his boss. But clearly he has his own personal list-management reputation to consider, and it's not surprising that he would want his peers (where there is probably significant mutual respect) to know he had been coerced, and that reneging on agreements was not his personal thing.

The real question is, why hasn't Cameron quit? Who'd be a list manager where your professional decisions are going to be overruled by a dumb president who keeps a dog but likes to bark himself?

I can barely imagine the equivalent situation on our side. Lo Guidice overrides Silvagni, no you can't do that deal...? Silvagni would have told him to GAGF, and quit the club. And rightly so.

Will say more about the negligence of the club if if decides to dig in its heels, re-draft Martin and likely risk him sitting out the majority of the season. This is the same team that dropped him to make a statement. There’s a time and a place for sticking to your guns. In this instance, they declined a reasonable trade and risk him going for nothing or staying on at the club to add nothing because he’s disenfranchised with the club. Absolute rabble of a club.

Chris, my understanding is that you are not eligible to be picked as a DFA, if you have been offered a contract to stay.

Those rules may have changed though.

Lyons was a DFA as he and Dew did not see eye to eye and I believe no contract was offered.

If he hasn’t been offered one at any stage, Martin can be picked up as a DFA. But I think they have - or at least they will - eliminating his eligibility.

Lyons was contracted for the following year, and the Suns cut him (at his request).

It makes a lot of sense... explains pretty much everything we have seen and heard, from the trade deadline onwards. Beforehand, our ITKs were unanimous that Martin was done, and now we know Cameron and Silvagni had agreed to terms. When they went to get it done, Cochrane overrides, because Cochrane.

Conspiracy theorists will say McLachlan told Cochrane to do it, but Gil isn't that dumb. The refusal to deal has hurt Gold Coast both materially (our draft picks forgone) and reputationally (new public preference for hostage situations), and the AFL wouldn't have wanted either of those things, just for the sake of posturing.

Not to mention Martin himself - as others have said, it is a bad look, and the last thing the AFL wants is a stoush with the Players Association about transfer rules when it's precipitated by moronic behaviour from the clubs. There's only one bloke in the equation too dumb to understand this stuff, and that's Cochrane.

That first evening, Cameron had to publicly carry the can for Cochrane's decision, because the guy is his boss. But clearly he has his own personal list-management reputation to consider, and it's not surprising that he would want his peers (where there is probably significant mutual respect) to know he had been coerced, and that reneging on agreements was not his personal thing.

The real question is, why hasn't Cameron quit? Who'd be a list manager where your professional decisions are going to be overruled by a dumb president who keeps a dog but likes to bark himself?

I can barely imagine the equivalent situation on our side. Lo Guidice overrides Silvagni, no you can't do that deal...? Silvagni would have told him to GAGF, and quit the club. And rightly so.
Im really liking "GAGF". Im going to start using it more - work emails, messages, posts on here, love letters etc

Just trying to think positive.

Halfway through next year... We receive Martin for nothing. He is in All Australian form.

Our pick 9 recruit is favourite for the rising star.

Papley playing well (hurts abit) but rumours are is going to request a trade to Carlton at years end again.

That will change the thought process abit.

Just trying to think positive.

Halfway through next year... We receive Martin for nothing. He is in All Australian form.

Our pick 9 recruit is favourite for the rising star.

Papley playing well (hurts abit) but rumours are is going to request a trade to Carlton at years end again.

That will change the thought process abit.
Half way through next year? I think the talk is that we get him in the PSD.

Told them he only wants to play for carlton, doesn't stop them drafting him but I highly doubt any club would draft someone for $1.5m-$1.8m over 2 years if they don't really want to be there, GC included

Yeah, exactly. Barrett suggested Melbourne should make an offer to Martin and try and convince him they'd be a solid destination as well. Martin's manager said that has already happened and they've been told "no". Can't see a club paying massive overs for a player who has specifically told them he doesn't want to play for them. Most clubs are perfectly reasonable organisations, and won't **** with someone by employing them against their express wishes.

Barrett is more a 'shock' and a 'gotcha' journalist. He doesn't hate Carlton, he finds any story that will capture 'many' views and clickbait most of the readers.

He is one of the media personell I dislike especially after the Tom Boyd saga with Luke Beveridge. A very disrespectful person tbh.

Barrett has a black heart.

Lyons was contracted for the following year, and the Suns cut him (at his request).

Is there a possibility that Carlton, Melbourne and GC get together with the AFL and say “Look, he wants to get to Carlton. Melbourne have said they aren’t taking him. Just let it happen now”
Especially if we are led to believe that both list managers were happy for the trade to be done.
Six weeks of uncertainty will not help anyone.
Colin Young was on the radio yesterday talking about the impact the long trade period and the uncertainty around it was having on players. Surely a situation like this is not going to help.

How come?

"The winds of change are blowing through Footy Classified with Brownlow Medallist Chris Judd departing the Channel 9 show.
That’s unlikely to be the only change with a major revamp planned for 2020 including extra shows and new hosts.

After a tumultuous season in the hot seat where he struggled to combine it with his role as Carlton’s football director, Judd decided to walk away after the final show of the season last month"

Maybe on face value (and who gives a shit, its their player), swans probably went to SOS and said we cant get the deal done but just to let you know, we are going to offer papley and see if they want him etc.

If they offered papley, it means papley two-faced us, you angry at him?

:rolleyes:

Great, so come buy a car from me, give me a deposit and I’ll use your deposit for a week to bargain for another car for me, and then I’ll offer up the original car as a straight swap for the new car while still holding your deposit before I return it to you.

Lyons was contracted to the Suns in 2019, forget just being offered a new contract or not.

My interpretation too... Lyons was delisted by GCS, they in effect terminated an existing contract to do so.

Martin is contracted to what Oct 31? - If the Suns have a contract offer in front of Martin for a further period and then withdraw it they have delisted him. If the existing contract is allowed to run its course and a reasonable offer to renew is rejected he'll need to go through a draft. That part seems to me to be clear-cut.

The grey area is probably around whether the renewed terms from GCS are comparable to the terms that CFC offered. Many factors can come into play here, not just years and $. If the contract terms and employment conditions for Martin are deemed inferior or detrimental, (and that could include the possibility of a hostile work environment); then the AFL are on really difficult ground.

In short, if he enters the PSD; he'll need to agree to go to Melbourne or stay at GCS. I think we get him either way.

"The winds of change are blowing through Footy Classified with Brownlow Medallist Chris Judd departing the Channel 9 show.

That’s unlikely to be the only change with a major revamp planned for 2020 including extra shows and new hosts.

After a tumultuous season in the hot seat where he struggled to combine it with his role as Carlton’s football director, Judd decided to walk away after the final show of the season last month"

Judd wanted out of that show last year as well. But $$$ is $$$.

Lots of discussion about the pro's and con's of swapping this year's Pick 9 for future picks. It appears some of the issues we had this trade period was a lack of 'fire-power' (attractive picks) to get our trades done without another club assisting us. Does that add weight to the pro's side? Keep the discussion coming folks - very interesting reading!

I reckon the Papley situation could be similar to Kelly (I hope) where he plays for Swans again next season and then requests a trade to us again and we are successful at getting him. By the end of next season we should be ready to have a strong play for the flag IMO so the addition of Papley and Wines (if true) would be perfect for our push.

Agree. Like Kelly, and Gibbs before that. Both went the second year of requesting a trade.

I don't think a club would hold a player for 2 years in a row...they now have a year to prepare and plan for Papley's exit.
Essendon might since Dodo is a bit of a flog, but again they have a whole year to try to lure a Daniher replacement.

My interpretation too... Lyons was delisted by GCS, they in effect terminated an existing contract to do so.

Martin is contracted to what Oct 31? - If the Suns have a contract offer in front of Martin for a further period and then withdraw it they have delisted him. If the existing contract is allowed to run its course and a reasonable offer to renew is rejected he'll need to go through a draft. That part seems to me to be clear-cut.

The grey area is probably around whether the renewed terms from GCS are comparable to the terms that CFC offered. Many factors can come into play here, not just years and $. If the contract terms and employment conditions for Martin are deemed inferior or detrimental, (and that could include the possibility of a hostile work environment); then the AFL are on really difficult ground.

In short, if he enters the PSD; he'll need to agree to go to Melbourne or stay at GCS. I think we get him either way.

He prices himself out of the market. Simple.

Melb have brought in several highly paid players the last 2 years. They have many players out of contract next year.

They aren't going to throw 800k and risk
1. He doesn't play and they still have to pay him; or
2. He demands out after 12 months

How will those contract negotiations go for them? They'll throw 800k at someone who doesn't want to be there, and will only offer 500k to a servant of their club? Exodus. Brayshaw, Viney, Jones and others will all seek out.

I think Melbourne will just take the easy and safe option and steer clear of a potential media dumpster fire.