Mega Thread COVID-19 Carlton & the AFL - NO POLITICS/NO RELIGION/NO CONSPIRACIES ETC

If the games are stopped, I'll survive (providing I don't catch corona virus). But its border-line hysteria to describe 'pro- continue to play, without crowds supporters' as selfish monsters that want the elderly and vulnerable to die. The discussion is really about whether playing games is going to increase the viral danger anymore than everyday life activities. I think the reason is more symbolic than anything else.
Exactly. And they all would have quite happily sat and watched the AFLW on the weekend.

If people felt that strongly about it, they would flatly refuse to have anything to do with any of the AFL. Total hyprocrisy, supported by group mentality in this place.

By the same token, I work in a shopping centre, and I've seen nothing but people being polite and helping each other out.

The Coles where I work is meant to close at 10 on Fridays, but due to customer demand (and urgency) they stayed open for an extra half an hour. The last customer out just as she left the premises had an old lady try to enter the building, only to be rebuffed as the Coles had shut its doors. The woman cut open the toilet paper she had bought, and split the thing with her.

It's only in the media that I'm hearing stories about how awful people are being. It's not my experience of this at all.

Its the minority who are being dickheads, that who you always hear about - however i do believe this minority is growing larger by the day.

Im yet to know anyone who is a hoarder or going nuts but they probably hide in plain-sight.

Its the minority who are being dickheads, that who you always hear about - however i do believe this minority is growing larger by the day.

Im yet to know anyone who is a hoarder or going nuts but they probably hide in plain-sight.
I went Aldi left my partner took kids to skate park she waited 2,5 hrs for toilet paper to arrive ,
When I got there it was packed huge queues waiting some one asked what was with the queue I said Robbie Williams had tweeted surprise concert
Toilet paper arrrived 24 pack one pallet we could have taken 2 1 per person looked at all the people decided we would take 1 as some would miss out
Felt like a bit of a goose at the counter all the couples no kids had 2
But would still do the same again a lot of old people in the queue

If there’s any true concern for the elderly and the vulnerable ... how about supermarkets have dedicated hours for the elderly to do their shopping in peace without the threat of being stampeded by the low life panic striken pieces of shite hoarding stores like the world has ended ... dirty selfish filth ...
Woolies have started doing this I believe. A couple of hours in the morning dedicated to the elderly and disabled.

If games can be played without crowds and clubs are able to closely monitor/test players for sickness, is it still viable to go ahead? There will always be a risk, but it's whether the level of it can be mitigated enough. If it can be, I think it's a good thing for everyone if the big-time sports can continue. Obviously local sport is unworkable.

The experts are not in agreement about the best way to proceed, they disagree with each other.

Then surely we take the more extreme measure.

I can’t believe that the footy season will go ahead given what we know, and indeed what we don’t.

I love footy, I love sport, but it must take a back seat right now.

And if there's any chance it would increase the viral danger?
The chances would be far less than fueling your car up at a servo. All of society needs to shut down in order for this to be a balanced argument, and that might happen. At the moment it seems very selective.

The VFL are suspending the season.

Can't see how the AFL can continue.
Suspending the season has to be the way to go imo, especially since it hasn't started yet.

I could understand maybe if it was round 3 or 4 and the season is already underway trying closed door games for a week, maybe 2, but since it hasn't started I think it's easier to just push back the opening round a week or 2 and see where we stand then.

They should tie a delay to the state of emergency and that will give them time to come up with a viable solution.

So that would mean revisiting the season in 4 weeks.

Here's my take - shut it down now. This ridiculous "5 games in three weeks" theory, with extended benches, then taking time off, then coming back...laughable.

The season will be compromised, I don't really think any club is going to put stock in a "premiership" from a 12-round, conference-style season or whatever else the AFL peanuts come up with.

Call it off, and if by some miracle this thing has cleared up by June/July/August/whenever - run some SOO-type games, or exhibition matches, or glorified practice games without points on the line, and watch the MCG fill to the brim for a St Kilda v. NM game after everyone has been starved of sport for 5 months.

No point trying to jam some pointless footy in now, do the responsible thing and wait til the chief medical minds give the all clear - just be ready to give the fans what they want when that time comes.

I agree I wonder what the players thoughts are and if they make a statement either way
I haven’t heard many interviews as yet

The AFLPA have advised players to speak up if they do not want to play.

The chances would be far less than fueling your car up at a servo. All of society needs to shut down in order for this to be a balanced argument, and that might happen. At the moment it seems very selective.

Realistically, we need to shut down ALL contact as much as is practical.

Not just large gatherings, but ALL gatherings.

Obviously we can't have everyone going into solitary confinement. There are limits. Some people need to get care, supplies, medicine etc. Kids can't be left to fend for themselves etc.

But right now, you should only be in contact with people when you NEED to.

Playing footy is not a need.

This was already debunked as several NBA and football players have it. Being a healthy athlete doesn't make you immune.

I know, this was never bunked to begin with...

The point is, not only can athletes catch it, but they can also pass it on. Just like everyone else.

Life involves germs. Contact sport involves spread of germs. 99.999999% of germs are harmless, these ones aren't.

Here's my take - shut it down now. This ridiculous "5 games in three weeks" theory, with extended benches, then taking time off, then coming back...laughable.

The season will be compromised, I don't really think any club is going to put stock in a "premiership" from a 12-round, conference-style season or whatever else the AFL peanuts come up with.

Call it off, and if by some miracle this thing has cleared up by June/July/August/whenever - run some SOO-type games, or exhibition matches, or glorified practice games without points on the line, and watch the MCG fill to the brim for a St Kilda v. NM game after everyone has been starved of sport for 5 months.

No point trying to jam some pointless footy in now, do the responsible thing and wait til the chief medical minds give the all clear - just be ready to give the fans what they want when that time comes.
The thing that worries me is, can all the clubs & the AFL wear the costs of a non-season?

Could be as much as $420M lost in tv rights to the AFL. I'd guess that CFC will probably lose in the $8-12M, significantly more if memberships are (partly) refunded.

Last year we had total revenue of $71.1M with a profit of $6.3M. In that we had $16.1M of 'club hospitality venue costs' while receiving $13.9M from the AFL, $19M from 'club hospitality venue revenue', $15.6M from 'membership, gate receipts and consumer' and $1.8M from merchandise. There's also another $13M in 'partnerships, events and commercial' which could be effected by a non-season.

The AFL have already advised clubs to 'find' $5M in their budgets for this year. They have a $120M fund set aside for protection, however even if it was divided evenly among the 18 clubs with none going to the AFL themselves, that $6.6M won't cover the losses each club will experience.

The NRL reportedly will last 3 months before going broke if their season is canned. We're in a much better position, but it still could get very ugly. Wouldn't surprise me to see all clubs (plus the AFL, broadcasters and other affiliated businesses) forced to make redundant a bunch of staff from admin, membership, marketing, etc.

If the comp continues, even behind closed doors (no gate/venue profits) and for a reduced number of games, we as a code are in a much better position than a straight up cancelled season, as you'd assume there's still the ~$2M per game in broadcast rights coming in.

IMO at this stage the season should go ahead. AFL football clubs have been told to ensure players and their contacts engage in exemplary social distancing techniques. It would actually be an interesting real life experiment to see how long all players from all clubs were able to be kept immune from the virus.

If the footy season is cancelled the loss of revenue from the TV rights would be huge. Assuming Carlton and Richmond have virus-free lists on Thursday, why not play the game. Sure, if one player from the game subsequently develops C-19 within the contagious time period then all players from both teams would need to go into social isolation. Because the health of the players is so closely monitored (and the cost of constant temperature checks insignificant to the lost revenue from not playing a game) I do not see how playing the games until the virus hits (as it most probably will at some stage) represents a significant vector for the spread of the virus.

What should be done with the season should be decided when we know what the shape of the season will ultimately look like.

However I would be happy for the AFL to announce now that the season will be reduced to 17 rounds with the extra available rounds set aside to enable catch-up games if, when it is necessary.

The FFA (Football Federation of Australia) has just released a statement saying the remainder of the A League and W League season will be played behind close doors

In my opinion (rightly or wrongly), round 1 of the AFL will still go ahead, then they will reevaluate the situation after the weekend.

Although things may get worse before it gets better globally, I am extremely confident we won't have the same crisis and pandemic that is currently engulfing Italy and Spain (we have a mich better medical system and our climate and land space makes it harder for the pandemic to spread so quickly, and in mass numbers)

Of course every precaution and necessity must be ensured, but I also believe we have to have a measured and controlled response to it, especially towards our children and young ones (we don't want to scare or terrify the wee ones that the end of the world is nigh)

Unfortunately for me, at the moment it seems to be peak Hay Fever/Allergy season, my nose has been drIpping like a tap for days, which always does at this time of the year (i have very conjested sinuses) but my breathing/asthma is fine.

You say that like there isn't a cost. Everything has a cost for the benefit. It's about getting the balance right.

No, I say that like the cost is irrelevant in this instance.

Which it is.

Businesses are going to get smashed for a while, the AFL is no exception.

Gil may want to keep things going to protect his pockets, but he doesn’t have ultimate say here.

I have no doubt he’ll be overruled, should the need arise.

Mega Thread COVID-19 Carlton & the AFL - NO POLITICS/NO RELIGION/NO CONSPIRACIES ETC