State of Origin Western Australia - Series XVI State of Origin Team Thread

Our code of conduct says we can accept small offerings.

Speaking of which, one dropped off a whole bunch of cakes!

I cannot follow or abide by, anything that has the acronym COC ......

I got two nice bottles of red and an Italian Chrissy cake. Not bad.

But the peanut I just started work for decided it’d be a good idea to have the work Christmas party while I was in the bush. And not tell me about it until I got back. ‘Oh by the way, we had the Christmas lunch the other day, it was a blast...’. 🤣

Put ricin in his pudding ... its easy to make ;)

But the peanut I just started work for decided it’d be a good idea to have the work Christmas party while I was in the bush. And not tell me about it until I got back. ‘Oh by the way, we had the Christmas lunch the other day, it was a blast...’. 🤣
To be fair if I worked with you, I'd do the same thing.

Ours got changed from a wine tour to a high tea with zero consultation. It was actually the ****ing worst.

I had a boss like that once. ****ing used car salesman. People scattered around the Pilbara earning him millions and not a second thought about holding a Christmas party when everyone comes home for Christmas.

I had a boss like that once. ******* used car salesman. People scattered around the Pilbara earning him millions and not a second thought about holding a Christmas party when everyone comes home for Christmas.

My company does not allocate funds for xmas parties. It is a top 50 asx one too.

Sorry to hear that. My current company is small enough that all of our offices get together once a year to recognise staff achievements and have a social 'thanks for your efforts' kinda day. We couldn't do that this year because of Covid so instead, the managing director and the principal in charge of HR went around to all of the offices to do the recognitions and put on a lunch. And that was outside of each office having their own Christmas do. We have a ****load of people who have been with us for 20+ years.

Sorry to hear that. My current company is small enough that all of our offices get together once a year to recognise staff achievements and have a social 'thanks for your efforts' kinda day. We couldn't do that this year because of Covid so instead, the managing director and the principal in charge of HR went around to all of the offices to do the recognitions and put on a lunch. And that was outside of each office having their own Christmas do. We have a fu**load of people who have been with us for 20+ years.

Big companies shy away from it now days, rather they tend to do a corporate day that is all inclusive, normally in capital cities so they can yammer/linkedin it ... has **** all about **** all to do with chrissy cheer mate.

Big companies shy away from it now days, rather they tend to do a corporate day that is all inclusive, normally in capital cities so they can yammer/linkedin it ... has fu** all about fu** all to do with chrissy cheer mate.
Yeah I'm curious how my company will develop in that regard. We're small enough to fit everyone in a single room at the moment but I'm not sure I'll be able to say that in 5-10 years.

We weren’t meant to have EOY functions this year because of Covid stuff. We normally do, they can be pretty large events. Anyway my boss took us to a bar in Southbank for lunch last week & put a tab on for a couple of hours. He’s a good egg.

Yeah I'm curious how my company will develop in that regard. We're small enough to fit everyone in a single room at the moment but I'm not sure I'll be able to say that in 5-10 years.
Do you think ppl will have put on some weight?

Our chrissy do was just a lunch this year with beers on for a few hours. Usually its a massive night (and expected to be bigger as we just went through a merger), hopefully back to normal next year.

We also have a great social club so wasn't too gutted about not having a big party. Hopefully merger doesn't mess with that as its an absolute rort. $10 a month and you make your money back off 1 event easily (usually at least 6 good ones a year).

Yeah I’ve paid my own way at every work Christmas party I’ve ever been to
I actually though that was normal but perhaps it’s just industry specific
This year it was a socially distanced dinner with an evil secret santa :)

Yeah I’ve paid my own way at every work Christmas party I’ve ever been to
I actually though that was normal but perhaps it’s just industry specific

This year it was a socially distanced dinner with an evil secret santa :)
The least a company can do is pay for a meal and some drinks after a whole year. Rough life MWPP!

Our chrissy do was just a lunch this year with beers on for a few hours. Usually its a massive night (and expected to be bigger as we just went through a merger), hopefully back to normal next year.

We also have a great social club so wasn't too gutted about not having a big party. Hopefully merger doesn't mess with that as its an absolute rort. $10 a month and you make your money back off 1 event easily (usually at least 6 good ones a year).
No one cares.

The least a company can do is pay for a meal and some drinks after a whole year. Rough life MWPP!
I actually wonder if it’s a fear of negative publicity that prevents it (picturing the headlines that would happen if public funding was spent on that instead of essential services ...)

And as a fridge you are especially lucky your company/ies are willing to pay to refill you!

No one cares.
I'm sorry the people I work with actually like me and invite me to the Christmas parties. Know you can't relate :)

I actually wonder if it’s a fear of negative publicity that prevents it (picturing the headlines that would happen if public funding was spent on that instead of essential services ...)

And as a fridge you are especially lucky your company/ies are willing to pay to refill you!
Yeah probably, the general public do like to complain about literally anything.

I'm sorry the people I work with actually like me and invite me to the Christmas parties. Know you can't relate :)

Yeah probably, the general public do like to complain about literally anything.

On a serious note, the company I work for is a safety critical industry and the last thing a big company needs is half its work force to turn up pissed the next day (or still partially intoxicated) and commence work in a heavy haulage environment, which has its own government agency specifically over watching it ;)

Also due to the nature of the industry with wildly swinging shift (start/finish) times. It is infeasible to pick one day/time to facilitate what should be an all inclusive celebration ;)

I give my guys cash for Xmas. I reckon a Christmas Hamper goes along way.

You belong in a ****** hamper campaigner, right next to those useless, wierdo, cardboard, almond infused wafer things nobody eats.

State of Origin Western Australia - Series XVI State of Origin Team Thread