Opinion Jeff Kennett News, Media etc.

• Thread starter Thread starter Goldhawk

If he’s the polished media performer that you think he is, he’d be able to wrangle dollars out of the Tassie government without pissing off half the membership base with talk of relocation.
Though to be fair ive never seen the supporter base more united than I've seen them against his idiot comments

He just publicly proposed and endorsed relocating the club he runs to another state, its reprehensible. This is the biggest threat to our existence since the 96 merger talks, our leader wants us out of Melbourne. The existence of Hawthorn, our footy club, would instantly die if this ever happened. I'm so upset and enraged by his comments today, I'm sure many other fans are too.

On SM-A530F using BigFooty.com mobile app

He just publicly proposed and endorsed relocating the club he runs to another state, its reprehensible. This is the biggest threat to our existence since the 96 merger talks, our leader wants us out of Melbourne. I'm so upset and enraged by his comments today, I'm sure many other fans are too.

At least we know we’re no chance of going and that he’s just full of shit.

At least we know we’re no chance of going and that he’s just full of sh*t.

He'd have to somehow beat 60,000 Melbourne based members in a vote, which would likely never happen considering how hard we fought and won against merger, but it's still very distressing that our leader publicly initiates and backs moving the club away from its home.[QUOT

Don’t care what motives or games Jeff is playing in the media or with the AFL/Tassie Govt but as a supporter and member for many years those comments, suggestions rocked me today. A leader should create an environment of unity and strength ...... today he only created division, uncertainty and angst.

With the questions I would have wanted to see Jeff hit it on the head immediately and say that the Hawks have always and will be a Melbourne club and don’t any of you bring up and mention that ridiculous idea again!

We would consider it 🤮

If he’s the polished media performer that you think he is, he’d be able to wrangle dollars out of the Tassie government without pissing off half the membership base with talk of relocation.
Jeff is the opposite of a polished media performer.

All media know they can go to him for a comment on anything and they'll get a great sound grab for something, cause a stir and all the while we suffer

Talk about an over reaction.

JK has been playing the media game longer than some of us have been alive.

When you read his comments in full and in context it’s obvious what he’s trying to achieve.

We can debate his methods but there’s no doubting where JK’s heart is. He’ll be a Melbourne and Hawks man until the day he dies. Everything he does has Hawthorns best interests at heart. In this current climate I’m happy for him to scrap for every dollar he can get.

When he returned as president he gave an interview which was laconic but got really passionate when the subject turned to Tasmania. Maybe he’s playing a long game, maybe he’s fun of shit.. I don’t see a third option

He has made the tassie pres sound sensible though in comparison

I mean, it does seem like a solid strategy. Freak out a chunk of the supporter base by publicly dangling an imaginary carrot in front of a cagey sponsor so you can continue to bankroll a major project that itself proves the carrot is imaginary, which the sponsor already knows anyway.

At least we know we’re no chance of going and that he’s just full of sh*t.
I hope you're right, with someone like Jeff in charge who knows what's possible. He'd stop at nothing to realize his own personal vision, and once upon a time that was something admirable which worked in our favor but when someone like that loses touch with those they lead things can go south pretty quickly.

Its not uncommon to see this sort of behavior from leaders who are so secure in their position they're no longer forced to be accountable, especially when they have an ego as big as Jeff's. Privatizing Victoria was "unthinkable" but he did it anyway since he didn't give a shit what anyone else thought, and never has. He may not be able to relocate Hawthorn without the support of others but he could tear the club apart by trying.

Jeff is the opposite of a polished media performer.

All media know they can go to him for a comment on anything and they'll get a great sound grab for something, cause a stir and all the while we suffer

Bruce Ruston replacement

I would guess that the influential family prepared to pump millions of dollars into the Hawks/Dingley project will be reconsidering after today.

On a day it became apparent we might not play tassie games for a second year running too

I’ll just leave one concept here. Hawks went to tassie well before Jeff and it was because colonial based games would lose money.

The AFL now owns the stadium and there’s much better deal going for the MCG too. half the reason to be in tassie is gone

I have always supported Kennett, particularly in his role as President of our club. I have never spoken ill of him and avoided those discussions where he is perceived to open his mouth to the detriment of the club.

But fair dinkum, if he sells us to Tassie, I will shoot the c*&t myself.

Jeff is always about Jeff. He is Mr. dial-a-quote because he loves being in the panel on the morning show or sky news, or flap his lips on radio. He just wants to be talked about. He wants to be seen as a firebrand. He wants to be indefatigable Jeff.

Jeff was never part of the Hawthorn culture and he never will be. I don't think he actually even gets it. For starters, his public persona represents everything Jeans, Kennedy, Parkin and Joyce hated, and I bet Clarkson too.

I'm just a little worried the club may of lost its way at this stage.
Was at the AGM when Jeff we launched the 20 by 2050 campaign.
At this point in time we're miles off it.

Jeff is always about Jeff. He is Mr. dial-a-quote because he loves being in the panel on the morning show or sky news, or flap his lips on radio. He just wants to be talked about. He wants to be seen as a firebrand. He wants to be indefatigable Jeff.

Jeff was never part of the Hawthorn culture and he never will be. I don't think he actually even gets it. For starters, his public persona represents everything Jeans, Kennedy, Parkin and Joyce hated, and I bet Clarkson too.
He wanted us to merge with Melbourne in 96, he definitely does not get it.

I have emailed Jeff in the past and he has responded to me - suffice to say he checks his emails. My suggestion would be to email him a passionate but non-abusive message to his email:

jeffk@hawthornfc.com.au

Let him know as a Hawthorn supporter/member you won’t stand for any relocation talk.

Thanks Ned.

I never thought I would send an email to Jeff but I felt compelled tonight. It’s a kick in the guts for all us members that paid up last year through nothing but love for the club.
Not sure it will do anything in the grand scheme, but I do feel a little better for saying my piece.

Thanks Ned.

I never thought I would send an email to Jeff but I felt compelled tonight. It’s a kick in the guts for all us members that paid up last year through itching but love for the club.
Not sure it will do anything in the grand scheme, but a do feel a little better for saying my piece.

Have already put my money where my mouth was. Was cathartic at the least.

Have also emailed him. Its time we stand up to him and question his motives, make our thoughts heard, instead of just venting in bigfooty threads. The more that email him, the more likely he is to at least shut up