Autopsy Round 2, 2021: Hawthorn defeated by Richmond

Quite happy with the performance. We are competitive which is what we want in a rebuild. Would’ve liked them to take on the game more, hesitant around the play.

Thought Howe, barring a few mistakes, did well. Anyone else noticed TOB kept getting nudged out in every marking contest?

Pleasing effort considering the opposition were at full strength and we were missing 3 of our best players. Thought CJ, Brockman and Day all stood up. CJ could be a superstar in a year or two if he can tidy up a few of those silly errors.

Hartigan, Frost and Dimma were in our best for mine. Lynch is such an overrated poser and Hartigan beat him comprehensively. Howe was good and Phillips and Impey improved as the game went on. Morrison and Cegs had better second halves.

Midfield is a concern. I know Richmond has an excellent midfield but we got badly outplayed in this area. Mitchell got heaps of it but did little damage, Jaeger had a few handy touches but burned it too often (actually looked better playing off a HFF), Worps struggled but the way he’s being used isn’t helping and Shiels was ineffectual.

If O’Connor tags Mitchell next week he should drag him to half forward and give Worpel, Jaeger and hopefully Wingard first crack in the centre.

Plenty of positives from today. Certainly not disgraced by a very formidable side.

Oh well - I think we're actually better then what we thought we'd be.

The midfield is still a massive massive problem. Tich, O'meare and Worpel with Shiels just does not work. 1 is brownlow medalist. 1 is a PCM medalist and the other cost us a fortune. Unfortunately Worpel is the only one with trade currency - what do you do with that to move forward, since the two big names are going nowhere?

Ned Reeves step on up please.

I can see the forward line coming good.

CJ is a ripper. Him and Day forming a good combo

Burgs - hmmmm

Good signs I reckon except for this midfield problem. Phillips got shown up a bit with the heat on, re disposal and desicion making, but he wasn't alone from the middle age group of players that's for sure.

I missed a bit because I love Kayo - not sure this is going to come across about how I truly feel about Kayo

Hardwick ran to support in defence a lot and ended up with 31 touches. Would be close to a career best.

Just quietly doing his business but watching the game and seeing the numbers he is in AA form.

Cant play 2 rucks when we don't have a marking fwd FFS!! Lewis has to play this week.

Give em the cup now. They are next level.

We tried but couldn’t handle the pressure. Then just let them walk it through our defence all of the last quarter.

Brockman a gun.
CJ settled and will be elite.
Hardwicks best game for the club.
Phillips can't kick.
Morrison improving.
Impey getting fit.
Day had good patches.
Ollie not up to it.

Some parting of the clouds moments.

Need Chad this week.

Quite happy with the performance. We are competitive which is what we want in a rebuild. Would’ve liked them to take on the game more, hesitant around the play.

Thought Howe, barring a few mistakes, did well. Anyone else noticed TOB kept getting nudged out in every marking contest?

Yep. Richmond shove in every contest knowing maybe 20% will be called. Much easier than relying on a 50/50 contest.

Can’t fault the effort but the skills weren’t there today especially with the delivery into the forward 50. Their well-drilled defensive unit + our fairly inexperienced forwardline + poor delivery meant we struggled to score. Concerned with TOB.

I felt our defensive unit was great. Given their good ball use we limited their ability to score albeit they missed some opportunities. The running halfbacks were good once they game settled & Frosty was fantastic. Hardwick has been a different beast so far this year.

Concerned about our midfield. Mitchell & Worpel are struggling to gel together badly. O’Meara & Sheils were both disappointing with their impact. Howe was probably our most impactful in key moments which is a significant worry. I’m not sure how we fix it.
Wingard in there helps.

Tigers in second gear.
Mate ... watching the Tigers ... made me think ... for the first time in a long time ... this is what we used to do to teams.

Just leaving the ground. Not too disappointed, about as expected. I regret supporting Tigers in the 17 GF, they clearly pinched one early and are now peaking. Will take a lot to stop them.

CJ was the highlight. By the time final q came along, the crowd would get a buzz every time he went near it. So great to watch.

TOB I’m not sure how much more can take. Have always been a defender but he just fizzed today.

Saw Birchall outside the G, great to see him there

Effort was decent enough. The decision making was terrible though. Seemed to be constantly too slow to get back off the mark or miss the easy short option going forward to go to a 1 on 2 contest.

Got caught goal side a bit too often as well which made it too easy for them to go through the middle. Defense did well to keep them to 78 with the amount of free ball they had through the middle

Autopsy Round 2, 2021: Hawthorn defeated by Richmond