Wimmera Football League

Has anyone any info on how great western recruit Shane Field is traveling? I seen him kick a bag of 12 goals in the Maryborough Castlemaine league a few seasons ago and just wondered how he will go in the WFL..

When Great Western win their fourth HDFL premiership in a row and are accepted into the WFL we'll let you know....check back in about a millenium or two....unless you are wondering if he'll get a kick in the Warriors or Rats magoos...

For footballs sake i hope every team can be competitive this year and make it an even competition. As strong as Horsham is we would like to see every team be able to put a competitive team onto the park. Does anyone know what Andy Carter, Horsham United is doing this year?

Has gone up to Qld not sure where his knee still isn't all that great

Word on the street is clinton midgley will kick very few goals this year as he has a new love interest and has been sighted at family functions, this is from a credable source and i am led to believe he has been missing training to hang with this lovely lass, can anyone confirm this?
This is apparently correct, also heard the big man was looking at his options to re-locate to warrak and work for elders, also possibility of being one of mark greigs gun recruits in a bid to consolidate his love for this young lass!!!!!!!

I remember hearing about young clinton being in action with a radio personailty from 103.1 power FM, and if the stories are correct he did perform like the Italian Stallion

Ararat will not make the top 5 Henry. They will be in for a long year i think. They probably over achieved last year.
Joe Waring must of improved a fair bit since a few years ago to be getting close to getting a game with the Tassie Devils.

they probalbly wont make the 5 this year however stating that they overachieved last year confirms you no nothing what your on about.
Ararats best 22 last year werent that far off horsham and dimmy the only problem was getting everyone on the track and fit.

just wondering how the burras are going to shape up this year. Have they any big recruits.

they probalbly wont make the 5 this year however stating that they overachieved last year confirms you no nothing what your on about.
Ararats best 22 last year werent that far off horsham and dimmy the only problem was getting everyone on the track and fit.

Sorry Beton5 but Ararats best 22 not far behind Hsm and Dim is a bit far off, like about 100pts they beat them by both times.:confused:

Thats a real shame, absolute gun and one of the greatest people you will ever meet. Clearly the best regional footballer I have ever seen.

Has he retired or is just taking another year off because he is reasonably young still (31?). I hope he pulls the boots on again and I catch him playing.

Thats a real shame, absolute gun and one of the greatest people you will ever meet. Clearly the best regional footballer I have ever seen.

Has he retired or is just taking another year off because he is reasonably young still (31?). I hope he pulls the boots on again and I catch him playing.

I think this is just another year off that could turn in to permanant retirement, He is one of the best country footballer's and if not the best ararat has had, and is a awesome bloke! If you think watching him play is good, you should try playing along side him!! FANTASTIC

sixteen strikes and your out

I saw a intersting Article in todays Mail Times

Sixteen strikes and you are out
Matthew Hillard and Megan hustwaite

WIMMERA footballers who regularly misbehave could be forced out of the game for life under a new AFL Victoria policy.

The policy, rubber stamped by Victorian Country Football League, rules that once a player has accumulated 16 matches worth of suspensions, they will be banned from the sport forever.

The radical new move will count retrospectively.

This means if a player has already been banned for 16 matches throughout their senior football career, they would be advised if they are suspended again, their football career, either as a player, coach, or administrator, is over.

The new policy has drawn a mixed reaction from Wimmera football administrators.

Horsham District Football League chairman Grant Kuchel said while he wasn't sure whether any of its players would be in immediate trouble from the ruling, there would be some players no longer in the league that would be borderline.

"We certainly will be sending something to the clubs advising them of the change in the rule," Mr Kuchel said.

Club representatives voted at the last league presidents and secretaries meeting to write to the VCFL about the rule change.

"We will be sending a letter expressing our disappointment that the decision was made without any consultation from the leagues," Mr Kuchel said.

But Wimmera League chief commissioner Gary Jones said the rule had merit.

"I'm all for it," Mr Jones said.

"We want to be able to guarantee our players are protected.

"I can understand where they are coming from; there's people around who may be able to intimidate or win games by doing the wrong thing," he said.

"They are trying to take that out of the game and make them a bit more responsible."

Wimmera players, coaches and administrators have divided opinions on the new policy.

New Nhill coach Gary Davidson, who has also led Cairns, Beulah and Pimpinio teams, said he had mixed thoughts on the ruling.

"It's a bit harsh to say once you've struck 16 you can never play again. Especially when you consider the fact that we don't have video evidence at the tribunal to provide conclusive evidence of incidents," he said.

"Perhaps the real issue is finding suitable penalties for different offences.

"I must admit I haven't been reported before so I can't talk about controlling yourself or temper flaring in a situation on the ground, however, it seems a bit harsh to me."

Warrack Eagles playing coach and Wimmera League representative Marc Greig described the new ruling as a `bold move'.

"I know why they're bringing it in because we want to get rid of thugs thumping blokes left, right and centre," he said.

"Especially when we've got juniors coming through and we're trying to promote senior football, you want to rule it out.

"I think it's a good idea.

"I just think the penalty raises questions."

Greig offered his thoughts on an alternate solution.

"I think if a bloke has been suspended for 16 matches during a period of eight to 10 years then ban him, but not during a career," he said.

"Look at the lifespan of a country footballer; some guys start playing senior footy at 15 and play until they are old blokes filling in in the reserves. If you get suspended for minor offences, say once a year, they soon add up."

Wimmera Umpires Association president Graeme Cox said he was unsure how his members felt on the issue.

He said he was yet to discuss the ruling with other umpires but would raise the topic before the start of the season.

"From our point of view I haven't had the chance to speak to our coaches, umpires and executive yet, but it will be something we discuss," he said.

VCFL operations manager Brett Connell said the country football peak body were fully supportive of the policy.

"We see no problems at all with it," he said.
--

What do you think is it a good idea or a bad idea?

would certainly cut down on the abusing towards Umpires
which i support Players shouldn't abuse umpires or they may find they won;t have any umpires to umpire the games . actually They should be Suspended like any other incident

Re: sixteen strikes and your out

Maybe the go would be like the current Motor Vehicle Act you start with so many points and lose you VCFL registration for 2 many suspensions. For example you lose 1 point for abuse,2 points for swearing, 4 points for striking and so on if you lose your total points within a period then your VCFL rego is revoked.

good suggestion

next they wil bring cameras to the games to catch any incidence or the Umpire will just do as normal and make reports Players & Supporters should accept the Umpires Decisions wonder how if any players or supporters takes up Umpiring see how they like coping abuse ;) might make em think twice before saying anything

make em do Goal umpiring to show em its not a easy job many migth think it is i can tell you and others who do it. It isn't a lot of concetrating and ya gotta prepare to move
its hard when theirs players in your personal area

what a nice rain we had On Tuesday a few more like that before rd 1 would improve all grounds even if their ok make em even Better :thumbsu:
likes Warracknabeal so brown when i drove past recently to have a look needs alot of Rain to Green it up least their not at home rd 1 so gives it more time
so hope they won't have to revese our Home games which could happen if we don't get more rain in next few weeks
times running out fast

i noticed city oval looks decent not sure about saints ground i was going to have a look Yesterday but fogot to look how long be before were like bendigo and have to push our start to a later start
as long as next year dosn't get Worser then this year

SOooooo the Guys who get 16 weeks over 25 years (ages 15>40 or so) get the same severe penalty as the hot heads who get an average of 4 weeks a year...thats just wrong

next they wil bring cameras to the games to catch any incidence or the Umpire will just do as normal and make reports Players & Supporters should accept the Umpires Decisions wonder how if any players or supporters takes up Umpiring see how they like coping abuse ;) might make em think twice before saying anything

make em do Goal umpiring to show em its not a easy job many migth think it is i can tell you and others who do it. It isn't a lot of concetrating and ya gotta prepare to move
its hard when theirs players in your personal area

what a nice rain we had On Tuesday a few more like that before rd 1 would improve all grounds even if their ok make em even Better :thumbsu:
likes Warracknabeal so brown when i drove past recently to have a look needs alot of Rain to Green it up least their not at home rd 1 so gives it more time
so hope they won't have to revese our Home games which could happen if we don't get more rain in next few weeks
times running out fast

i noticed city oval looks decent not sure about saints ground i was going to have a look Yesterday but fogot to look how long be before were like bendigo and have to push our start to a later start
as long as next year dosn't get Worser then this year
bery good engerish andyt30 :D

Hawks&proud, I didn't know you had a doctorate in English Literature.
You youself have been known to speak a whole new language yourself after a few drinks!!!
Will the Wimmera league have to move many games to Sundays to utilise the better grounds like Ararats oval???
Any comments from anyone??