Bluemour Melting Pot XXIX

I think comes with a laziness in how people address each other
My brother hated when a guy would come over and how’s it going boys it instantly gave them superiority
He’d straight away say I’m not a boy I’m a man that then put the guy on the back foot reclaiming the power dynamic

Faux outrage bullshit, everyone feels the need to be outraged about something nowadays no matter how small the issue seems to be, even terms of endearment.

Fk me, absolutely nothing wrong with coming over to a group of blokes and saying How’s it going boys or fellas. And that’s for a group of blokes you know well or maybe not so well.

If I was the guy who said it in the instance you described above I’d immediately think your brother was a bit of a dick.

I am getting very, very close to just up and abandoning AFL for local footy or VFL.

Why read anything, if all it is is from a content farm? Why listen to any analysis, if all it is is provocateurs seeking to get you to react? Why watch the games, if the commentary is designed to cultivate parasocial relationships in middle aged men and doesn't even come close to adequate discussion of the very reason we're watching?

Hell, why even watch the games?

What's a ruck infringement? Can anyone tell me? What's the difference between contact below the knees and kicking in danger? What's a dive? Thought it was against the rules, but it's happening almost every week. Are players footballers or are they rules lawyers? Wouldn't know, based on how many opinions on frees we're seeing them share in games. Does in the back exist anymore? What's a high free kick or a trip?

What's a throw?

Don't know how much enjoyment I'm getting out of the game these days, CJMB. Some of that's because the games haven't been great and the rules are incomprehensible for everyone especially the umpires, but some of that's because how we feel about something - regardless of how much you try to avoid it - is shaped by the narratives around it.

And the narrative the AFL is telling is a glittering, expensive, nostalgia evoking lie.
Yes
But apart from that it's a fun ride eh?
:p

Faux outrage bullshit, everyone feels the need to be outraged about something nowadays no matter how small the issue seems to be, even terms of endearment.

Fk me, absolutely nothing wrong with coming over to a group of blokes and saying How’s it going boys or fellas. And that’s for a group of blokes you know well or maybe not so well.

If I was the guy who said it in the instance you described above I’d immediately think your brother was a bit of a dick.

You might be right my brother spent a lot of time in pentrige H division round the time of chopper during the trench coat wars
He was easily offended he was amazed how people could speak to him especially as he new what he could do them
I’m not as easily offended I’m more inclined to think the person is just lazy and ignorant but since he pointed it out to me I have seen that many times not always it’s some trying take control and power in a group dynamic
Jail makes you very tuned to power dynamics but it also makes you paranoid
I think there’s a bit each way

Fellas guys gentlemen are all more even approach you’re all on the same level

I think comes with a laziness in how people address each other
My brother hated when a guy would come over and how’s it going boys it instantly gave them superiority
He’d straight away say I’m not a boy I’m a man that then put the guy on the back foot reclaiming the power dynamic
Someone should tell Shania Twain, her biggest hit starts with Lets Go Girls.

There's a pretty big Beyonce song....

Who runs the world, girls!

Only an out of touch male would have a problem with it, as they take offense on behalf of others.

My partner has girls nights, she goes shopping with the girls, etc etc.

I think everyone who plays sport calls eachother boys. "Lets go boys!" Etc.

AFL players and coaches do it all the time, cricketers do it.. every sport I've ever played does it.

As for correcting someone and reclaiming the "power" by saying I'm not a boy I'm a man when someone says boys.. that might be the most laughable thing I've ever read on here :tearsofjoy:

Power Stance Pyke?
He let that happen.
He let the camp happen and continue to happen as it unfolded.
No way as Head Coach.
No freaking way.

Spot on. Let him go to Collingwood. They walk from one disaster to another potential one.

There's a pretty big Beyonce song....

Who runs the world, girls!

Only an out of touch male would have a problem with it, as they take offense on behalf of others.

My partner has girls nights, she goes shopping with the girls, etc etc.

I am getting very, very close to just up and abandoning AFL for local footy or VFL.

Why read anything, if all it is is from a content farm? Why listen to any analysis, if all it is is provocateurs seeking to get you to react? Why watch the games, if the commentary is designed to cultivate parasocial relationships in middle aged men and doesn't even come close to adequate discussion of the very reason we're watching?

Hell, why even watch the games?

What's a ruck infringement? Can anyone tell me? What's the difference between contact below the knees and kicking in danger? What's a dive? Thought it was against the rules, but it's happening almost every week. Are players footballers or are they rules lawyers? Wouldn't know, based on how many opinions on frees we're seeing them share in games. Does in the back exist anymore? What's a high free kick or a trip?

What's a throw?

Don't know how much enjoyment I'm getting out of the game these days, CJMB. Some of that's because the games haven't been great and the rules are incomprehensible for everyone especially the umpires, but some of that's because how we feel about something - regardless of how much you try to avoid it - is shaped by the narratives around it.

And the narrative the AFL is telling is a glittering, expensive, nostalgia evoking lie.
While I agree with pretty much all of that, I feel like if we were going well, most of us would largely not worry about that stuff.

I don't think it's a coincidence that a lot of fans who talk about giving up on the AFL also support struggling teams. That said, it's only natural.

I'm gradually coming around to this too...

Allow him to select his own assistant coaching staff. Retain Luke Power, everyone else is free to go. Dale Amos and Ross Lyon can have a conversation and see if they fit moving forward. Bring in an accomplished operator as the new football boss as well, as a priority. Review complete and actioned.

Just because you use a term in a football club doesn’t suddenly make it respectful everywhere
I think the context changes on whether you know some one or not
I doubt Walsh would approach Teague our CEO and say how’s it going boys
But if you’re ok with being called a boy I’m ok with calling you a boy I guess that’s where it ends doesn’t it
No I reckon Walsh would easily walk approach them that way, depending on the context. If they were just in the coffee shop or something saying "Oh gday boys how's it going?" Would be no issue at all in that social environment.

Just about the only context I'd say it isn't is if it were something like in a meeting room or sales pitch etc.

The semantics in 2021 can be so tiring. Alot of people get so caught up in the actual words used rather than the intent behind it.

Playing footy pretty much everyone would say "let's go boys".

I will say to the wife " I'm playing golf with the boys on Saturday"

My wife will say "I'm going to have dinner with the girls Thursday"

Generally if I'm talking to people I will just say "guys" doesn't matter if I'm talking to a group of men, a group of women or a mixed group. "Hey guys is anyone using this chair". Guys seems to be a pretty neutral term for me.

But once again. I think people need to read more into the intent behind what people are saying. 99.9% of people don't want to offend anyone and just want to get along and be friendly.

If everyone just took the intent behind what someone was saying, even if they accidentally use a word you may not like, I think we would all get along alot easier.