Player Watch Jordan Dawson

It's going to be so satisfying having another club be the one that has to make a humiliating backdown rather than ours like last year

Geez people love to tempt fate to be putting others down. The deal isn’t done until it is. You will melt if we end decided no PSD and offer another pick. No need to worry about what other clubs are doing or how they react

Let’s just get him on the list

I would not like Sydney use our 22/ melourne pick to get Ladhams . It will help them get Luko/Rankine next year.
Not sure why people think that because a club has a heap of available draft picks to trade with it makes them a more attractive club to players looking to be traded..

They can have all the picks in the world.. but if Rankine and lukocious choose the crows over port.. it means **** all.

players couldnt give a **** about the draft capital situation of the team they ask to be traded to.. its all about the coin on offer and personal preference of which club they’d ratger play for..

Geez people love to tempt fate to be putting others down. The deal isn’t done until it is. You will melt if we end decided no PSD and offer another pick. No need to worry about what other clubs are doing or how they react

Let’s just get him on the list

Oh I will be absolute melt if we offer anything more than we already are.

I'm already semi melted that we improved our offer from pick 23

"from what I've been hearing he's worth"

Aren't you there to give your own opinion Matthew?

You shouldn't have to HEAR what he is worth, you should be able to analyse him as a player and make an informed decision.

Except you don't actually even follow the AFL that closely do you? that's why you didn't even know who the Eagles captain was.
If you listened to the whole interview you’d know that he said he thought Dawson was worth an early/mid second round pick. He’s just adding what the general consensus across the industry think to give perspective.
🙄

Wtf how do you compare crouch and Dawson?

I would make them play a best-of-5 games night: Scrabble, Yahtzee, Chess, Mouse Trap, Trouble!

And Port are aware of that - hence the stale mate. Port won't take less than the Melbourne 1st for Ladhams, because they know Sydney have to get it done or get nothing. If Sydney aren't careful they will lose Dawson for nothing and miss out on Ladhams as well. Port can happily sit back and wait.
Port cant do that at all..

what if the deal for dawson doesnt eventuate and PSD is the way it ends up going?..

port get left holding ladhams… and his contract for next season.. the very thing they are trying to currently get themselves out of..

Or… if the dawson deal doesnt happen until the last five minutes of the trade period they may only have a couple of minutes left to get a deal done.. sydney might throw a “here’s pick 31, take it or leave it” deal in front of them and they will only have a couple of minutes to do so… if they are keen to push ladhams and his contract out they might have to simply grit their teeth and accept it..

If you listened to the whole interview you’d know that he said he thought Dawson was worth an early/mid second round pick. He’s just adding what the general consensus across the industry think to give perspective.
🙄

Bit hard to listen given I am at work.blame the station for the quote with incomplete context.

Then maybe don’t assume you’re getting the full story from a grab posted by a media outlet. Even from what you read there was nothing wrong with what Rendell said

I would make them play a best-of-5 games night: Scrabble, Yahtzee, Chess, Mouse Trap, Trouble!

Monkey angst.gif

Mouse trap & trouble used in the same sentence as chess .....I demand Backgammon be included

Sydney imo arent going to trade and will instead use the gap before the psd to convince him to re-sign. The fact they haven't walked away publicly could be a good sign. You would also think, Doughty at this stage would be inserting himself into the media to push in favour of trading sooner rather than later. Something about his silence feels a little off. We've seen managers in the past put heaps of media pressure on clubs to accept a deal to lose a player to go home. The question the Crows must be sure of is once the trade deadline passes, is Dawson 100% committed to come via the psd. Doughtys silence isn't convincing.

On SM-N981B using BigFooty.com mobile app

I would not like Sydney use our 22/ melourne pick to get Ladhams . It will help them get Luko/Rankine next year.
Yeah the best powaa deserve for ladhams is 28. Our 2022 2nd should hopefully land around there and would make it harder for them to get Rankine/luko. We should pull our melb 2022 1st offer if we have offered it. Back ourselves in and offer 2022 2nd and exchange of 2022 1st rounders.

[emoji849]
He is worth only a mid 20s pick. The sooking out of Sydney you'd think he was a genuine elite talent of the game. The Crows are doing the right thing by offering overs to help get the deal done. The amount of times Sydney have screwed other clubs sideways makes there stance completely hypocritical.

Sydney imo arent going to trade and will instead use the gap before the psd to convince him to re-sign. The fact they haven't walked away publicly could be a good sign. You would also think, Doughty at this stage would be inserting himself into the media to push in favour of trading sooner rather than later. Something about his silence feels a little off. We've seen managers in the past put heaps of media pressure on clubs to accept a deal to lose a player to go home. The question the Crows must be sure of is once the trade deadline passes, is Dawson 100% committed to come via the psd. Doughtys silence isn't convincing.

you are overthinking this. he will be a crow tomorrow

Sydney have Dawson; 2021 picks 12, 31, and 39; and all their 2022 hand intact, nominally 12, 30 and 48
Crows have picks 2021 4, 33 and 75; plus their 2022 1st, 2nd and 3rd round picks; Melb 2022 1st, nominally 4,18, 22 and 40.
Port have Ladhams; pick 16 and 63; 2022 1st, 2nd and 4th round - nominally 16, 34 and 60.

Surely the three clubs could put all that on the table and work out some sort of equitable way to divvy that up. I included our pick 4 for completeness only, not to be on the table.

What about Port and Sydney swap their 2022 firsts and seconds for Ladhams? Then they could swap Port's second with ours for steak knifes with the Mel 1st.

Ummm... no.

You are correct that there's a power imbalance between club & players, but it's players who have the upper hand - not the clubs. Players have to agree to any trade, and seemingly have the ability to break contracts at will, to move to the club of their choice. There is simply no way that Dawson could be forced to accept a trade to GC.
Hardly. Players can be delisted by the club at the end of any season, but they can only change teams when they are out of contract, and even then only to the team of their choice without impediment after a number of years of service. Players are also refused trades when under contract all the time even when they want to move for family reasons. Sydney are notorious for it. See Papley and before that, O'Keefe. Carlton with Gibbs also.

Simply, there is no way the players hold the balance of power when clubs can delist them as and when they see fit or refuse to engage in a trade with their desired team simply because they don't like the offer.

you are overthinking this. he will be a crow tomorrow
People have said that he will be today. Some people said yesterday. Others said late last week. Deals that role on all week are the ones that fall flat. Generally last minute deals are from last minute interests. I genuinely hope it happens, I just don't see the point in accepting it tomorrow if you can accept it today. Also, if they have secretly accepted it but are holding off for Ladhams, that's would be a first. Generally a leak or rumour would occur. Hasn't been one.

Wtf how do you compare crouch and Dawson?
It's popular for some on this board to denigrate Matt Crouch at every opportunity yet at the same age Matt had achieved way more than Jordan Dawson i.e. All Australian Status, AFL Club B & F, Under 22 Team of the year, Showdown medalist and a Rising Star nomination in his 1st year on an AFL list.

I'm not sure Doughty is one of the elite managers going around. His silence is very strange.

Hardly. Players can be delisted by the club at the end of any season, but they can only change teams when they are out of contract, and even then only to the team of their choice without impediment after a number of years of service. Players are also refused trades when under contract all the time even when they want to move for family reasons. Sydney are notorious for it. See Papley and before that, O'Keefe. Carlton with Gibbs also.

Simply, there is no way the players hold the balance of power when clubs can delist them as and when they see fit or refuse to engage in a trade with their desired team simply because they don't like the offer.
Meanwhile in the real world, players frequently request trades while they still have 1-2-3 years left on their contract, specifying their destination club... and 95% of the time they get where they want to go. O'Keefe, Papley & Gibbs didn't get where they wanted to go - but they are very much the exceptions to the rule (and Gibbs got there eventually, while still having 2 years left on his contract).

Players hold the power of veto in every trade. They cannot be forced to be traded to another club against their will, regardless of their contract status. They have almost all the power.

I'm not sure Doughty is one of the elite managers going around. His silence is very strange.
Don't think you keep a job with TLA Worldwide probably recognised as one the best if not the best Sports player management groups in the land unless you're pretty decent at what you do? Dogga's been with them for quite awhile too.

Sydney have Dawson; 2021 picks 12, 31, and 39; and all their 2022 hand intact, nominally 12, 30 and 48
Crows have picks 2021 4, 33 and 75; plus their 2022 1st, 2nd and 3rd round picks; Melb 2022 1st, nominally 4,18, 22 and 40.
Port have Ladhams; pick 16 and 63; 2022 1st, 2nd and 4th round - nominally 16, 34 and 60.

Surely the three clubs could put all that on the table and work out some sort of equitable way to divvy that up. I included our pick 4 for completeness only, not to be on the table.

What about Port and Sydney swap their 2022 firsts and seconds for Ladhams? Then they could swap Port's second with ours for steak knifes with the Mel 1st.

We shouldn't be a part of any negotiation with the power or swans.

We've made a fair offer to the swans, they take it or leave it.

Player Watch Jordan Dawson