Traded Jason Horne-Francis [to Port Adelaide in multi-club trade]

Are GWS looking to use picks 3, 12, 15, 18 and 19 purely for the draft? Or do they want to get some players in via trade?

Maybe we could upgrade pick 33 or 43 for one those later picks and offer up Byrne-Jones or Bonner?

We genuinely need to trade away a player for 2nd round. Can't see it happening another way.

Hayes, Drew, Bonner, DBJ, Farrell. DBJ with most value in that lot perhaps as an All-Australian and club BnF although he was off it best this year. I know he just resigned but yeah either him or Drew

In all seriousness North have actually done fine out of this deal. So have West Coast. GWS showed up, bent over and handed over the lube to make it work for everyone else, and I salute them for it.
Yeah I think north have done well. What more can you hope for to get for a player that wants out than a similar pick + a future 1st on top. That’s a good deal.

Also west coast, despite people knocking them to get out of pick 2 and the private school vic boys and into hewett territory , whose not far behind, if at all those vic boys plus get another pick. That’s good for them.

Ports given up a lot, but the fact we get future 2nds and 3rds back helps a lot,

In the end rozee butters jhf Bergman sinn to look forward too in our midfield.

I really rate that group of players as a future midfield. High end young talent there.

You're legit one of the top 5 most toxic posters I've seen on this thread. Cheap pot shots at North add literally zero value to discussions.

But regardless, your proposals highlight the problem port have. They don't have enough capital to make all of their trades.

Trading your F1 + 33 for 15 + 18 won't happen, GWS will reject it for sure. So JHF for 8 + 15 + 18 isn't even a viable option.

In order to get these trades done, Port need to get more draft capital. Without the permission to add a F2 that means the only remaining option is trading out players.
Fair enough - we all have our views, I respect that.

All in all, time will tell.
This deal will occur one way or another.
Come back Wednesday and someone will be right

Chuck it in the calendar, I’m looking forward to it!

You call them mid range picks for NM
But 1st rounders for GWS, however they are the same picks. Which one is it?

You are now changing the narrative. Realised your earlier point was incorrect, now trying to pick other holes.

Problem is, a lot of teams do not like this years draft, in the fact it’s very even apart from Ashcroft (no other standouts). Why do you think NM and WC are open to splitting 1 and 2?
That’s the reason why a F1 from Port plus a 2nd rounder this year could entice a club like GWS which has 5 top 20 picks into splitting.

Question remains if North would be interested but it shouldn’t have caused this much confusion or angst provided everyone understood the 2022 draft. YIKES

My only mistake was thinking this was a genuine discussion

If I had to bet my house on an outcome I’d still put it on this gets done. Any talk about him going to the crows this trade period is ludicrous. It’s either port or north. Even so Crows definitely don’t have enough to satisfy north for a trade this year. They aren’t getting rid of the players north would want

Crows don't currently have draft capital as committed to Rankine trade... leaving only next years 1st & this year's 2nd packaged with a player.

That player won't be Rachele as he is committed to the Crows. Signed an extension along with Soligo before he even played a game.
Could the Crows back out of the Rankne trade? Reckon they’d much rather the Horne, not a good look I know but business is business.

Jones is overated when you watch him closely. Don't let the appearance fool you, struggles with to much pressure and his disposal is poor. He got by in junior footy having a bigger body. Port have alot better younger players I'd be wanting before him.
Relied on his bigger body? He spent his draft year playing senior football against grown men. Most of it as an undesized key position defender.

JHF really tied ports arms as well though telling us only 1 week before trade period that he wanted to be traded. Could had planned to offload one of our better players from a long way out if we had more time and find a suitable positional replacement for that player we lose. Only having a week to decide who to trade/ where to/convince the player/get talking and get a good deal was always gunna be not achievable.

In any case the AFL declining our offer sucks but I’m sure north and port will get it done. North would still prefer to get something for him this year
Don't be naive. North and Port would have known this was in the works for some time. Also don't buy into the clickbait media articles - behind closed doors the deal would be close to done.
I don't think he'd be the core of the deal but if they could get pick 2, that probably gets it done without any other picks.
Agreed. Pick 2 is fair value for JHF - it's basically another Pick 1 this year for North.

To get it off West Coast we need to offer them 8, F1 and a pick in the late teens/early 20s.

Last pick 1 traded after 1 year only cost pick 6 and an aging Ryan Griffen.

Griffin was an All Australian who had captained the Dogs, giving you an indication of the quality of player required in such a trade.

Explosive speed, great vertical, attacks the footy hard, long kick. Downside, his touch and decision making can be sub par at times.

He'll be fine under high quality proven coaching successes like Clarko and Viney.

Players stagnate at Port under Ken, but you just look at how many Port players have left to go play under Clarkson and thrived.

It's finally getting interesting with the talk about Adelaide getting involved. Time for you guys to shuffle out and let your better dressed cousins in.
Just getting the lint of my tweed jacket and polishing up the RM's before heading up to the Adelaide Hills with the cucumber sandwiches and chardonnay packed for brunch. ;)

Just passed 3 guys drinking stubbies in black, white and teal speedos on the way up to the hills. :p (not the weather for it but if it is good enough for Bathurst)

Let him sit out a year

Kochie will get him a nice cushy job at Channel 7 on SUNRISE or as a member of DISCOVER WITH RAA TRAVEL for 500k where he can learn some media and communication skills

Then he can go to Port for a lot less.

We'll take 6 and an aging Ollie wines
If Ollie Wines had a debilitating back injury which meant he'd never get close to his best football again like Griffen did, I'd be up for that.

North will be the biggest losers if they don't trade him. I cannot see a situation where he accepts it and amicably returns to the club. The players also seem to hate him.

Mock Port all you want but if this trade doesn't go through, his value will absolutely plummet next year when he is out of contract.

Interesting times

North will be the biggest losers if they don't trade him. I cannot see a situation where he accepts it and amicably returns to the club. The players also seem to hate him.

Mock Port all you want but if this trade doesn't go through, his value will absolutely plummet next year when he is out of contract.

Interesting times
Clearly it's in Norths Best interest to trade him, and thats what is going to happen. They're clearly just trying to nut out the best deal (which wont be anything like what the average North punter on here thinks it will be).

Could the Crows back out of the Rankne trade? Reckon they’d much rather the Horne, not a good look I know but business is business.
Yeah wouldn't that be great for Adelaide's culture trying to attract elite talent in future....Not.

Rankine will be at the Crows next year.

In all probability Horne-Francis will be at Port. But you'll be paying for it big time.

No, the Crows have been committed to Rankine for sometime.

It's not good practice to commit, then pull out.