Rumour GFC 2022 Player Trading, Drafting FA, Rumours and Wish lists PT2

We're going to have an abundance of midfield depth it's scary.

Im not sure how it all works to be honest. Hard to visualise... but I remember the VFL from last season. No one tall down back. If not in trade or in the main draft ... we need to as a rookie.

Ed Allan​

Midfielder, WA​

Weight: 82kg
Height: 194cm
Club: Claremont/Mosman Park

2022 National Champs 81 rankings points, 13 disposals, 1 goal (one game)
2022 WAFL U18 126 ranking points, 25.4 disposals, 6.0 marks, 5.0 clearances

Allan, the son of Hawthorn and Fremantle player Ben, looms as a late bolter as an athletic midfielder with imposing size at 194cm. Unfortunately for Hawks fans, he misses out on father-son eligibility by just two games, with his father playing 98 matches for the brown and gold during the 90s. A stress fracture in his back kept Allan out for most of his draft year but he was able to find plenty of the footy in an inside midfield role for Claremont upon his return in the WAFL Colts, averaging 25.4 and five clearances in five matches. He also played one game for Western Australia at the national championships on a wing, showcasing his versatility as a midfielder. The running machine was Western Australia’s top performer in their 2km time trial earlier in the year and can boost his stocks further at the national combine

I agree.

But I'm hearing the rumour that Mackie treated them like dirt and Collingwood walked out. They were offered a lower pick and they said that wouldn't do, and Mackie basically said "tough luck" and Pies walked out. Then Wells was recalled to do some damage control evidently. They will be offered #25 and a bag of chips or something, but there's a good chance they won't take it. We apparently can only trade a future 1st rounder with special permission, and the AFL is being tough on that it seems after hearing they stopped the North-Port deal for Horne-Francis
Pretty minimal chance of that being true, if it is then expect Mackie to not be in the job at the end of this trade period. Difficult enough to be doing his job with the former worker who is legendary also still working in a similar role. If he had Wells come in over the top of him and undermine him it would make his job untenable.
This is completely against the kind of work environment fostered at the club.

I agree.

But I'm hearing the rumour that Mackie treated them like dirt and Collingwood walked out. They were offered a lower pick and they said that wouldn't do, and Mackie basically said "tough luck" and Pies walked out. Then Wells was recalled to do some damage control evidently. They will be offered #25 and a bag of chips or something, but there's a good chance they won't take it. We apparently can only trade a future 1st rounder with special permission, and the AFL is being tough on that it seems after hearing they stopped the North-Port deal for Horne-Francis
I'm hearing Ollie took a dislike to a particular player and once he was re-signed it was curtains to his Collingwood career.

It's going to take a complete U-turn to head back if a trade can't be reached.

Not sure if I'd put my house on that.

Im not sure how it all works to be honest. Hard to visualise... but I remember the VFL from last year. No one tall down back. If not in trade or in the main draft ... we need to as a rookie.
I can only assume we have a plan in place. 🤷

I agree.

I agree.

and went crying to Rendell .....

I'm hearing Ollie took a dislike to a particular player and once he was re-signed it was curtains to his Collingwood career.

That can happen. You I know every club and every team has clicks teams with iteams. I dont know Ollie but my impression is he doesn't lack confidence.Why put up with being where he is unhappy? That type of situation might see him being welcomed at North rather than go back.

I wonder if those in the know... are aware of the situation? If they signed the other player obvioiusly valuable to tehm

Pretty minimal chance of that being true, if it is then expect Mackie to not be in the job at the end of this trade period. Difficult enough to be doing his job with the former worker who is legendary also still working in a similar role. If he had Wells come in over the top of him and undermine him it would make his job untenable.
This is completely against the kind of work environment fostered at the club.
My thoughts too, but I keep remembering Mackie was a well known sledging smart-a***. I just can't see him being that immature though. But still, it's a pervasive rumour.

I know it might be an unpopular opinion but I'd be asking Menegola to explore his options.

I have said it for months. Wehave brought in so much youth ... the least we should do is tell him he may struggle to be selected..and if there are otehr options he might want to consider them. Thats doing he right thing be the player. No push out but Id oubt he fancies a year playing Southport and Port Melbourne

Yep. The kid doesn't want to be there, and the Pies should look after him and we should too. If he goes to the draft he'll go in the first round, I reckon.

Hard to see him being much more than depth for us next year. He’s better than that.
Given his knee issues he's not going to get any quicker either. He's already slow.

With our new game plan and the development of Holmes I'm not sure there's a spot for him.

I agree.

Hearing a lot of the same things from the Pie side. Apparently Mackie came in and offered massive unders and everyone was like 'who is this flog?'

100%

From what I've seen I could live without Cooper Stephens aswell... But it'll be on the club to make an assessment on him.
I know I keep harping on about it so forgive me, but I'm extremely confident that Cooper will become a star once he's had some continuity and played 50 or so games.

He's got a lot a tricks.

Im not sure how it all works to be honest. Hard to visualise... but I remember the VFL from last year. No one tall down back. If not in trade or in the main draft ... we need to as a rookie.
Especially if we lose Sav. We need a decent and strong KPD. If not on afl list at lease a mature body vfl player? Or two!

I know I keep harping on about it so forgive me, but I'm extremely confident that Cooper will become a star once he's had some continuity and played 50 or so games.

He's got a lot a tricks.
I agree he can as well. And suspect the club will want to stick with him. Issue for him is how does he crack into regular games without specific injuries?

Hearing a lot of the same things from the Pie side. Apparently Mackie came in and offered massive unders and everyone was like 'who is this flog?'
As the Collingwood contingent were leaving the room in disgust Mackie took off his shirt and starting flexing his 8-inch biceps. It was really weird.