Strategy Trade and List management Thread Part 5 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

The fact we gave back 2 x F3s washes out all the backend stuff in my opinion - essentially it was 21 and F1 for Dunkley. Unders but not dramatic

Jones is a big upgrade on Cordy. Tick.

Overpaid for Lobb but ultimately he’s really the only player in the league who can play that role that Bevo wants.

Disappointed with Schache as I wanted to keep him but it’s hard to see where he’d play. Some goodwill from Dees as they could have just got him as a DFA.

Hunter obviously had to go. If reports are true that we were going to pay him out, getting a F3 is better than nothing.

Ultimately I think we have 2 years to win a flag. That’s the minimum we’ll still have of prime Bont and Macrae.

Hopefully Libba and Treloar can maintain their levels, Keath rediscovers some form and JUH and Darcy continue to grow.

Jones & Gardiner as key pillars, Darcy, Keath & O'Brien as depth.
I'd be tempted to play Darcy down there a fair bit as our interceptor. Nowhere near as acrobatic as a prime Wood or Crozier, but he just read the ball so well last year at VFL level and another year of development (and a full pre-season) means he'll be better again.

We really need to draft a KPD though for succession planning.
Weddle and Hayes in the draft

Would love to know why we offered such a long term. I’m assuming we did a medical and he was killing it in the lower league but for a 32 year old it’s a bit much.
It worries me that two of defensive key pillars next year will be Keath (who I love but his hamstrings worry me) and Jones who is a complete unknown at the moment.

Can't see Bruce working back and he's got some issues of his own and don't want to see Naughton back.

Jones may be a revelation and a Lake 2.0. But honestly smart money has him as board whipping boy by round 10 2023.

A million ways we could have got it done. It’s all about getting the high picks in for currency not mucking around with 2nd and 3rd rounders unless you need points.

Not blaming Sam for not dealing he was pushing for more and fair enough just saying us all claiming we had a massive win holding out is not accurate in my opinion.
Yeah nah you’re wholeheartedly wrong about that my man.

If we traded Dunks, 30 & 39 for 15 & F1 we then probably need to downgrade 12 or 15 to add to F2 to get Lobb or not get him, and would be left with 12, F1, F1 and whatever we got for 15, probably closer to 20 anyway 😂

Instead we’re now left with 12, 21, 39 (which will become an early 30s pick), F1, F1, F2

We got a wayyyyy better deal 😂

Jones came back because he wants me to get that tattoo I promised I’d do all those years ago
If he kicked four goals in a final I’d get a photo realistic Liam Jones tattoo
Better start saving up just in case 👀

Do they though?
Lobb might move the needle a little. Don't particularly rate him as a player but can see what he adds structurally. But we genuinely have no idea what Jones will do. He's had a long time out of the big league and he wasn't particularly great to begin with. The cliff also comes quickly for players like him.

If Lobb plays like he did this year, he will be massive for us. More than move the needle.

Same if Jones can recapture his pre-Covid form.

Now obviously they are ifs.

Plenty of teams have topped up with approx 30 KPP year olds and won flags. Brian Lake at Hawks, Darren Jolley at Pies etc.

They didn’t cost much. There wasn’t much else on offer. We have a great list and good draft selections for the next 2 years. Relax and enjoy the ride.

Imagine your 2 big issues are a key back and a forward ruck. You bring in the best quality of these available as you want to have a crack at next year's flag. But, but they are too old, better tell Geelong to hand their flag back.

Yet we had a shocking trade period where we lost 1 quality player in a position where we have that many we are forced to play quality players and developing players for that position out of position.

For the first time ever we have a balanced list with a strong draft hand for 2 years to ensure longevity and are re building our support staff off field.

I am sure some of our supporters would burst if they were not able to be outraged about something done at the club

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app
I actually was a counterpoint to your argument. But you make very good points that I can accept as good reasoning.

So my Essendon mate who hangs shit on us all the time...glass houses my friend...just messaged me with "You guys got totally reamed by Brisbane, worst team at the trade table this year"

Esseendon - Out Francis, In Setterfield and Weiderman...hold my beer

Do they though?
Lobb might move the needle a little. Don't particularly rate him as a player but can see what he adds structurally. But we genuinely have no idea what Jones will do. He's had a long time out of the big league and he wasn't particularly great to begin with. The cliff also comes quickly for players like him.

I get it, it's a risk, but grinders with poor disposal like Dunkley and Hunter weren't moving us forward. Neither were Schache and Cordy.

I understand your concern, but the criticism of our midfield was it was too slow and Dunkley and Hunter contributed to that.

Schache and Cordy, just weren't that good. Let's be honest here.

We've freed up a chunk of cap space (Callaghan or a free agent next year) and got two good draft hands. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

That is an optimistic summary considering your 3 outs are all Premiership players and your 2 in’s have played 6 finals in total.
So superficial. Fletcher Roberts is a premiership player, is younger than the ins. Should we pick him up instead?

Who cares? He's a pretty average player. He probably got some interest from us and not much from other Melbourne teams, who knows?
I've watched him with a certain amount of interest since he was at GWS and has never developed into a good player.
He has odd good games but hardly has opposition teams (other than our defence) worrying too much.
Hope I'm wrong.

He’s head and shoulders above any player we’ve run through the Fwd/Ruck role.

The English/Lobb combo will be really good for us. He’s a good pick up.

Cordy for Jones - big win

Schache for Lobb - big win

Dunkley - loss but McLean very good new replacement but also get 21 and F1 and F2

Hunter - loss but has stood out a lot of the games for issues that would impact on the club. Opens up for Fernando, McLean and García have a chance

And we can add a very good player at 11 and still and a just after first round with 21. Would love to get Philipou or Ed Allen - (quality mid, wong or forward), Weddle and Ethan Phillips with pick 21 and pick 30 Need two KPDs to replace Jones and Lobb and a ruck with 37 and small forward like Sam Rowe or the Sydney delisted or Liam Stocker.

Could be better this year!

Been very quiet on the socials has Adz. Reckon he’d be feeling a bit ordinary about losing his close mate not just from his club but out of the state.

The last few weeks have probably been enlightening in terms of the value of mateship v the mighty dollar.

I actually was a counterpoint to your argument. But you make very good points that I can accept as good reasoning.
The points may be good as may the reasoning but really just removes excuses for next season. We are now in as good a position as we have ever been up to the coaches, support staff and players to deliver or any outrage would be justified

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

So was Hunter having some issues with booze, bets or both?

All comes down to who we are targeting in the draft and how many spots we want to take this year. I’m sure they based our decision on that knowledge

There’s no reason why West or McLean cannot fill the void of Dunkley next year.

Hunter had to move on.

With Lobb and Jones, we will know in 12-24 months whether they are bust or not.

For the draft, I would like-

1. Small forward.
2. Fast midfielder or winger.
3. Key Position Defender Project.

Maybe we should rookie a mature key position defender from a state league too? What do we have to lose. Maybe we will get lucky and add some decent depth to replace Cordy.
Might grab Phillips at 39? Young VFL KPD

We’d all have to be pretty happy with the last few weeks.

Improved our backline, improved the really weak second ruck role, improved our assistant coaches, dramatically improved our draft hands for this year and next. And, turned over some of the playing list, which has been was a wish for a lot of supporters.

We’ve done pretty well. Bring on the draft and season 2023.

Yeah nah you’re wholeheartedly wrong about that my man.

If we traded Dunks, 30 & 39 for 15 & F1 we then probably need to downgrade 12 or 15 to add to F2 to get Lobb or not get him, and would be left with 12, F1, F1 and whatever we got for 15, probably closer to 20 anyway 😂

Instead we’re now left with 12, 21, 39 (which will become an early 30s pick), F1, F1, F2

We got a wayyyyy better deal 😂
Don’t think you are right. Without factoring Lobb in would you prefer 15, F1 giving back 30 and 39 or 21, F1, F2 giving back 2 x F3rd rounders

If ever you feel down on the trade period just remember that St Kilda had over 20,000 posts on their trade thread and it resulted in them getting Zaine Cordy.

That is all.

Cordy for Jones - big win

Schache for Lobb - big win

Dunkley - loss but McLean very good new replacement but also get 21 and F1 and F2

Hunter - loss but has stood out a lot of the games for issues that would impact on the club. Opens up for Fernando, McLean and García have a chance

mexico cine GIF