Roast Grumpy Old Thread II - the grumpiness continues

Anyone here had the joy of Kidney Stones?
I would highly recommend NOT having them. I had them one day last week on holidays in NYC.
14 hours of excruciating pain before IV pain relief.
Worst pain ever.
On one hand I missed out on a day of being a tourist, but on the other got to live my ER TV fantasy in an American Hospital. Extraordinary 6 hours in there.

And tf for travel insurance. No travel insurance and it was a $2000 visit.

Drink water

Always
Feel for you mate had them twice.Passed the first one with the help of morphine second time they gave me depositories.Lovely young nurse asked if I needed a hand with inserting them,no thanks I can take care of these myself.

Yeh they gave me something other than morphine which was good because morphine and I are fairy land buddies. I once had it and it turned out “coincidentally” that the Nurse I fabricated in my mind moved into my old rental (she didn’t it was sold privately) and we both shared the same birthday including year.

The biggest worry was having another on the flight back here to Hawaii but that didn’t eventuate as I rapidly improved in the days after.

Nevertheless I drank more water than Bull does after any of his goals and spent most of the trip walking backwards and forwards to the Dunny to avoid dehydration.

Where are you currently? This is better than the time IUB visited the Rosebud carnival.
I am sitting in a factory outlet in Hawaii making some big savings regardless of the exchange rate. Two Tommy H jumpers for $A60 has been a win as I climb out of my fashionless wardrobe come dumpster

****ing Slow Rogan and his gronks had a 20 ****ing minute discussion on a tweet that was completely fake by some campaigner gronk impersonating a DOCTOR. Now this Doctor has been harassed and vilified due to this ****ing mutts misinformation.

They took down the video, reloaded it, kept the discussion and just pixilated the fake tweet. WHAT THE **** IS THAT SHIT?

Sick of dumb campaigners impacting society. Makes me ****ing sick.

Attached is actual tweet, fake tweet and the dumb campaigners weinstein and slow rogans tweets. campaigners the lot of em.

Attachments

• 545F2FA8-1472-4F7D-9B50-2A08DB288C46.jpeg
    545F2FA8-1472-4F7D-9B50-2A08DB288C46.jpeg
    156.1 KB · Views: 23
  • E788A818-3DA9-425A-B527-E747AD45B527.png
    E788A818-3DA9-425A-B527-E747AD45B527.png
    286.3 KB · Views: 25
  • 9F0FCC06-DD46-4D0D-8004-13AF180985A2.jpeg
    9F0FCC06-DD46-4D0D-8004-13AF180985A2.jpeg
    168.7 KB · Views: 24
  • ED7FA9E2-B269-410B-999E-2D9912C24CE5.jpeg
    ED7FA9E2-B269-410B-999E-2D9912C24CE5.jpeg
    149.6 KB · Views: 24
I am back

20 days away on the trip of a lifetime to New York and Hawaii

Fantastic time away. Probably needed longer but the budget was $$$$$.

I wish we all didn’t have to work and could travel. It’s the best education.

I am back

Love NY but Hawaii is over rated and expensive - Waikiki beach almost unwalkable. But great experience to visit just about any country. Glad you enjoyed and are back safe and well.

Yep Hawaii was to break up the 20 hour trip. We did it on the way back. On the way over we had a 4 hour stop over there but it wasn’t enough to break the monotony.

We basically stayed in Honolulu. Over priced and crowded. They photoshopped the Room in the brochure to make a 2 star look like 4 star at the price of $500 a night. Paper thin walls and fittings from 1993. Super fast Internet and flatscreen tv though

Basically you pay to be on Waikiki, anywhere back from there is 1990’s Surfers.

Maybe if we had the $ to stay longer we would have gone bush

Pearl H was great and accompanied the visit to 911 Memorial in NYC

Seen Hawaii now but won’t be going back. I’d rather go to Bali or Thailand

I am back

Did you see any Hula girls volcanoes in Hawaii?

Yep Hawaii was to break up the 20 hour trip. We did it on the way back. On the way over we had a 4 hour stop over there but it wasn’t enough to break the monotony.

We basically stayed in Honolulu. Over priced and crowded. They photoshopped the Room in the brochure to make a 2 star look like 4 star at the price of $500 a night. Paper thin walls and fittings from 1993. Super fast Internet and flatscreen tv though

Agree - Bali before Hawaii again anytime. Waikiki is in a time warp. Hardly changed since my first trip there in the 90s. Agree re PH - great and interesting and excellent tour.

Also worth considering; Malaysia.

My first experience there left me a bit grumpy, mainly as we arrived in KL from Singapore at exactly the same time as the really wet wet weather. The streets were flooded and getting around was difficult. We had planned to go to the Genting Highlands but the mountain road was flooded and impassable so instead we went to the Ipoh and then to the Cameron Highlands. The weather was much nicer there and I'd highly recommend it if you like walking through jungle trails on the side of mountains (although we did get lost and thought we'd never emerge alive on one occasion).

We also enjoyed a few days in Kota Bahuru until the rains hit and the streets became flooded there too so we moved back down the East coast of Peninsular Malaysia until the rains flooded us in to what was then a simple fishing village called Marang. The guest house we intended to stay in was still smouldering, having just burned down the day before we arrived and every traveller had scarpered. We went to the other guest house as the monsoon rains hit and the bridge into town went under water. So we stayed several nights until the waters cleared away enough to walk back to the main highway. While we were there we were able to sit in the restaurant and watch the chickens running around outside and each afternoon we were able to select which one we'd have for dinner that night. I had a tin of VIM in my backpack and I used it to scrub the bathrooms in the guest house until they were sparkling clean - I reckon the place would have gone up a star rating in the Lonely Planet as a direct result. But it filled time.

All joking aside - Malaysia is OK. We've made several trips to Borneo as well and while my wife and son prefer Kota Kinabalu, I enjoyed Kuching immensely. There are some pretty nice hotels and resorts in either destination, lots of good places to eat and the low prices will knock your socks off (although Thailand will be cheaper as a rule).

Going to The Big Island (Hawaii) is worth the trip, as is Maui. On Maui the best thing to do is the road to Hana and Haleakala. The Big Island is home to the Ironman Triathlon.
Oahu (where you stayed) is better up north, even though it feels like a village.

Also worth considering; Malaysia.

My first experience there left me a bit grumpy, mainly as we arrived in KL from Singapore at exactly the same time as the really wet wet weather. The streets were flooded and getting around was difficult. We had planned to go to the Genting Highlands but the mountain road was flooded and impassable so instead we went to the Ipoh and then to the Cameron Highlands. The weather was much nicer there and I'd highly recommend it if you like walking through jungle trails on the side of mountains (although we did get lost and thought we'd never emerge alive on one occasion).

We also enjoyed a few days in Kota Bahuru until the rains hit and the streets became flooded there too so we moved back down the East coast of Peninsular Malaysia until the rains flooded us in to what was then a simple fishing village called Marang. The guest house we intended to stay in was still smouldering, having just burned down the day before we arrived and every traveller had scarpered. We went to the other guest house as the monsoon rains hit and the bridge into town went under water. So we stayed several nights until the waters cleared away enough to walk back to the main highway. While we were there we were able to sit in the restaurant and watch the chickens running around outside and each afternoon we were able to select which one we'd have for dinner that night. I had a tin of VIM in my backpack and I used it to scrub the bathrooms in the guest house until they were sparkling clean - I reckon the place would have gone up a star rating in the Lonely Planet as a direct result. But it filled time.

All joking aside - Malaysia is OK. We've made several trips to Borneo as well and while my wife and son prefer Kota Kinabalu, I enjoyed Kuching immensely. There are some pretty nice hotels and resorts in either destination, lots of good places to eat and the low prices will knock your socks off (although Thailand will be cheaper as a rule).
KK is lovely, those 4 islands that you take a small boats from jesselton Point wharf are lovely, also sandacan and up in the forrests to see the probiscas monkeys

Agree - Bali before Hawaii again anytime. Waikiki is in a time warp. Hardly changed since my first trip there in the 90s. Agree re PH - great and interesting and excellent tour.
people like to mock bali but its great, were booked again for aug, just so easy to get to , good food in the local warungs, and very affordable. it can be as busy/laid back/boganish as you want it to be. depending on where you go, semenyak/cangu end and may as well be in aussie resorts, legion bit more boganish (lot of the old kuta bogans have migrated up to malesti st area these days) , kuta round poppies 1 and 2 are more homestay/euro backpacker area's now with the oll bogan stronghold but the closing down of the kuta townhouses has changed that area quite a bit, otherwise closer to airport across from waterbom are all pretty much resorts. nusa dua again is resorts but many are time share.

NYC Christmas/New Years crowds have to be seen to believed

It is basically Brunton Avenue around most of the big venues

Crossed the Brooklyn Bridge on Jan 1st. Thought it was the end of me with a potential crowd crush/stampede

And not one single sign on Bridges/Buildings/Balconies that said “don’t throw projectiles or prosecuted”

Is it an Australian thing to throw things off heights?

people like to mock bali but its great, were booked again for aug, just so easy to get to , good food in the local warungs, and very affordable. it can be as busy/laid back/boganish as you want it to be. depending on where you go, semenyak/cangu end and may as well be in aussie resorts, legion bit more boganish (lot of the old kuta bogans have migrated up to malesti st area these days) , kuta round poppies 1 and 2 are more homestay/euro backpacker area's now with the oll bogan stronghold but the closing down of the kuta townhouses has changed that area quite a bit, otherwise closer to airport across from waterbom are all pretty much resorts. nusa dua again is resorts but many are time share.
I love Bali. Stay at the Parma in Legian. Probably the best resort I have stayed at anywhere for overall quality and value. Food is fantastic and you can eat cheap. Love the place.

Roast Grumpy Old Thread II - the grumpiness continues