Autopsy Round 2, 2023: Western Bulldogs v St.Kilda

Ag
Rubbish? I think a majority of supporters who were concerned over the decision to appoint Ross wanted to see it in action, there were a lot of unknowns going into the season. I was always of the opinion that no matter how much people said it was a great appointment, I needed to see it as a lot of my questions weren't going to be answered until we played, other than I knew he would bring standards and we would at the very least improve - by how much was the question. And last week, I did mention that I will happily put my hand up and admit I got it wrong IF this form continues. I am sure that any reasonable supporter of this club would do the same. You'd have to be brain-dead to want us to fail so you could say you got it right.

A bit of perspective would be good though, instead of the "I told you so" comments after 2 games. Remember we were 8-3 at the bye last year. We need a body of work greater than 2 games to determine how good of a side we are. So far it has been extremely impressive, but the issue with this group for several years has been inconsistency so I'd like us to demonstrate this style of play and effort for more than 2 weeks lol
Agree with this - just ask that you judge the new regime after our almost unprecedented injury list starts to reduce and get a few games match fitness

How many times has the club done something over the last decade and stuffed it up?
No shame in not immediately backing the club on their choices, when they've made plenty of boners over the last 10 years.
We're success-starved so I get it. Historically we are so quick to latch onto anything positive. Desperate really.

We didn't necessarily look like the greatest run club re-signing and sacking a coach within 90 days lol, so any trepidation towards the next appointment would be natural. I think the 'I told you so' comments are a bit odd, it isn't like half of us are happy for the wins and half aren't. We're all over the moon at how we're doing and we all want whoever is in charge to take us to a premiership. Like you had a punt on Ross being a success and so far you're right, well done? Lol. I'm loving the first two weeks just as much as anyone else. It's a breath of fresh air seeing us play like this.

Ag

Agree with this - just ask that you judge the new regime after our almost unprecedented injury list starts to reduce and get a few games match fitness
I think winning against quality sides without half the side actually holds more weight than winning at full strength but I get ya

I feel like I didn't really notice Brad Crouch out there tonight but he posted a very respectable game on the stat sheet:

26 disposals, 6 marks, 14 contested possessions, 6 clearances & 9 tackles.

Solid.
You need to watch more , he has been really good since he came to us, hardly any crap games

I reckon Stocker was pretty handy too - 18 touches, 8 marks, 6 tackles, 5 intercepts. Popped up in a lot of the right places.
He never misses an opportunity to bump or check an opponent and just get physical.

You need to watch more , he has been really good since he came to us, hardly any crap games

He is a bull, great inside midfielder, if he was a rugby union player he would be a front rower.

Does a lot of the grunt work to feed the ball out to the pretty boy players on the outside.

Great pick up for us.

If it’s totally rooted, just pump him full of happy juice, strap it up, and send him out there like mother******* El Cid…
JprEhld.gif

Just saw Lyons presser, gee I rate him so much higher than the previous 3.

Media gave him the platform to say the young kids surprised him and heap on praise, instead he keeps it real and essentially said 'Im not surprised, I know and they know what they can do because we have done the work'.

That fills me with more confidence than blowing hot air up everyones clacker for a feel good moment that is short lived. Gives winner attitudes imo.

Also, slightly off topic, but is it true Scott West was calling Bevo and going into the club asking why his son wasn't getting a game..?? Show him some vision from this game tonight, he's a struggler lol. His most influential moment on the game was a late bump on Paton to give us a downfield free kick haha
Sure your not making sh1t up

Thing is...

SO many were sooking it up when Ross came back online.
Then we were having a cracking preseason and the sun was shining.
Then we started picking up injuries.
And then more injuries.
And a few "minor" surgeries that would be sweet for Rd 1.
And a few more injuries.
And a couple of "indefinites".
The side available for round one was looking incredibly thin.

Oh snap, we don't really have a forward line for round one.

Come out and brute force a win anyway. For the first time in a long time, we outcoached and outplayed.

Yeah but that was just round one. Surely we cant beat the dogs without a real forward line?
And out we come, kick fourteen, win by nine. Team effort. So good to watch. We are keeping these teams goal less for multiple quarters.

When coaches have the ears, hearts and minds of the group, they really, really matter. The buy in is already there, so much quicker than I thought it would be. This isn't just about the win loss. Its the way they are playing.

We will drop games here and there but seriously, we will be competitive every single time we take the field.

2 - 0 from the first two weeks. Absolute dream start. Most of us were merely hopeful for maybe 3 out of the first six or more. This is a dream start.

If someone told me we had a forward that took 9 marks and kicked 2 goals and one point, I would have thought that Membrey was back.

Caminiti was that good.

Actually I knew he wasn't Membrey as it would have been 1 goal and 2 points.

Far out that was too much. Pou, Owens, Hammer all showed so much. Wood continues his amazing form, Brad Hill is laying bone crunching tackles, and Josh Battle is low key becoming one of the most reliable defenders in the AFL not called Callum Wilkie!
To that, how's the defence looking under The Boss? Howard seems so much more solid now that he's hand passing. Nas is a work in progress but you can definitely see that progress even from last week. Sinclair is insanely composed, and if anything looks even better this year than last with the confidence of his AA year behind him, and Stocker, freaking supplementary pick Stocker, looks like a freaking rock back there.
Just to kind of drive that point home a bit: in the first two games, we've managed to have 3 quarters where our opposition hasn't kicked a goal! And save for a ten minute period tonight, we kept the Bulldogs, Grand Finalists in 2021 with all their fancy top 3 Academy/Father Son Picks, to 1 goal!
God damn it if it isnt good to be seeing some old fashioned Saints footy
I’m happy I got to like this post twice.

Imagine being a Bulldog fan and pinning your hopes to that downhill skiing flog Bailey Smith.

Caminiti from 50 was very Troy Schwarze circa '03, giggity

Autopsy Round 2, 2023: Western Bulldogs v St.Kilda