Roast The Non Goal: F*** the AFL, court injunction?

• Thread starter Thread starter Smoooothy

What compensation will we receive from the AFL?

i still cant get over the afl's belief that the 'flow of the game' is more important than being right. and not even borderline right, clear daylight between ball and post right.

if a goal can be called with the ball on the wing in the sanfl like i remember happening a few years ago at a game vs glenelg i think it was, the afl certainly can.
If it's obstructing the flow of the game as much as they say, perhaps they could invest in better technology that picks up these mistakes quicker, in real time. There is technology out there that will work. Gill was just a complete flog in his presser, he did not give two shits and it appeared he didn't want to be there at all. It felt like he was almost speaking down to the people asking him questions, making it appear they were stupid for asking such questions about current technology.

I know if we still had a real hard nut as coach such as Walshy was, he definitely wouldnt have been as passive about the situation as Nicks was.

If it's obstructing the flow of the game as much as they say, perhaps they could invest in better technology that picks up these mistakes quicker, in real time. There is technology out there that will work. Gill was just a complete flog in his presser, he did not give two shits and it appeared he didn't want to be there at all. It felt like he was almost speaking down to the people asking him questions, making it appear they were stupid for asking such questions about current technology.

I know if we still had a real hard nut as coach such as Walshy was, he definitely wouldnt have been as passive about the situation as Nicks was.
Doesn't need to obstruct the flow of the game though.

Continue to stop play where the goal umpire is unsure.

Otherwise let play continue, but the ARC check all scores where the goal umpire thought they were sure.... then if they pick up a howler which will be obvious, they notify the onfield umpire who stops plays & puts time back on the clock to the wrong decision. It wouldn't happen too often & the game would be fairer.

Not downplaying those three.
Suggesting they won't become top 8 quality midfielders in one season. It will take 2 or 3. We should have developed them whilst we are supposed to be a developing team.

We did this year - seemingly to the limits they each have physically. Next year we should see them have a much greater impact more regularly

Where has the narrative emerged that we only had a very slim chance of finals even if we win?

A couple of different media outlets have promoted this false narrative

We were odds on if we win, not a “very slim chance”
Absolutely correct including saying we needed a large win to make up %. They have no idea.

I emailed the 3 Journos and cc’d Jake Niall (Chief Footy Reporter) 2-3 hours ago asking them to amend. Jake has previously amended articles where I have pointed out factual errors.

what a shitshow. A massive year of progress overall and with the recent injuries and youngsters tiring we weren’t likely to do substantive damage this year.

hopefully great motivation over the next few months in so many ways, inc goal kicking..

and all the hoped for AFL wishes are much more likely to be favourably looked at (less shitty locations, 4games MCG, 5-6 Thu/Fei night games etc)

a little dilemma for this weekends game. Lose and we end up with pick 6 and the easiest third of the draw next year. tempting but then AFL can possibly argue we wouldn’t have made finals anyway (assuming other results line up) and therefore less potential favours

All well and good for John to be angry but he needs to deliver now in terms of no regional games and more Nationally televised game and better slots at AO

Of our 6 double up games 3 are in the top 4 and another is in the top 8 and we finished like 14th last year!

Some sort of compensation like what?

Financial for a start.

We’ve lost money and potentially the commercial benefits from increased exposure and membership momentum from a finals run

To compensate for that lost exposure and momentum: better fixturing

To compensate for lost revenue: cold, hard cash

Not a goal apparently

Where has the narrative emerged that we only had a very slim chance of finals even if we win?

A couple of different media outlets have promoted this false narrative

We were odds on if we win, not a “very slim chance”
Even said if we won it by enough - our percentage is already high enough!

Wonder what the reaction is from punters considering Adelaide were paying around $34 at 3/4 time and around $1000 during the last, to me it stinks of some betting agency involvement ........hides in corner with tin foil hat on

On Pixel 7 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

That’s the Achilles heel for the AFL. A potential loophole through gambling and competition and markets activity

The gambling agencies have refunded punters, but you wonder if a well resourced and motivated litigant might pry open a little daylight

Trading away a finals appearance for ****ing timeslots would be such a typical limp dicked AFC response. Such an absolutely nothing demand.

Who ****ing cares about the timeslots? The purpose of the club is to win ****ing premierships.

Being ****ed over by the umpires, but on prime time, is going to make us feel better is it?

The compensation comment from Olsen is very interesting. When he said 'trade' I've interpreted it as trade/draft.

The AFL famously use draft pick sanctions arbitrarily to punish offences that have nothing to do with the draft.

So why not the reverse here? 🤔

The compensation comment from Olsen is very interesting. When he said 'trade' I've interpreted it as trade/draft.

The AFL famously use draft pick sanctions arbitrarily to punish offences that have nothing to do with the draft.

So why not the reverse here? 🤔
My wish would be for picks, but it’s the least likely you’d think.

I dont even know what to say/think.

Yes, I believe it was a goal. But I also don't care. I'm friends with him, and one of my best mates is close to one of the other umpires who was there yesterday. And I know he took it pretty bad at the game before he even left. And that would've been long before he got told his season was over.

I want to reach out to him and see how he is, but by the time I woke up this morning he had taken down his social media accounts.

I honestly don't care about the result (I believe we shouldn't have even been in the game at that point with how crap we played in the first 3 quarters) I just want to know his mental state is holding up.

I also goal umpire in the Adelaide Footy League. I understand how hard it can be. Sometimes you can just hear a flick and assume it was touched or something. Earlier this year I had one where I heard a flick from a snap 30m away and instinctively paid the behind (Which made the attacking team get annoyed as a forward could've grabbed it on the line for an easy goal, but he left it as he hadn't heard the flick) And the Sydney player hitting the pad could've created the thought it did touch it. You see players on the mark tap their own hands to make the FU think it was touched off the boot. Though, the Sydney player doing that, if I were the AFL, I'd consider suspending for that. Or is the rule "shaking the post" not tapping.

I made a rule change suggestion to a mate recently which I think could've helped here.

Revert the 2006 rule change and make the kicker inner have to wait for the flag to be waved. Allow the opportunity for the score reviewer to have a quick look. Yeah, it might slow the game down a little. But if it creates the time to actually check after a behind. You do it. You don't have to put the entire review in that time, they dont after goals. But it gives them time to stop play and get a good look at it.
"I just want to know his mental state is holding up."
Your mate doesn't deserve to be lynched or feel fearful for his safety. I'm never going to advocate any vigilante actions or threats. That stuff is not on whatsoever.

But your mate needs to understand how many people HE HAS HURT.

His utter ineptitude has affected the mental well being of more than half the state of South Australia. How many kids cried after that result last night? How many adults did he inflict fury into? How many hearts has he broken in a single foul decision. There are hundreds of thousands of people within our state and beyond who have ridden the bumpiest of rebuilding roads over the past 5 years. This has been a messy and major club rebuild. People lost careers and reputations dashed in perpetuity. Not just the playing group but all the club. We have suffered for our past mistakes as a club but we agreed to hold our heads high and accept we needed a complete reset. And all that hurt us greatly!!!! Even this year, we struggled to control our new and hard earned competitiveness. But we fought the perils of inconsistency and dared our pain into becoming less. There was genuine light for our club and state that we might be towards the other side of despair. Our hope, for what it was, has been torn from us by your mate.

"And that would've been long before he got told his season was over."
In any career, there are boundaries where, if crossed, result in instant dismissal. The living consequences to so many people and the financial consequences to the club, make his error inexcusable. His career is irretrievable. Who would allow this chump to ever adjudicate their sport at any level again? The AFL? SANFL? A minor country league? No way!! This guy will only ever be "that guy who F###ed up the integrity of the 2023 AFL finals series". His season is not over; his career is over! I'm very pleased if this is the result as his defiance of the ARC system suggests a character who saw himself as above it. Drugs are bad Mackay got it right earlier. The system will not miss his self importance.

As I started with, I wish no physical harm to your friend. But I cannot, and will not, place his well being above that of HIS "victims" of his umpiring crime.

I dont even know what to say/think.

Yes, I believe it was a goal. But I also don't care. I'm friends with him, and one of my best mates is close to one of the other umpires who was there yesterday. And I know he took it pretty bad at the game before he even left. And that would've been long before he got told his season was over.

I want to reach out to him and see how he is, but by the time I woke up this morning he had taken down his social media accounts.

I honestly don't care about the result (I believe we shouldn't have even been in the game at that point with how crap we played in the first 3 quarters) I just want to know his mental state is holding up.

I also goal umpire in the Adelaide Footy League. I understand how hard it can be. Sometimes you can just hear a flick and assume it was touched or something. Earlier this year I had one where I heard a flick from a snap 30m away and instinctively paid the behind (Which made the attacking team get annoyed as a forward could've grabbed it on the line for an easy goal, but he left it as he hadn't heard the flick) And the Sydney player hitting the pad could've created the thought it did touch it. You see players on the mark tap their own hands to make the FU think it was touched off the boot. Though, the Sydney player doing that, if I were the AFL, I'd consider suspending for that. Or is the rule "shaking the post" not tapping.

I made a rule change suggestion to a mate recently which I think could've helped here.

Revert the 2006 rule change and make the kicker inner have to wait for the flag to be waved. Allow the opportunity for the score reviewer to have a quick look. Yeah, it might slow the game down a little. But if it creates the time to actually check after a behind. You do it. You don't have to put the entire review in that time, they dont after goals. But it gives them time to stop play and get a good look at it.

His negligence irreparably damaged the careers of 22 players, cost the club hundreds of thousands in revenue, and deprived hundreds of thousands of fans of a special moment.

I hope he's personally ok, but his umpiring career should be over.